We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimacy and privacy defined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maca Bana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maca Bana to your Saves list
Maca Bana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Intimacy and privacy defined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you have read our review of Spice Island Beach Resort, you might be forgiven for wondering if we're just way too difficult to please. Not so. Whilst a totally (and refreshingly) different set up, Maca Bana holds all the aces, we had a truly magnificent time.

The Banas are set on a hill overlooking the bay amongst a tropical landscape. We encountered low hanging mangos, palm trees and turtle ponds en route to our Bana (Paw Paw), but nothing prepared us for the hypnotic view which lies beyond the door to the outside deck… Its simply breathtaking.

Back inside the set up is excellent, spacious bathroom and fully fitted kitchen with an appealing European feel to it. For those of you inclined to lounge about inside as well as out, you may find the modest sized bedroom a little restrictive, in which case one of the larger Banas may suit better. It didn't matter to us though, we spent most days outside on the deck in the sunshine looking out across the sea, Magazine beach and St George's bay. Dipping in and out of the hot tub provided ample refreshment (once we'd worked out the temperature control needed to be set as low as it goes!), and the beach was only minutes away on foot. There was the odd occasion when we had it all to ourselves...

All the staff are friendly and helpful, their infectious laugh and smiles complementing their efficient work. The ever obliging Nickson was invaluable for organising last minute car rentals, suggesting local restaurants and helping plan our island tour. He also went out of his way to ensure the owner's building work was brought to a halt when the concrete mixer and drills began one morning...

The restaurant attached to Maca Bana was a delight, Aquarium is set right on the beach with fabulous cocktails and a varied menu which delivered every time. Sunday BBQ is a must, great vibe with live reggie music and a mix of locals and tourists enjoying it all. The restaurant will send a chef up to your Bana to cook for you should you wish (at not much extra expense), highly recommended for dinner on the deck with that view should you choose Paw Paw…

So, a tale of 2 halves, Paw Paw rescuing us from the mediocrity of Spice Island, and for that, we salute you team Maca Bana!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from an amazing 8 nights at Maca Bana! We stayed in the Rock Fig villa and we loved it! The views from the deck and the hot tub were to die for. We cooked breakfast in our villa every morning and ate dinner at the Aquarium restaurant almost every night. We also ate dinner one night at Laluna, which we have always loved. From the moment we landed in Grenada, Nickson(Maca Bana's manager) was always there for us if we had a question or needed some advice. Every staff member that we encountered was terrific. We thought that the food in the restaurant was great. We tried almost everything on the menu throughout the week, the desserts are to die for! We usually hung out down by the beach until around lunch time and then after lunch we enjoyed the swimming pool. The pool was great, we were the only two at the pool everyday we were there, it was so peaceful and relaxing. Overall it was an outstanding week in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Cherry Villa, and are currently in the Pineapple Villa. The views are breathtaking, the property is superb, very clean, and the upkeep is wonderful. The owner is a kind man, very personable, and great to chat with. The manager of the properties has the best customer service in Grenada.
Would recommend this property over any other in Grenada. We have stayed at Prickly Bay as well for the past year and a half.
Maca Bana takes the cake!

Room Tip: Any Villa, but Mango and Pineapple for sure! Added a hammock and aquarium because we love it so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Last year my husband and I stayed two glorious nights in the much coveted PawPaw with its sweeping views of the sea. This year, when I contacted Nickson to book PawPaw again, he informed me that only Rock Fig was available for our dates. I must admit I had a momentary pout, but quickly resigned myself to make the best of it. Four amazing nights in Rock Fig later, I am converted! Rock Fig is just as dreamy as PawPaw, has stupendous views and in fact a bit more privacy. For me, the all important patch of shade on the deck sealed the deal.

When you open the door to Rock Fig you enter the outdoor area and are immediately struck by the breathtaking views. It never gets old. We kept our scenario simple, cooking most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen, making salads and smoothies from local ingredients. One morning we took the twenty minute stroll to nearby resort LaLuna for a yoga class (ask Nickson for walking directions.) Their outdoor yoga pavilion is on the beach facing the water. It happened we were the only ones atteneding the class that day so we got, what turned out to be, a fabulous private lesson for under $20.

