We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fromage from France” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med La Caravelle to your Saves list
Club Med La Caravelle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fromage from France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

You have to come to this Club Med with a certain expectation....if you do, you will be happy.

First the negatives;
The facility is straight out of the 1970's. Buildings are very tired and haven't been renovated in a long time. Its clearly not a 5 star resort. Rooms are in slightly better shape. (My bed was as lumpy as a coiled rope. To the hotel's credit, they changed my mattress the very next day). They say they have WIFI, but it barely works and you probably wont get a signal in your room. The crowd was 90% middle age and older French visitors plus some families. Not the party crowd Club Med is famous for. You will see 60+ year old topless French women if that matters. Next to no english is spoken. If you dont speak French, you will probably have difficulty engaging in casual conversations. Small marginal gym.

The positives? I took 3 teenage boys and they had a really fun time. The staff is generally very nice despite the language barrier. I didnt see any of the famous French attitude towards Americans. Quite the opposite...the staff works their tail off day and night, The food was surprisingly good...particularly in light of the fact that its a Las Vegas buffet style service. As a buffet, the food is 5 stars!!! Every night there is campy entertainment by the staff. It ranges between pretty bad and enjoyable. The sports are outstanding and there is plenty to do. The beaches and the island are beautiful. The resort is on a peninsula and half the beachfront is pretty windy (great for windsurfing) and the other half is protected. Weather was perfect. Given that its all inclusive, the price is very reasonable and you actually can lock up your wallet for the week. Bottom line....go as long as you have expectations in line with what this somewhat cheesy Club Med offers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    507
    170
    73
    40
See reviews for
672
348
95
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Rooms with ocean view/Marie-Galante: lots of noise (music, animation) from the Club Med party going on almost each night until midnight on the resort. Strongly suggest garden view if you want to sleep well or just read quietly between 9pm and 00h15. Would never pay more again for those rooms at that Club Med unless you are there to party...
Beach is very nice.
Eat very well.
Sports (tennis), sailing and fitness very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful beach, absolutely fabulous for young children due to it being safe with fun waves. Right on the doorstep of the Club Med and despite being public feels safe and part of the resort.
The rooms are fine but problems with La Carevelle exist:

Mini Club needs to put more effort into providing a variety of entertainment for the kids throughout the day. The staff are kind, but an element of laziness appears to be creeping in. The shows are very lame compared to other Club Meds. The communication with parents is poor and we never knew when the children would be in a play, or what time they would be doing certain activities, or telling us what the children needed for the activities planned.

The quality of the food was good, but it became quite monotonous with only slight variety each day.

The bar was hopelessly understaffed meaning very long waits to be served.

A big problem was the noise. The GO loved setting up amplifiers and blasting music and quiz shows in the club and at the beach at huge volume at all times of day. Some peopled enjoyed this, but most would grimace and gather their things to move a distance away everytime the sound was cranked up.

Its not a bad club, and is in a great location, but Improvement is required. We had a great time however and the Chef du Village was excellent and ever present ensuring his guests were having a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 12/7 to 12/14 at La Caravelle.

Cons:
Language - Everything is in French
Not understanding and being an American we were lost, missed so much!! Do not go to La Caravelle if you do not understand French. Americans do not seem to be welcomed. Most of the guests were from France and most did not speak English. I asked if the GOs could use English, especially when introducing shows and other events. They said they would but never really did make an attempt. No wonder only about 14 Americans were there! Some GOs did attempt to speak English one-on-one, but some GOs (especially females at reception) were actually rude and were not happy about having to speak English, some didn't know English at all. Did meet some nice guests who translated for us!

Accommodations: Awful - Do not take rooms in Basse-Terre: room smelled like mildew and there was mold in the bathroom. Mentioned this many times and their answer was to spray the room this awful smelling stuff. They also changed the filter in the AC, but none of this helped. They actually painted over the mold in the bathroom on our last day!!

Food: OK - could have had more fresh fruit, hoping for papaya and mango, but I guess not in season.

Pros: Beach

Would not go back. If you are an American do not go here, got the feeling they didn't like Americans much.

Room Tip: Do not choose Basse-Terre - room awful, smelled like mildew and mold in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I only spend one day at La Caravelle before heading back to Europe but had a very nice time there. The beach is really beautiful - as you imagine the Caribbean. Although it's a public beach, you never feel unsafe. Lots of activities: sailing, aérobics, circus, etc. The buffets at La Caravelle are delicious. The CDV, Mathias Maria, is really everywhere and his GO team is friendly, super efficient and helpful. There is a nice boutique with a lot of choice. Some of the buildings hosting the rooms may look "ugly" from the outside but don't stay on a "1st bad impression". I would definitely recommend this Club Med, especially for families with children as the facilities for kids are very well organized.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to Club Med 09/11/2013 - 16/11/2013. Everything, absolutely everything was perfect. Our kids, 10 and 8 years had a blast... They didn't want to come back. We went to few places (Beaches in Turks and Caicos and in Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, Cuba,Tahiti) and this is our best vacation!!!

The weather was perfect. The Club Med offers a lot of activities, excursions and shows (every night). The food was delicious (only 1 buffet, 1 restaurant, but the menu was different every day).
The GO's are amazing and very nice beside manners. I would like to thanks Saida, Eddine and Fabrice (Decouverte), Karima (Sport), Nabil and Nicholas (they were so funny), the GO of the AquaGym and special thanks to Guillaume at the reception desk (we forgot my son's special box and he was there for us to send FEDEX). And of course Thank you Mathias (Chief of the village) and PJ. Both of them have an incredible energy.

We would definitely go back...

Je vous remercie infiniment... Grace à toutes cette equipe, nous avons passé d'incroyables vacances.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

With 2 boys , 11 and 13, the task of keeping them busy and happy felt challenging.
Between windsurfing, kitesurfing, archery, swimming and scuba diving, tasting the delicious creole food, there was never a dull moment. The staff were friendly and efficient. The tour to the Cousteau reserve was disappointing. The spa is actually just a massage center.
We'd like to extend a very special recommendation and thanks to Hervé at the Noa diving center who patiently and kindly initiated our 11 yr old to the great joys of scuba diving through the Padi scuba certification .

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
5.3 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 14 in Saint Francois
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sainte-Anne
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#2 of 25 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PV-Holidays Village Pierre & Vacances de Sainte Anne
7.1 mi away
Le Manganao Hotel Club Paladien
Le Manganao Hotel Club Paladien
#5 of 14 in Saint Francois
3.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#3 of 14 in Saint Francois
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Caravelle

Address: Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Caravelle 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in the tropical spirit of the Caribbean, the all-inclusive resort La Caravelle, Guadeloupe (French West Indies) is situated in one of the island's most beautiful beaches. This family-friendly resort offers a variety of sports and activities: children's clubs, scuba-diving, water sports, tennis... Come and have a taste of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Caravelle Hotel Sainte-Anne
Club Med Ste Anne
La Caravelle Club Med
Club Med Guadeloupe
Ste. Anne Club Med
Club Med La Caravelle Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med La Caravelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.