We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black River

Black River
Jamaica
Improve this listing
Visit Black River like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Black River and YS Falls Sightseeing Cruise from...
Ranked #69 of 315 things to do in Jamaica
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enough mangrove trees, wild crocodiles and tropical plants to excite even the most stubborn of imaginations.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I couldn't believe how close the alligators came to the boat! Glad we did this excursion even though it was an all day affair coming from Sandals Whitehouse.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    60
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Black River Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great tour of tropical forest and wildlife. Crocs and egrets and local flavor. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided great views for all on the tour

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok and informative”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had to book Black River with our tour to YS Falls so really had no choice to go. To me it was just a pontoon boat ride up river and nothing exciting. You get to see several nesting egrets and a few crocks but you don't get to touch them as it says in it's brochure. It is a more a less a river through a swap.
Once back to the dock our tour included lunch if you can call it that. First off you have no choice on the food served to you. It was rice and beans, some kind of chicken not sure if it was suppose to be jerk or not , and some pork. Now the rice and beans were extremely dry and hard to swallow. The chicken was mostly bones with very little meat. The pork, well the pork is extremely dangerous to eat. It had several bone chopped up in it . Every bite had several little small hard bones that could chip a tooth or even more scary get stuck in you throat choking you to death. The only thing good about this lunch was the mango juice served. We all couldn't wait to get to YS where we might (and did) get some good food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Black River tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Jamaica. We stayed at the Grand Palladium (near Lucea on the north west coast of the island. We took a long bus ride inland down to near the southern coast to Black River. The bus ride was interesting as we were able to see how many of the Jamaicans live as we traveled through villages. The Black River tour was really interesting and we saw many crocodiles as they swam right up to the boat. The boat driver was very informative. The mangrove trees and various bird species were spectacular. Although the water looks dark...it is crystal clear! Take this trip if you get a chance!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGuire AFB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Guide was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We took the alligator here at the Black River. The river isn't necessarily black just really dark. Lol. I had done alligators tours in New Orleans and the gators I saw in this tour were much larger. Our tour boat was small but it was only my husband and I and one other couple. We saw two huge gators and a couple small, also birds, and different types of foliage. The tour guide was great and even told jokes. Like....the couple with us asked how do you know if the gator is a girl or boy? Which everyone know you have to stick your finger in their butt to see. Well our tour guide answered by saying...that if you throw a piece of wood in the water and it bites it then its a girl! Haha. They were older and European so they didn't get it. Lol. Anyway....we had a good time. But probably wouldn't do it again. It can get boring after a bit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Jamaica, Caribbean
 

Been to Black River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.