We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star experience in authentic Country Inn ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Y Talbot to your Saves list
Y Talbot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Five Star experience in authentic Country Inn ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beautiful rooms with the most fantastic bathrooms in an imposing historic building. Set in rural Wales this is the centrepiece for the small town. It's recently been sympathetically renovated to the highest standards with apparently no expense spared.
The food is top notch and the little pub attached (complete with wood fires & inglenook fireplaces) is a true taste of the British pub - serving the best local ales and a very good selection of wines
Get in there quick as the popularity of this place is rising - rooms are currently very reasonably priced for the quality delivered
Can't wait 'til we go back.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
53
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Shropshire Tours were accompanying an American couple around Wales. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to change our plans at the last minute and chanced on Y Talbot. What a wonderful change! The rooms were very modern, extremely comfortable, warm and welcoming on a rainy night. We all loved the way the hotel had been refurbished including leaving the now attached pub as it was, separate rooms, tiled floors, real fires etc. This was used by locals who were very friendly. We decided to eat in one of the bar rooms and had one of the best meals any of us could remember. Every one of the staff we met were welcoming and could not have done more to make our stay a truly memorable experience. A wonderful stay, and a destination for my wife and I when I am not conducting a tour!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A lovely comfortable friendly hotel where we will undoubtedly stay again. We were offered a choice of rooms and chose the large one on the front of the hotel. This was in the lower price range as it hadn't been refubished but nevertheless, clean and comfortable. Dinner was excellent, my only complaint being that it was too large and I couldn't finish it all! I hate leaving good food. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Called in at the Y Talbot (having been recommended by Jane Beck Welsh Blankets Llwyn Y Groes, amazing place) for lunch. Was greeted by Steve the barman a local lad who was very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. The welsh ale was very good and reasonably priced. My wife and I both settled for the Pie of the day which was Lamb and vegetables with homemade chips. The service was very good and the pie was delicious, best food around, would certainly like to go back again and stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The Talbot is split into two halves. There is a traditional pub with two bars and a modern, comfortable hotel and restaurant.

Both sides are poles apart, but both are very good. The hotel has very nice rooms and the restaurant is spacious and modern. The pub serves good beer and the same menu applies in it as in the restaurant.

The food on my trip there was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I spent two nights at this friendly hotel in the Welsh hills last week, and it was a good choice.

Very reasonably priced , the standard room was simple but comfortable, spotlessley clean and with an excellent shower and plenty of hot water. I had dinner in the pub which is part of the hotel, nice friendly atmosphere and a good choice of beers and ciders at sensible prices. There was a very interesting and varied menu but I went for 'Pie of the day' , a fabulous lamb pie with creamy mash and perfectly cooked vegtables, it was so good I had the same meal the following night, that's a first. .
The breakfasts served in the bright and airey retaurant was the usual cereals, fruits, yoghurts, toasts etc but then a delicious hot selection , each item cooked to perfection and beautifully presented and served piping hot, by friendly and efficient staff.
Plenty of parking at the front and some around the back of the Hotel.

Room Tip: My room at the back of the hotel had very thin walls, front rooms might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Myself and 2 friends booked Y Talbot as it was reviewed as welcoming bikers on the ukgser website. The booking was efficient, friendly and didnt ask for a deposit. We arrived late but the staff showed us where to park the bikes and even parked a car across the bikes to block them in overnight. Great. Some websites say the parking is secure. It is not. However the parking is at the rear of the inn and very secluded. We felt the bikes were quite safe. If y talbot wanted to improve this economically, some ground anchors would be very helpful to chain up the bikes to.
Once inside, the warm ambience of the inn was welcome after a day riding. We were shown our rooms quickly. The rooms were simple, clean and smart. The rooms were in the older part of the building I think but they were perfect.
We had dinner in the bar downstairs. The staff were attentive, the beer good, and the food outstanding and good value. I recommend the lamb pie.
I had a good nights sleep in room 5. The blue LED on the tele is a bit annoying as it casts a blue light around the room when on standby. Easily fixed by unplugging the tele.
Breakfast was held in a new part of the building. The room was smart and clean. Service was very good. There was juice, cereals, breads and pastries and a choice of cooked options. I had the full breakfast which was very satisfying.
On leving there was an issue with the bar tab from the night before. This was quickly resolved without hesitation by the staff.
This was a very enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your suggestion re anchors for bike locks in the car park, we welcome bikers and recognise that you can relax fully if you know that the bikes are completely secure. Fortunately you did not need to use our new drying room given the lovely weather that you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again at Y Talbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.