We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maca Bana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maca Bana to your Saves list
Maca Bana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. George's
Stratford on Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just stayed at a Paradise resort on the Paradise Island of Greanada
Our Bana (cottage) RockFig is right on the cliff edge with wonderful views of the coast all the way to St George
We spent time in the hot tub or on our balcony
The beach below is beautiful but the sea a little rough but we spent time on BBC beach or Morne Rouge as it is officially called where there is a great beach bar Rockys
We ate at the sister restaurants where the Aquarium below is probably the best on the Island and the other is the Victory at Port Louis
All under the same ownership
Nickson the general manager is charming and eager to please
We wil return

Room Tip: Discuss your room with Nickson
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
81
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We last visited Maca Bana in May 2010. We had a really good time but felt a little restricted by the size of our Bana Paw Paw. We made good use of the hot tub but found the other outside space small for any real use. After we booked to come back in 2012 we realised that Michaela who was general manager in 2010 had left and wondered if this was a bad omen as she had been one of the really good things about Maca Bana, no need to have worried the new general manager Nickson is really good (not the same but equally good).
We booked Paw Paw again as the view is to die for and had seen on line that the external space had been extended. What a difference, we spent time everyday sun bathing on the huge deck and every morning had breakfast out there. It was really good to recognise most of the staff and find them just as friendly as last time.
One major change we made this time was to rent a car for the whole of our stay. This meant that we could just get in and drive or go shopping whenever we wanted. We did not make a huge amount of use of the car but it certainly helped.
All in all the changes to Paw Paw made this a better holiday than last time (and last time was really good). My wife said to me this morning ,we are packing to leave at the moment, that usually when you go back a second time it is never as good as you remember but this time it was actually better.
The other major change we made to our holiday this year was to split it between two hotels, Maca Bana being room only meant we got out often and visited restaurants as we wished. This afternoon we are driving to Spice Island Resort for a week of pampering (we had previously been to Spice in 2009) and we will see if that lives up to our great memories, review to follow.
To summarise, our room Paw Paw was better that last time, the good things are the fabulous view, Nickson and the staff and the Magazine beach. We would certainly come back.

Room Tip: For two people Paw Paw withits new deck is fabulous, a view to die for and totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in Paw Paw for 5 nights in March. The high points of the stay were really high - the remarkable view from the room and especially the hot tub, a full kitchen for cooking breakfast (and other meals if you desire), some excellent meals on the island and generally nice beaches. Unfortunately we had some fairly serious issues with our stay at Maca Bana that really detracted from the experience.
A major complaint we had was spotty internet access and water pressure in the room. We use the internet a lot at night during beach vacations but were only rarely able to connect to a wireless network in the room (and frequently we were connecting to networks from other resorts). Water pressure in the shower was also moderately inconsistent (fortunately not as bad as the seldom functioning internet) and hot water took a long time to come in. For the latter two I suspect they are related to the green features of the hotel, but they are a major tradeoff for guests.
Count us as not big fans of the hill. As a not particularly active but relatively young man I had no problem getting up the hills but found it very unpleasant. The exceptionally steep hike down to the beach and back up to the room really made me a lot less excited to get going in the morning, and we ended up driving to other beaches on the island frequently to avoid the climb.
The ocean was quite rough at Maca Bana's beach, much rougher than at the best beach on Grenada, Grand Anse beach. I'm a fairly strong swimmer but I had a tough time with the undertow one day in poor conditions, but my wife (a weaker swimmer) was struggling a little even in calm weather.
While I kinda enjoyed shopping at the grocery store and cooking my own breakfast, we spent a lot of time shopping and cooking that we would have spent at the beach at a more typical hotel.
The Aquarium Restaurant at the bottom of the hill, while not bad, was not one of the better meals we had on the island.
A small hotel with personalized service from Nixon, who was very good, is a nice thing, but Nixon is only one man and when he's not around you're out of luck.
Paw Paw was really small. In pure square footage its quite a bit bigger than your average hotel room but in practice we had trouble fitting all of our stuff in despite travelling fairly lightly (no checked bags). The space is designed very inefficiently.
There are some really nice reasons to like Maca Bana but I felt that these negatives outweighed the positives. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Paw Paw is the most private of the villas, with its studio-size twin Ground Fig being close to it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I had stumbled upon Maca Bana on a previous trip to Grenada, where we were given a tour of the grounds, fell in love with it and vowed to come back and stay. So we did! Having just returned from a way too short two night visit to this dreamy property we are still in a swoony high from the experience.
We arrived on the 6AM flight from NYC and were met at the airport by a smiling taxi driver with a sign. Within minutes we were shown to our little private villa: paw paw!

The view from just about every square inch of this charming one bedroom was drop dead gorgeous. We jumped right into the hot tub and absorbed all the stunning scenery of pristine beach, clear blue water, lushly covered hills and the specks of rooftops lining St. george harbor in the distance.

