We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach in North Grenada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levera Beach

Levera Beach
Levera National Park, Grenada
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Mountains
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An important waterfowl habitat and sea turtle nesting site near Bathways beach.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach in North Grenada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Levera beach is beautiful and also, on the day we visited, completely deserted. There are wonderful views across the bay to Sugerloaf and also further North to Carriacou.
A couple of warnings though:
There have been incidents of theft from cars on the beach (though this happens where we live as well). We didn't leave anything of any value in the car and, as advised, we left the car unlocked and windows down. We had no problem.
Secondly, although the sea looks inviting, it is very dangerous swimming here as the undercurrent is strong. Go to Bathway up the road to swim as the beach is protected there by a limestone reef

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berkshire, england
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Breathtaking surroundings and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Empty sandy beach with a few fishing boats and waves crashing on the shore. Worth the effort to get there passing Bathway Beach on the way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Quiet place for lunch, best place for turtle watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Best place to see leather back sea turtle nesting during the season, but please go with a guide as it does give money back to the local community and encourages them not to poach the animals or their eyes. Great place to bring a picnic lunch for the day. Probably wouldn't recommend swimming here because of the surf but beautiful views of the little islands on the north side of grenada.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very secluded beautiful beach BEWARE !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Yes this is the most amazing beautiful beach and the tur tles should you be lucky to see one are protected. Our accommodation was just a 15 mins walk. One morning while we were having breakfast with our host, our room was broken into and all our cash, phone, jewellery and purse was stolen. I WAS TOTALLY SHOCKED The police came (all four of them and took a statement) We later had to make another at the police station in Sauteurs. Speaking to other people at the airport this was not an isolated case...... apparently we were probably being watched, even on the beach and at our accommodation. Please be AWARE YOU ALSO WILL BE WATCHED !!!!!
Now back home after a week will are still awaiting a report from the Grenadian police, we cant process any claims for our loss without this. This is one holiday I'll not forget.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

On the northeast corner of Grenada, Levera beach is about as far away from the main tourist areas as you can get. But wow, is it pretty. It's protected from the Atlantic by several offshore islands, and there's just no one else there. If you're anywhere in the area, this is the beach to go to.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levera Beach also viewed

Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
Carriacou Island, Grenada
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
South Coast, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Levera Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levera Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.