We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Etang Lake

Grand Etang Lake
Grand Etang National Park, Grenada
Improve this listing
Visit Grand Etang Lake like an insider
$60*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by a rain forest, the lake is located in an old crater some 1,700 feet above sea level.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not that special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A long drive to see a small lake, very misty and wet on the day we went so the alledged views were fleeting and also there were no monkeys were around. There were the usual vendors pushing their products on all the visitors and an entertaining calipso band. We had a drink in one of the bars and a homemade cake to eat which was a decent price. If we had had better weather I think we would have enjoyed the trip more but we did see the jungle like interior and lots interesting of flora and fauna.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    26
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Place Worth Visiting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent half a day in Grand Etang recently and it was enjoyable. The center is rich with history and information about the park. I also saw three mona monkeys in the forest. However the lake is in needs serious clearing of these tall grasses before it covers the entire lake!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Grand Etang National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a half day tour from the Flamboyant Hotel Grand Anse. The National Park is an amazing trip which included an encounter with the monkeys at the entrance to the park. Our tour organiser was Tom Sanderson who attracted the monkeys with bananas. They come out of the trees and perch on your head to eat the bananas. We have some great photographs with monkeys sitting on our shoulders. We stopped at the Grand Etang Lake where Tom attracted the fish by throwing bread in to the water. We sat on the lakeside pier with out feet in the water. The fish nibbled at our feet which was a different experience. The park is green with lush vegetation. Tom is a great guide as he pointed out all the natural vegetation including cocoa trees, nutmeg trees, turmeric plants. He picked the fruit and tubers showing the plants in their natural form. We stopped at Concorde falls where we swam in the freshwater pool. Grenada is a beautiful island with fantastic beaches. The tour gave an insight in to the local culture and a great understanding of how local people live. It is all very well to enjoy the beach but it is essential to take a trip to the interior to make a most memorable experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

As a brief stop off its pretty dull... it's a small lake in a jungly environment. Good to dangle your toes in for 5 mins and that's it. If your passing by drop in , if it's part of a hike then great but it's not a destination in its own right.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rainforest Restaurant and Monkey Barz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to Grand Etang Recently and had a drink at this bar they have a delicious rum punch that everyone on our tour enjoyed and the monkeys were there since they seems to hang out at that bar a lot. I enjoyed it so much i went back to Grenada a second time and actually been to Grand Etang everyday looking to go Hiking with my family later on this year to check out the lake and climb mount que que. Try monkey Barz finger foods/ Barbeque and boutique i love it there will advice anyone to visit there, its peace quiet tranquil am now bringing my family and my friends family there. $2 to enter park

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Etang Lake also viewed

Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
Grenada, Caribbean
 
Grenada, Caribbean
South Coast, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Grand Etang Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Etang Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.