We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth a Special Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Etang Lake

Grand Etang Lake
Grand Etang National Park, Grenada
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Surrounded by a rain forest, the lake is located in an old crater some 1,700 feet above sea level.
New York Area
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Special Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you're travelling around the island and traversing the rain forest, you may want to stop at the visitor's center for a view of the uninspiring lake. It was brown and swampy looking. Yes, there is a monkey in back by the restrooms that can be fed. Beware as a lady had her hand bitten and was on a dose of meds for a week.
Typical tourist stands, pathway singing, etc when thye cruise ships are in.

$2 USD per person fee.

Drive to the lake and bring bread/crackers to feed fish......... there are some large ones.

The path around the lake was untamed and had 6" of muds in many places.... might be better if it has been dry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    23
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We only stopped here briefly and look forward to going back to do some of the hikes next time. This time though we did get to play with the very friendly Mona Monkey. They come right up to you especially if you have a banana. :0)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance aux Epines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The rainforest is not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Complete with hiking trails and monkeys, a trip to the top of Grenada is a wonderful, soul satisfying experience. Plan on at least a couple of hours on site if you are hiking, half that if you're not.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not that special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A long drive to see a small lake, very misty and wet on the day we went so the alledged views were fleeting and also there were no monkeys were around. There were the usual vendors pushing their products on all the visitors and an entertaining calipso band. We had a drink in one of the bars and a homemade cake to eat which was a decent price. If we had had better weather I think we would have enjoyed the trip more but we did see the jungle like interior and lots interesting of flora and fauna.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Place Worth Visiting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent half a day in Grand Etang recently and it was enjoyable. The center is rich with history and information about the park. I also saw three mona monkeys in the forest. However the lake is in needs serious clearing of these tall grasses before it covers the entire lake!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Etang Lake also viewed

Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
Grenada, Caribbean
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Grand Etang Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Etang Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.