Back at MacaBana we spent the days lounging on the stunning beach, lolling around the hot tub and cooling off in the infinity pool. We visited with the turtles, admired all the beautiful landscaped fruits and flowers and would head up the hill in the evenings to watch the sunset. Nickson was a pleasure to deal with as always. We were thrilled with the cell phone provided and used it to call home. The meals we had at The Aquarium restaurant were great. I love the atmosphere there in the evenings. The whole place transforms from a casual beachside hangout by day to a sophisticated candle lit dining room by evening. It is intoxicating to sit so close to the water watching the waves gently crash just a few feet away while you dine.The service was perfect and the food delicious.

Our Rock Fig room was so comfortable, the bed firm and cozy, the bathroom clean and spacious. Mary kept our room tidy and perfectly stocked with fresh towels. We loved the deck with its cushioned lounge chairs, we could snuggle down with our books and glance up to look over the sea without ever moving!

Needless to say we have been spoiled by MacaBana and dream about a return visit daily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I chose to stay at Maca Bana on my recent Grenada vacation from the reviews on TA. It was a great choice. We stayed in the Paw Paw villa which had a great view of Magazine Beach. We arrived late and Nickson, the GM was there to greet us. He brought us to the room and gave us a cell phone with a $10 credit for local/LD calls. This was good because Nickson was rarely in the office. He is running the hotel and does a great job. The room was spacious and clean and had an amazing kitchen w/everything you would need to make a meal. Housekeeping even did the dishes for us everyday (I left them an extra tip). There was a large flat screen TV that had many channels so we could see the news at night. The bathroom was clean and had 2 sinks. The hotel is located 3 mins from the airport. I read a few reviews about airplane noise. I barely heard planes. I saw a few flashing lights at night but nothing that disturbed our vacation. Since MB is near the airport, a cab ride anywhere costs a minimum of $14.00 US per way. We ended up renting a car- which Nickson set up. It was $55 US per day and worth it if you want to go sightseeing/dinner etc. The restaurant (Aquarium) at MB was good. Please read my review of that. My only slightly negative review was at check out. We had a 9:50am flight out and wasn't given any instructions on leaving- where to leave the key, a ride to the airport etc. I ended up calling Nickson on the cell phone (all of the important #'s are pre-programmed in the phone). He called for a cab to take us there. We left the cell phone and key in the room and left. We had to carry our own bags up but it was fine (it was 7:30am). MB is not a full service resort- there is no room service, beach service etc. but I loved that and would definitely I loved MB and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you, we have had a perfect time staying here and would definately return as we really haven't done a lot ...lol....
Location so close to the airport which is great! The views of st George's are amazing from our bana ! The villa is so well equipped not that we needed to use everything as far as the kitchens concerned as there are restaurants close by (The aquarium , the beach house and la Luna all walking distance )! These are all excellent .
You need a car to get to the super market although Maca Bana will arrange shopping for you.
Next time I would like some painting lessons !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's hard to believe that it's been so long since my husband and I stayed here but it feels like just yesterday. We still fantasize about returning! Yes, the Maca Bana actually is as wonderful as all of the reviews say it is. And after traveling around the world, we can say with confidence that the Maca Bana is one of those special places that just gets it right: amazing views, classy service, and attention to all of the little details that differentiate a good vacation from a truly great one.

We stayed in the Cherry Bana and loved having our own 2-story villa to ourselves. Top highlights include:

-Full gourmet kitchen WITH housekeeping staff who do your dishes! We loved that we could cook for ourselves and not have to clean up.
-Gorgeous complimentary tropical fruit tray upon check-in that lasted our whole stay
-Breathtaking views
-Very unique wooden staircase that looked like a tree and beautiful flowers and artwork everywhere
-Lazy nights spent drinking pina coladas by the hot tub
-Fast and efficient concierge service that arranged for a last minute hiking tour and SCUBA dives
-Locally-made soaps made of spices from the island that just smelled so darn good!

Hands down, the best place we've ever stayed. Period.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
2.0 mi away
Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Splendia so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maca Bana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.