We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black River Safari Cruise

Black River Safari Cruise
Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 323 activities in Jamaica
Type: Tours
Activities: Group tours/safari, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cruise down the Black river and see alligators, tropical birds and mangrove trees in their natural setting.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were delighted to enjoy a cruise alone! Just our family in a big cruiser with an expert local guide showing us the wildlife and telling us all about the area. A great day trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Captain C made the tour the highlight of our trip to Jamaica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Money well spent for some great sightseeing. Captain C's narrative during the trip was educational, yet entertaining.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Croc spotting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful and peaceful. Guide was fantastic. Gorgeous views of the lush and protected mangroves and great photos of the many indigenous crocs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love crocodiles so this was pretty cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've always been in Alligators and crocodiles. They fascinate me. The tour guides on the boat are funny and knowledgeable. They teach/show you alot about the river and the wildlife on/in it. Even the plants. There were about 5-6 crocs out and about in the river. Then about halfway through the trip he pulls over and jumps into the water and if you want you can also swim in the water with the crocs. I didn't. Then when you get back they take you to their nursery and you can take pictures with the baby ones. Pretty good trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Highly recomend for families with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I saw crocodiles many times at the Zoo, but to see them in nature is totally different experience. I really enjoyed it. I took a combo with Jamaica Tour Operator, tour to Black River and YS Falls, lunch included.
On our boat there were few children. It was also amusing to see their reaction , when they saw real crocodiles in water. Boat guides are experienced with some of them, not only touched crocodiles, but pulled one's forehand out of water for show off.....Wait a second...these crocos are not tame....You feel agressivenes..when guide throwed pice of chicken into water....in a quarter of a second...and this piece of chicken in ugly sharp teeth...wrrrrrrrrrrrr....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River Safari Cruise also viewed

Jamaica, Caribbean
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Jamaica, Caribbean
 

Been to Black River Safari Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black River Safari Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black River Safari Cruise to your Saves list