We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR HOLIDAYS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med La Caravelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med La Caravelle to your Saves list
Club Med La Caravelle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Key Biscayne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OUR HOLIDAYS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we wetn to CLUB MED in june 2013 with all the fa;ily and we all really had excellent time, the kids loved the MINI CLUB thanks to the go ISA and JULIETTE and MARTIN, the food was very good, the infrastructure a little bit old , need a refresh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    390
    132
    62
    34
See reviews for
515
260
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 233 cities Reviews in 233 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We rented a car for our week on Guadeloupe, which we recommend to you for touring the island after you recover from the trip to the island. It’s a 20-minute or so drive from the airport to Club Med, located just after the city limit sign for the town of St. Anne. We were greeted upon our arrival and had our bags taken to the room, while at the reception area we were given a small welcome drink and registered for the week. We had a garden view room, away from all the nightly noise, with plenty of room and a king-sized bed. The room has a mini-fridge, which was supplied with a new 1.5-liter bottle of water each day, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, wall safe, and HDTV. There was adequate closet space. Lighting in the room was pretty dim for those who like to read at night.

All of the personnel were friendly, and nearly all spoke English, so we had no problem with language. We’ll just summarize the good and the bad; it was a relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach.

Negatives:

Lack of organization. While there is a flyer in the room explaining some of the policies; ours was in Spanish; the one we later obtained at the desk was in French and English, but guests are required to constantly ask questions about what should be in that flyer: How do we get Internet (by signing up for purchases at the resort and then charging 20 euros to your room for the week’s access)? What are the consequences of choosing lobster and champagne at the restaurant La Biguine instead of the other entrees (about $100 US added to your bill per person)? Where do you find beach towels? What are the charges for all the other services offered by the Club (kite surfing lessons, etc.)? Why didn’t anyone tell us there were free sheets of daily news from the U.S. on a table off the beaten path?

No ice machines or ice buckets, although some ice is available at the bar and from a very slow ice machine in the dining area.

Charges for Internet and very poor reception in the rooms—although the charge is not high if you are staying a week—20 euros total. Staff says two best locations are the reception area and beach. We did have much better luck in the reception area.

Inconsistent food quality. The night we ate in the special restaurant, our beef was inedible, partly because it was served rare instead of the medium we had ordered, and partly because it was tough as cowhide. At breakfast, the scrambled eggs were a gooey mess and omelets were unavailable. Overall, the food variety was great but the quality of the food average or less. We went out and ate in three different places during our stay, partly to avoid eating every meal here.

Positives:

The beautiful palm-lined beach and plenty of lounge chairs if you get one by 10:00 or so. It's a public beach, so particularly on the weekends lots of locals come over, but it was never too crowed for us.

Good air conditioning that doesn’t have to be shut down each time you leave the room.

Friendly and helpful G.O.’s, many of whom speak good English. The chief of the village was particularly helpful and friendly, going through the village each day offering assistance and greeting guests. Our overall experience with the staff was the best we have had at a Club Med, which we frequented all over the Caribbean when we were younger.

The beautiful beach and somewhat clear water.

The afternoon hors d’ouevres and specialty drinks served before dinner each day, especially considering dinner was not available until 7:30, or perhaps 8:30 if you did not reserve the special restaurant far enough in advance.

The shows, which were very entertaining for the children there and which seemed of higher quality than the ones we remembered from the 80’s and 90’s.

The fantastic beach and shade provided by the palm trees.

Lots of exercise classes through the day to try to keep off the weight you are gaining in Paradise.

We recommend this place for a relaxing beach holiday. And if you didn’t rent a car, there are car rentals available in the nearby town of St. Anne, a 5-minute walk from the resort. Do some exploring while you are on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

You have to come to this Club Med with a certain expectation....if you do, you will be happy.

First the negatives;
The facility is straight out of the 1970's. Buildings are very tired and haven't been renovated in a long time. Its clearly not a 5 star resort. Rooms are in slightly better shape. (My bed was as lumpy as a coiled rope. To the hotel's credit, they changed my mattress the very next day). They say they have WIFI, but it barely works and you probably wont get a signal in your room. The crowd was 90% middle age and older French visitors plus some families. Not the party crowd Club Med is famous for. You will see 60+ year old topless French women if that matters. Next to no english is spoken. If you dont speak French, you will probably have difficulty engaging in casual conversations. Small marginal gym.

