We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Hotel For Guadeloupe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Toubana Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Toubana Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on N4, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,226 helpful votes 1,226 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel For Guadeloupe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

There are a lot of hotels on the island of Guadeloupe. But none of them are 5 stars, regardless of what they advertise. This hotel is a good choice because the price is right and the rooms are really small condos type accommodations. Plus it is located right on the cliffs overlooking the beach. The beach access is right down a small path and you are there in a minute. Restaurant is located right on the cliffs and has great views. The hotel needs some updating but that is normal for all of the Caribbean. Nothing gets done fast. It also seems to have a lot of locals coming and going as it doesn't seem like a private setting. But this hotel has a great staff and decent rooms and is a good choice. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloevialcollet, Responsable commercial at La Toubana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Merci pour votre commentaire.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    195
    76
    39
    23
See reviews for
97
341
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We just returned from a 12-day trip to Guadeloupe, four nights spent at La Toubana. The hotel is lovely, comfortable, and elegant with a good restaurant and beautiful pool and small beach. The views are amazing and the staff at the hotel and spa welcoming and helpful.

We stayed in Bungalow 6 which we liked because of its convenient location and privacy (our balcony could not be seen from any of the others) as well as its sea view. The facilities are well-maintained: the linens were soft, the king size bed comfortable, the paint was fresh, the air conditioning effective, and the spacious bathroom had a lighted make up mirror and large tub. The reflecting pools and gardens are beautiful and the rooms are kept spotless.

We had dinner at the restaurant the first night, sitting at a table next to the pool overlooking the cliffs. It was quite good and we were sorry to miss the special lobster dinner that was occurring the evening of the day we departed. Our flight was early so we appreciated the opportunity to have an early breakfast.

We spent many hours relaxing on the beach area. We prefer shade and there were lots of good options that still allowed us to enjoy the incredible views and breezes. My favorite drink from the beach side bar was the mojito and the lunches were good. As some of the other reviews have noted, locals do come and use the beach (no doubt supporting the economics of having a beach side bar) so it was a little more crowded on the weekend.

In the interest of setting expectations properly: the swimming areas are quite small (both pool and beach) and there are too many rocks and coral to allow an adventurous swimmer to safely reach the open water from the hotel. The local beaches in Sainte Anne and Sainte Francois are also better for "bathing" than swimming so expect to relax on this side of the island and plan your open water swims for Basse-Terre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloevialcollet, Responsable commercial at La Toubana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your congratulation.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the suite overlooking the sea. It was more like a two storey town house rather than a room.
It had a kitchen, lounge, terrace, downstairs bathroom with shower, upstairs bedroom with on suite and balcony. It is all brand new and stylishly decorated. Kitchen had quality appliances, there is dish washer, washing machine, fridge, nespresso coffee machine, blender, toaster, etc. There is also it's own little garden.
The hotel has a small private beach that they have created. It is inside a small cove which means it is fairly quiet. The hotel guests have the use of the beach beds that are size of king beds with what you can describe as beach mattresses.
The hotel is not too far from what is considered one of the best beaches in Guadeloupe, Caravelle beach. It is sheltered from the waves in the swimming area and quite windy and suitable for kite and windsurfing around the corner. It is a public beach.

The only 2 faults I found with hotel were

1. Dish washer wanted us to load rinse aid and salt on top of tablets. Given that we were self catering and only staying a week, it was sort of expensive to buy all of that for dishwasher, so we just bought washing up liquid.
2. No water for 2 days. That was an issue indeed and not very pleasant one.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was there a few years ago. What a wonderful place to stay. Very close to the beach of Set-Anne and a few minutes from the Club-Med, wish is a very good place to spend a day if you want.
I recommend this hotel, the staff, the rooms and the restaurant are very good...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days in July 2013. We stayed in a beach bungalow that was clean and pleasant but did feel a little dark unless you had all the shutters open and were prepared to provide a food supply for the mosquitos.It's a shame to have to put lights on in the middle of the day. The other parts of the hotel, at the beach bar, the bar at the pool side (never open) and the pool all need some serious maintenance to replace the rotten wood and rusting railings.
During our stay we found the staff to be very friendly, helpful in patient with our non-existent French. The restaurant in the evening deserves a special mention as it served some of the best meals we had on the island and more than compensated for the tired building.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel, and it had it's pluses and minuses. I'll start with the pluses.

We had bungalow #10, which I highly recommend for what I believe was the best view of all the bungalows. The view of the ocean was absolutely stunning. You could see the beautiful hotel beach down the hill below the room, the Club Med beach across the way and an endless ocean view.