The unit was perfectly outfitted with everything we could need. There were freshly cut flowers in vases, a flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the bed, lots of ice in the freezer, tons of fresh towels, a large wardrobe to hang our clothes, plenty of cushions for all the chairs and loungers. The only thing missing for us was a sun umbrella as there is very little shade on the deck.

I am a professional cook and did not want to think about the kitchen while on vacation but I was very impressed with the quality and range of utensils and cooking equipment supplied and would happily have been able to whip up a gourmet meal or two with comfort and ease. The fridge was stocked with enough food for us to make two breakfasts for ourselves, and I especially appreciated the large bowl of fresh fruit which I used to make fruit infused water to sip on the deck.

The beach is fantastic, lively but not at all crowded. There are plenty of shade trees to sit under. We loved the Aquarium restaurant, very beachy laid-back for lunch and cosily elegant at dinner. The food there was delicious and the service was friendly, gracious and efficient.

We enjoyed the infinity pool tucked into a beautifully landscaped corner of Maca Bana. The view from the pool is to die for and it is the perfect place to cool off after climbing the big hill up from the beach. Speaking of the hill- yes it is ridiculously steep, but blessedly short and quite manageable (we are in our mid 50's and relatively fit) we would find ourselves giggling during the whole climb up as the pitch is so extreme it just seems insurmountable and then behold! you are on top!

We loved our stay in Pawpaw so much that we had to be pried out with a crowbar and we can not stop thinking about a return visit. Two days is not enough. The price per night is almost as steep as the hill but once experienced it is hard to imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We arrived at the Villas shortly after noon, delivered by our private taxi arranged by the resort. We came by boat and were delayed going through customs, but the driver had no problem and waited for us. The resort is very close to the airport and transfers were included. The harbor is not close, but they still included the transfers, which was pleasant.

The resort's owner, Rebecca, met us in her office and took us up to our two bedroom villa.

The layout is very interesting, bedrooms are below and living area on the top, connected by a spiral staircase. The bedrooms are both on suite and the upper living, dining and kitchen also has a powder room. The bedrooms have a/c but not so upstairs. The kitchen is huge and has been recently upgraded with all Meile appliances and new dishes. Very pretty and very nice. The most memorable thing is the upper balcony, with hot tub, and the beautiful northern view of the ocean and the island. The HOT TUB in the evening is a wonderful way to end the day.

After settling in, we went down for lunch at the Aquarium Restaurant on the beach. Sunday is their Bar B Que which was wonderful. We ate at a table by the bar, right next to the beach. Going down to the restaurant, we mentioned the steepness of the slope. Going back up was very interesting. Standing on the hill and putting your arms out straight, you could almost touch the road! Certainly a way to work off that lunch! Our villa was the highest in the resort.

The staff were extremely friendly, and I can not say anything bad about the service. The accommodations were very nice, however, the villa we occupied (Pineapple), would have been terribly unsafe for children. In the US, they never would have gotten an occupancy permit. The railings on the porch had about 1 foot or more between the spindles, where there were railings. They obviously left the far end by the hot tub with out a railing so the view would not be blocked. A small child could have fallen very easily off the deck. Also the spiral staircase was very difficult to navigate, with no hand rail. The hill was difficult, even for fit people.

The close proximity to the airport worried us at first. We were SO close, the lights from the tower shone into our unit. However, there were no night time flights, and the first to leave in the morning was around 9 AM, so there was no problem sleeping at all. Very comfortable beds and furnishings.

We did spend a wonderful 2 days at Maca Bana and loved the resort. We had 2 adult couples in the villa. Not recommended for small children or handicapped people with limited mobility.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have the BIG hike back up from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My 23 year old daughter and I spent 5 days at Maca Bana and have never felt so spoiled. We stayed in the Cherry Villa and took full advantage of all the amenities - daily soaks in the hot tub , relaxed on the veranda that overlooked the turquoise water and cooked breakfast and simple dinners in the state of the art kitchen. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom- modern and sleek.
Maca Bana is on the end of the island by the airport so to get around, you will need a car or taxi. Nickson, the general manager was more than accommodating - he helped us plan the best activities to see in Grenada and made all the arrangements for us. We snorkeled daily with the complimentary equipment - there's plenty to see in the water off the beach- even tried the kayaks.
The beach is picturesque and relatively quiet when we were there in November - minimal vendors approaching - a simple "no thank you" was enough for them to wander on.
There's plenty of shade and sun -whichever you prefer.
I came home truly relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I had a wonderful time at the Macabana. As a frequenter of Grenada I was amazed that I could have such a new and fresh experience. The villa was decorated beautifully and situated with a picturesque view. The food downstairs in the aquarium restaurant was as always top notch. The overall essence of the property is island luxury and comfort. Two things I relish on vacation!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
#2 of 16 in St. George's
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
5.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
#7 of 16 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maca Bana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.