We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort...not so great Kids Club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med La Caravelle to your Saves list
Club Med La Caravelle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Escape Sale up to 40% Off
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great resort...not so great Kids Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this resort the last week from June 27th - July 5th. We had 9 people in our group total, 4 adults and 5 kids. We had a great time, but there are a few thins that could use some work:
Pros:
Beautiful resort: The location is gorgeous! The water is clear and warm. The layout of the resort is nice and everything is easy to find. The rooms are your typical Club Med rooms. Nothing fancy but comfortable.
Food: Yummy! As usual the Club Med buffet was great. So much selection! never bored with food and liked to try everything.
Chief de Village: Mathias was spot on as chief. He did a great job making everyone feel welcomed and having a nice time. He was also in the shows a well. Shows that he really likes his job and cares about the people there.
Activities: There were lots of activities that you could do/try. The circus and trapeze were big hits with my family. Aqua Gym was fun to do in the ocean. The GO's has fun activities after aqua gym on the beach, from slip n slides to bubble parties. Lots of fun. The sailing crew was not particularly welcoming and didn't really give lessons or look like they wanted to!!

CONS:
My biggest problem with this Club Med is the Kids Club. There was an incident that I witnessed between my daughter and a GO that was unacceptable. I did not have my daughter go back there after that. The GO's at the Kids Club do not have any experience with children. I was very unhappy with them. Yes, there can be difficult children, but if you cannot control them or are having issues, contact the parents rather than doing something inappropriate. My younger son was fine at the Kids Club. Also, the schedule they have is not always accurate. It might say archery/sailing at 11:00, but if one kids wants to go sailing and the rest want to do archery, then they go to archery....why have a choice if you can't do them both.

I would go back to this resort, but not have my daughter in the Kids club.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enmsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We are Club Med regulars, but this was our first time at La Caravelle. The resort met, or exceeded, all our expectations! As we arrived at the airport, we were very efficiently put into taxis to the resort. This was very well handled. The resort itself is beautiful and very well maintained. Our rooms were small, but clean and with everything we needed. We paid a little extra for a connecting room for our 2 teenage daughters, and this was worth it, as they often didn't want to carry keys. The food was classic Club Med-style buffets, with something for everyone to enjoy. The bread was a little better than that at other CM resorts, I think, and we were happy to see the very popular chocolate bread! The activities were well-run and well-organized in general. Our family played tennis, took the power walk, the various exercise classes, windsurfing and sailing. Always something to do, and always fun. Our only criticism is of the sailing. It absolutely did not have the usual Club Med 'just give it a try' vibe, and in fact it seemed that sailing was discouraged. My husband went out with the GO to show his sailing expertise, which was judged to be fine, but after that there was always some reason that boats weren't available. A better attitude on the part of the GO could easily fix this. All other GOs had great enthusiasm and seemed to enjoy their jobs! Matias, the chef de village, was always around, greeting and shaking hands. One thing to keep in mind is that there isn't much English spoken at La Caravelle, it is mostly French. We didn't find this a barrier at all, but someone might. The evening shows were very entertaining, and we very much appreciated a special 4th of July event for us few Americans that were there! All in all, a great time, and we'll be back to Club Med soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SixfromGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Back from a 1week vacation at la caravelle. This time was our second stay.
We were 2 families, with a total of 6 kids aged from 6 to 14. Everyone is totally pleased with their vacation, the great range of activities, tennis, volleyball, organized soccer everyday, flying trapeze. The choice is large and well organized.
Family communicating rooms are of good size and very clean. Main downpoint is the mattresses are very hard.
The g.o. Team was very enthusiast and warm, extra special thanks to the circus team, Yoan ,Karen, Robin and Leah. You guys are are very sympa, even from day one, which is not often the case.
The chief Mathias is very helpful and runs a great team.
Accomodation is not the forte at club med, but if you're looking for a great time, good food and good ambiance, you should be delighted.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-JoseeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The best thing about this resort is the beach. It is sandy, with a warm, crystal water. One area of the beach next to the bar and a small pier smells of sewage. Not sure they dump it there, but there is a broken plastic pipe that is visible running next to the pier. And beware that the beach is public. On weekends expect to have a wave of locals descend on the beach and pack around you. That resulted in our back pack being stolen from our lounge chairs on our next to last day here. Not too many valuables were gone, but the camera with all our photos, watch, sunglasses... We booked a garden view room and got a ground floor room in the oldest part of the village - Desirade. They say the club was renovated but it really is old and tired. Looks like from the seventies with a lot of concrete and boxy room structures. Beds were hard as a board, pillows too small - had a back ache for a first few days. Bathroom was decent but with many caulking smears around the tiles and mold in the grout joints. There was a news about dengue fever spread by mosquitos on tv and on the airport and yet the rooms do not have any mosquito nets. It would be very useful to have them.
GO's were fantastic, working very hard, along with the chef du village - Matthias. French is very much the language here. They rarely switch to english, only when you tell them. St. Anne is a short walk from the village but not worth seeing. It is shanty and smells of raw sewage. The case of most of the islands in the Caribbean in our experience. We came back here 6 years after our first visit and would not come back again.

