We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at Maca Bana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maca Bana

Save Saved
You added Maca Bana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maca Bana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in St. George's
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Had a great stay at Maca Bana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I chose to stay at Maca Bana on my recent Grenada vacation from the reviews on TA. It was a great choice. We stayed in the Paw Paw villa which had a great view of Magazine Beach. We arrived late and Nickson, the GM was there to greet us. He brought us to the room and gave us a cell phone with a $10 credit for local/LD calls. This was good because Nickson was rarely in the office. He is running the hotel and does a great job. The room was spacious and clean and had an amazing kitchen w/everything you would need to make a meal. Housekeeping even did the dishes for us everyday (I left them an extra tip). There was a large flat screen TV that had many channels so we could see the news at night. The bathroom was clean and had 2 sinks. The hotel is located 3 mins from the airport. I read a few reviews about airplane noise. I barely heard planes. I saw a few flashing lights at night but nothing that disturbed our vacation. Since MB is near the airport, a cab ride anywhere costs a minimum of $14.00 US per way. We ended up renting a car- which Nickson set up. It was $55 US per day and worth it if you want to go sightseeing/dinner etc. The restaurant (Aquarium) at MB was good. Please read my review of that. My only slightly negative review was at check out. We had a 9:50am flight out and wasn't given any instructions on leaving- where to leave the key, a ride to the airport etc. I ended up calling Nickson on the cell phone (all of the important #'s are pre-programmed in the phone). He called for a cab to take us there. We left the cell phone and key in the room and left. We had to carry our own bags up but it was fine (it was 7:30am). MB is not a full service resort- there is no room service, beach service etc. but I loved that and would definitely I loved MB and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
73
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you, we have had a perfect time staying here and would definately return as we really haven't done a lot ...lol....
Location so close to the airport which is great! The views of st George's are amazing from our bana ! The villa is so well equipped not that we needed to use everything as far as the kitchens concerned as there are restaurants close by (The aquarium , the beach house and la Luna all walking distance )! These are all excellent .
You need a car to get to the super market although Maca Bana will arrange shopping for you.
Next time I would like some painting lessons !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's hard to believe that it's been so long since my husband and I stayed here but it feels like just yesterday. We still fantasize about returning! Yes, the Maca Bana actually is as wonderful as all of the reviews say it is. And after traveling around the world, we can say with confidence that the Maca Bana is one of those special places that just gets it right: amazing views, classy service, and attention to all of the little details that differentiate a good vacation from a truly great one.

We stayed in the Cherry Bana and loved having our own 2-story villa to ourselves. Top highlights include:

-Full gourmet kitchen WITH housekeeping staff who do your dishes! We loved that we could cook for ourselves and not have to clean up.
-Gorgeous complimentary tropical fruit tray upon check-in that lasted our whole stay
-Breathtaking views
-Very unique wooden staircase that looked like a tree and beautiful flowers and artwork everywhere
-Lazy nights spent drinking pina coladas by the hot tub
-Fast and efficient concierge service that arranged for a last minute hiking tour and SCUBA dives
-Locally-made soaps made of spices from the island that just smelled so darn good!

Hands down, the best place we've ever stayed. Period.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I spend a few days at the Maca Bana after a friend's wedding. The view was spectacular. The room had air conditioning, was spacious and clean. It was very nice to have a full kitchen. The complimentary breakfast stocked in our fridge was enough food to have breakfast every morning and a snack whenever we wanted. It was great making your own coffee and sitting out on your own private patio and deck in the morning - watching the waves crash on the beach. The hot tub was a nice feature too. But I have to say, Nickson, the manager, really made the hotel special. He was very attentive and personable, even before we got to the hotel. He answered all my questions, always was available, and when we got there, he was always available when we needed or had questions.

I would highly recommend the hotel, especially if you are looking for privacy and good service. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having visited these villas for a friend's wedding a couple of years ago, I kept searching for a reason to return. What better reason than our honeymoon! We requested the Paw Paw villa on booking and from that moment the service we experienced from Nickson was without fault.

We got there very early (before the office was even open) and were met by Nickson who showed us to our villa. I must say being able to access the villa from the time we got there to the time we left which was way past the usual check out time, made the experience priceless. The courtesy extended ensures we will be back for more.

The villa itself was amazing and the view out of this world. Words cannot even describe this little piece of heaven.

Dinner at the Aquarium restaurant was great, but we noticed a difference the second night we dined when the restuarant had more people, and the service and quality of food were not as good as the night before. Still great food but there was a difference.

The pool was absolutely lovely and the entire surroundings so tranquil and private.

The local phone given to us on arrival is also a great touch, and again these are the things that make Maca Bana stand out.

We will definitely be back, thanks for the tour of the family villa Nickson!

Ariane & Brian

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Paw Paw Villa in the last two weeks of October 2012. Two weeks of pure relaxation, with breathtaking views, fantastic staff, great host in Nixon and amazing food at The Aquarium. We considered staying at La Luna and chose Maca Bana instead - we're glad we did. The villa was small, intimate just for two, exactly what we were after. It was fully and thoughtfully equipped with everything we could think of needing, and the creative decor and furnishings added so much personal character to the accommodation. The high cliff top location was brilliant - OK the hills are steep and not to be underestimated, but take it steady and they are not so bad; you do get used to the climb after a day or two (we also heard that there are plans to get a golf buggy to help with hill climbing transport if required) - but its the clifftop location that gave the villa its views - and they were stunning! So many times we just sat in the hot tub or window seat mesmerised by the turquoise sea, beach and picturesque capital, St George's, in the distance. The white sand beach is excellent, though on the odd day the surf could be a little rough - if you find a Casio divers watch it could well be mine !! Can't recommend this place enough and can't wait to return. Nixon, get that reservation written down. ( Dave and Mary - UK )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 and a half weeks relaxing in Avocado Villa during October 2012. After exploring the island, we believe Maca Bana is the best place to stay in Grenada. The view of the Caribbean Sea and St. George's from our deck always entranced us, day and night. The beach, pool and hot tub kept us refreshed during our stay. The design of the villa from the bamboo lighted railing on the deck, to the banisters on the stairwell, the 3 D geckos painted on the wall, along with the avocado accents provided an environment that was both soothing and efficient. The top of the line appliances and array of glasses and dishes allowed whatever we cooked to be delectable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maca Bana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.