The room had a great verandah with chaise loungers and a table and chairs. It was a nice place to relax with a glass of wine, and it truly was the best part of the bungalow. Inside, the room was basic and pretty small. It had a kitchenette with a sink and small refrigerator. The bedroom was taken up almost entirely by a comfortable, king-size bed. The closet was extremely shallow/small, and there was a small flat screen TV. The bathroom had an open shower to the sink and toilet. The room was clean and the AC worked very well.

We enjoyed spending time at the hotel's beach, which offered a gorgeous view of the coastline and a nice, calm and clear beach. There were plenty of loungers to choose from and the beach got sun all day.

Service at the front desk was pretty good, considering that we didn't speak any French, and most of the staff there speak limited English. The front desk was helpful in escorting us to our room, calling cabs for us and recommending restaurants.

Now for the minuses...

The hotel needs some serious TLC (a fresh coat of paint would be a good start). I couldn't help but feel that this hotel had so much potential to be really luxurious (Nicolas Sarkozy has stayed there), but there were a lot of issues. The pool was just okay. It's made up of a very nice infinity pool with a wonderful view, a wading pool and a hot tub. However, the wading pool didn't have any water in it. Instead the hotel had randomly put beanbag chairs and a table and chairs in it, to make for a social gather area. Very strange. Also, the Jacuzzi didn't work. It was cold.

The shower in our bathroom didn't work properly. It was a hand-held shower that you should have been able to hook up to the wall to free up your hands, but this hook didn't work. We ended up getting water all over the floor of the bathroom since there is no door to the shower.

The restaurant was convenient, but our dinner wasn't very good. In particular, my husband's mahi-mahi was very bland. We went out for dinner the rest of the time we stayed there.

The service at the beach wasn't good. We had to get up and go to the beachside restaurant every time we wanted something, as there were very few waiters. The waiters would bring out your drinks to you after you ordered, but it was frustrating to have to go find someone every time you wanted a drink or food.

This hotel is open to the public, and the public very much take advantage of this, which we were fine with up to a certain point. However, on our last day there, as we were laying out at the beach, we looked up to see a strange woman and man taking in the view from our private balcony right outside our room. My husband walked all the way up the hill, back to our bungalow to see what was going on. We could tell these strangers were rearranging our chase loungers, so apparently they were looking to stay for a while. When my husband got there, he found 3 people in the middle of what appeared to be an amature photo shoot. He asked them to leave, and they asked him for 5 more minutes. He insisted that they leave at once. This was probably the most inappropriate experience I've ever had at a hotel. We tried to explain this to the front desk, but I'm not sure that they understood us entirely. If the hotel wasn't so open to the public, I don't think this would have happened, but these people clearly felt entitled to our private space that we were paying for. It was unnerving to say the least.

I cannot recommend this hotel with total confidence. I got the sense that it was more of a public restaurant, public beach and public pool with some rooms for those that may like to stay there, rather than a nice hotel/resort.

La Toubana may be nice when comparing with Guadeloupean standards, so I'm not sure how much nicer of a hotel you could find in Guadeloupe. However, I'm sorry to say that this hotel is only average by American standards. I was disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Toubana is a wonderful hostel with bungalows and a very nice swimming pool. There is a very nice private beach!!!
I recommanded this place for the view, the personal who is very smart. The location of the hostel is just amazing you can see the ocean, WONDERFUL

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Toubana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toubana Hotel & Spa

Address: on N4, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Toubana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms : 32 sea view bungalows including 6 Junior Suites Ocean view, 4 Junior Suites Garden View and 1 Suite Ocean spread in a tropical garden. (bungalow quadruple = Junior Suite)Occupation bungalow classic : 2 adults + 1 child OR 3 adults + 1 child. Maximum occupation 3 persons. Surface area ≈ 50 sqm. Occupation Junior Suite : 2 adults + 2 children OR 3 adults + 1 child OR 2 adults + 1 child + 1 infant. Maximum occupation 4 persons. Surface area ≈ 70sqm.Amenities :Bungalow equipped with kitchenette, bathroom with bath tub or shower, hair-drier, private terrace with long chairs, chairs and table. Room: internationnal dial phone, flat TV, individual air-conditioning, safe box, 220 V electricity, a king size bed or 2 twin beds. Seminars : 2 meeting rooms ; 12 and 30 people, air conditioned, projection system, WIRELESS on communal part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Toubana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Toubana
La Toubana Ste Anne
La Toubana Hotel & Spa Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Toubana Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.