The positives? I took 3 teenage boys and they had a really fun time. The staff is generally very nice despite the language barrier. I didnt see any of the famous French attitude towards Americans. Quite the opposite...the staff works their tail off day and night, The food was surprisingly good...particularly in light of the fact that its a Las Vegas buffet style service. As a buffet, the food is 5 stars!!! Every night there is campy entertainment by the staff. It ranges between pretty bad and enjoyable. The sports are outstanding and there is plenty to do. The beaches and the island are beautiful. The resort is on a peninsula and half the beachfront is pretty windy (great for windsurfing) and the other half is protected. Weather was perfect. Given that its all inclusive, the price is very reasonable and you actually can lock up your wallet for the week. Bottom line....go as long as you have expectations in line with what this somewhat cheesy Club Med offers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Rooms with ocean view/Marie-Galante: lots of noise (music, animation) from the Club Med party going on almost each night until midnight on the resort. Strongly suggest garden view if you want to sleep well or just read quietly between 9pm and 00h15. Would never pay more again for those rooms at that Club Med unless you are there to party...
Beach is very nice.
Eat very well.
Sports (tennis), sailing and fitness very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful beach, absolutely fabulous for young children due to it being safe with fun waves. Right on the doorstep of the Club Med and despite being public feels safe and part of the resort.
The rooms are fine but problems with La Carevelle exist:

Mini Club needs to put more effort into providing a variety of entertainment for the kids throughout the day. The staff are kind, but an element of laziness appears to be creeping in. The shows are very lame compared to other Club Meds. The communication with parents is poor and we never knew when the children would be in a play, or what time they would be doing certain activities, or telling us what the children needed for the activities planned.

The quality of the food was good, but it became quite monotonous with only slight variety each day.

The bar was hopelessly understaffed meaning very long waits to be served.

A big problem was the noise. The GO loved setting up amplifiers and blasting music and quiz shows in the club and at the beach at huge volume at all times of day. Some peopled enjoyed this, but most would grimace and gather their things to move a distance away everytime the sound was cranked up.

Its not a bad club, and is in a great location, but Improvement is required. We had a great time however and the Chef du Village was excellent and ever present ensuring his guests were having a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 12/7 to 12/14 at La Caravelle.

Cons:
Language - Everything is in French
Not understanding and being an American we were lost, missed so much!! Do not go to La Caravelle if you do not understand French. Americans do not seem to be welcomed. Most of the guests were from France and most did not speak English. I asked if the GOs could use English, especially when introducing shows and other events. They said they would but never really did make an attempt. No wonder only about 14 Americans were there! Some GOs did attempt to speak English one-on-one, but some GOs (especially females at reception) were actually rude and were not happy about having to speak English, some didn't know English at all. Did meet some nice guests who translated for us!

Accommodations: Awful - Do not take rooms in Basse-Terre: room smelled like mildew and there was mold in the bathroom. Mentioned this many times and their answer was to spray the room this awful smelling stuff. They also changed the filter in the AC, but none of this helped. They actually painted over the mold in the bathroom on our last day!!

Food: OK - could have had more fresh fruit, hoping for papaya and mango, but I guess not in season.

Pros: Beach

Would not go back. If you are an American do not go here, got the feeling they didn't like Americans much.

Room Tip: Do not choose Basse-Terre - room awful, smelled like mildew and mold in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I only spend one day at La Caravelle before heading back to Europe but had a very nice time there. The beach is really beautiful - as you imagine the Caribbean. Although it's a public beach, you never feel unsafe. Lots of activities: sailing, aérobics, circus, etc. The buffets at La Caravelle are delicious. The CDV, Mathias Maria, is really everywhere and his GO team is friendly, super efficient and helpful. There is a nice boutique with a lot of choice. Some of the buildings hosting the rooms may look "ugly" from the outside but don't stay on a "1st bad impression". I would definitely recommend this Club Med, especially for families with children as the facilities for kids are very well organized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Caravelle

Address: Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Caravelle 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in the tropical spirit of the Caribbean, the all-inclusive resort La Caravelle, Guadeloupe (French West Indies) is situated in one of the island's most beautiful beaches. This family-friendly resort offers a variety of sports and activities: children's clubs, scuba-diving, water sports, tennis... Come and have a taste of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Caravelle Hotel Sainte-Anne
Club Med Ste Anne
La Caravelle Club Med
Club Med Guadeloupe
Ste. Anne Club Med
Club Med La Caravelle Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med La Caravelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.