Room Tip: Sea view is the way to go, but at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cojle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you like the ClubMed Experience (CME), you'll love la Caravelle. This is our 5th CME, so we've grown to expect the friendly GOs, the enthusiastic Chef du Village, the dancing, singing, and playing, the fun and the rum, the excercise and the sports. La Caravelle does all of those things beautifully, but, because it is part of France, it does it in French. Many speak English, but it can still be a challenge, especially when the pace is quick. We loved tennis, Hobie cats, pilates, buns and tums, water aerobics, the glorious beach and the silky smooth water in which we could swim a quarter of a mile or so. The food was quite varied, always nicely prepared, and mostly served from the counter rather than handled by us. It left us feeling healthy and relaxed, ready to return to work.

Room Tip: Marie-Gallante on the lower level - so you can walk out to the beach and don't hear the loud mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just returned from a week's vacation at Club Med La Caravelle. After visiting several Club Meds in the North American region, we were ready but a little nervous about adventuring to a new resort with fewer English speaking people. We had the best week ever and our girls (ages 6 and 8) shared in our excitement.

Guadeloupe is a beautiful island and the French influence makes it unique. The resort is a bit outdated in some areas but the restaurant was top notch (more French than American which we liked) and recommend paying extra for a room in the updated Marie Galante section.

Mathias is one of the best chief of the villages we have ever encountered. His energy is contagious and he runs a great group of GOs who really went out of their way to get everyone involved. It was a beautiful group of people and they were happy to speak in English or let us practice French.

Leslie and Ann at the Mini Club / Sailing area were gems. They really integrated our english speaking children into the mix and gave them the courage to try many activities which they did not try at other Club Meds (e.g. archery, circus, windsurfing).

My husband and I also had a good time at the tennis courts with Marc and would love the club to provide private lessons for an additional fee.

The windsurfing area is awesome and loved the fact they offered paddle boarding. The spa is limited but the massages were very relaxing off the dock. We tried a massage offered by Karol K at the beach one afternoon which was a nice experience.

We went into the village for an afternoon and friends tried a restaurant in town which they said was good. The pool was nice and never crowded (as with the gym). We do wonder why the gym carries only small weights and why no one needs to lift more than 3 lbs.

All in all, a very good time. Evening shows were definitely more French influenced and as always the circus shows at night were highlights and among the best we have seen. We did miss the lack of chocolate bread at dinner, no syrup at breakfast, and no ice cream except for lunch but we thought the positives outweighed the negatives and can't wait to go back. We had been to Ixtapa, Punta Cana, Cancun more than 3x each and think we might have found our new favorite Club Med! The beach is super relaxing but did wish it was closed off to the public on Sundays (very crowded with local teenagers).

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room in the newly renovated section which come with ocean views. Perfect for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karumba2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a week at the resort with the grandparents and two young children. The rooms were in very good condition and the food was excellent. The Mini Club team was AMAZING. Our two year old was very unhappy due to being left from his mother. The staff at the Mini Club were excellent in helping him adjust to being there. Even with all his crying they kept him for the day and ensured he was comfortable. There were great activities for all the kids of all ages and heaps for families to do! A great place to vacation with family of all ages! The beach was great with lots of trees to be in the shade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
0.3 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Sainte-Anne
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 14 in Saint Francois
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pierre&Vacances Village Club Sainte-Anne
9.1 mi away
La Cocoteraie
La Cocoteraie
#6 of 14 in Saint Francois
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Diwali
Hotel Le Diwali
#4 of 10 in Sainte-Anne
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Caravelle

Address: Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sainte-Anne
#1 Green Hotel in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Caravelle 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all inclusive resort on one of Guadeloupe's finest beaches. Located in the heart of the Caribbean, La Caravelle all inclusive resort is an ideal setting for a vacation retreat. Soak in the Caribbean sun on the golden beaches of Guadeloupe, experience island culture in the markets and shops of Point-A-Pitre, or treat yourself to the ultimate spa treatments at the resort's wellness center. With activities for both parents and children, La Caravelle is the perfect winter retreat for the entire family. Children, young and old, will be thrilled to take a class at the truly unique trapeze and circus school on the resort grounds. While the children try their hand at juggling, trampolines, or tight ropes, parents can enjoy a peaceful meal at one of the many beach side restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Caravelle Hotel Sainte-Anne
Club Med Ste Anne
La Caravelle Club Med
Club Med Guadeloupe
Ste. Anne Club Med
Club Med La Caravelle Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing