We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but far from perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maca Bana

Save Saved
You added Maca Bana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maca Bana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 hotels in St. George's
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique but far from perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in Paw Paw for 5 nights in March. The high points of the stay were really high - the remarkable view from the room and especially the hot tub, a full kitchen for cooking breakfast (and other meals if you desire), some excellent meals on the island and generally nice beaches. Unfortunately we had some fairly serious issues with our stay at Maca Bana that really detracted from the experience.
A major complaint we had was spotty internet access and water pressure in the room. We use the internet a lot at night during beach vacations but were only rarely able to connect to a wireless network in the room (and frequently we were connecting to networks from other resorts). Water pressure in the shower was also moderately inconsistent (fortunately not as bad as the seldom functioning internet) and hot water took a long time to come in. For the latter two I suspect they are related to the green features of the hotel, but they are a major tradeoff for guests.
Count us as not big fans of the hill. As a not particularly active but relatively young man I had no problem getting up the hills but found it very unpleasant. The exceptionally steep hike down to the beach and back up to the room really made me a lot less excited to get going in the morning, and we ended up driving to other beaches on the island frequently to avoid the climb.
The ocean was quite rough at Maca Bana's beach, much rougher than at the best beach on Grenada, Grand Anse beach. I'm a fairly strong swimmer but I had a tough time with the undertow one day in poor conditions, but my wife (a weaker swimmer) was struggling a little even in calm weather.
While I kinda enjoyed shopping at the grocery store and cooking my own breakfast, we spent a lot of time shopping and cooking that we would have spent at the beach at a more typical hotel.
The Aquarium Restaurant at the bottom of the hill, while not bad, was not one of the better meals we had on the island.
A small hotel with personalized service from Nixon, who was very good, is a nice thing, but Nixon is only one man and when he's not around you're out of luck.
Paw Paw was really small. In pure square footage its quite a bit bigger than your average hotel room but in practice we had trouble fitting all of our stuff in despite travelling fairly lightly (no checked bags). The space is designed very inefficiently.
There are some really nice reasons to like Maca Bana but I felt that these negatives outweighed the positives. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Paw Paw is the most private of the villas, with its studio-size twin Ground Fig being close to it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
73
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I had stumbled upon Maca Bana on a previous trip to Grenada, where we were given a tour of the grounds, fell in love with it and vowed to come back and stay. So we did! Having just returned from a way too short two night visit to this dreamy property we are still in a swoony high from the experience.
We arrived on the 6AM flight from NYC and were met at the airport by a smiling taxi driver with a sign. Within minutes we were shown to our little private villa: paw paw!

The view from just about every square inch of this charming one bedroom was drop dead gorgeous. We jumped right into the hot tub and absorbed all the stunning scenery of pristine beach, clear blue water, lushly covered hills and the specks of rooftops lining St. george harbor in the distance.

The unit was perfectly outfitted with everything we could need. There were freshly cut flowers in vases, a flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the bed, lots of ice in the freezer, tons of fresh towels, a large wardrobe to hang our clothes, plenty of cushions for all the chairs and loungers. The only thing missing for us was a sun umbrella as there is very little shade on the deck.

I am a professional cook and did not want to think about the kitchen while on vacation but I was very impressed with the quality and range of utensils and cooking equipment supplied and would happily have been able to whip up a gourmet meal or two with comfort and ease. The fridge was stocked with enough food for us to make two breakfasts for ourselves, and I especially appreciated the large bowl of fresh fruit which I used to make fruit infused water to sip on the deck.

The beach is fantastic, lively but not at all crowded. There are plenty of shade trees to sit under. We loved the Aquarium restaurant, very beachy laid-back for lunch and cosily elegant at dinner. The food there was delicious and the service was friendly, gracious and efficient.

We enjoyed the infinity pool tucked into a beautifully landscaped corner of Maca Bana. The view from the pool is to die for and it is the perfect place to cool off after climbing the big hill up from the beach. Speaking of the hill- yes it is ridiculously steep, but blessedly short and quite manageable (we are in our mid 50's and relatively fit) we would find ourselves giggling during the whole climb up as the pitch is so extreme it just seems insurmountable and then behold! you are on top!

We loved our stay in Pawpaw so much that we had to be pried out with a crowbar and we can not stop thinking about a return visit. Two days is not enough. The price per night is almost as steep as the hill but once experienced it is hard to imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We arrived at the Villas shortly after noon, delivered by our private taxi arranged by the resort. We came by boat and were delayed going through customs, but the driver had no problem and waited for us. The resort is very close to the airport and transfers were included. The harbor is not close, but they still included the transfers, which was pleasant.

The resort's owner, Rebecca, met us in her office and took us up to our two bedroom villa.

The layout is very interesting, bedrooms are below and living area on the top, connected by a spiral staircase. The bedrooms are both on suite and the upper living, dining and kitchen also has a powder room. The bedrooms have a/c but not so upstairs. The kitchen is huge and has been recently upgraded with all Meile appliances and new dishes. Very pretty and very nice. The most memorable thing is the upper balcony, with hot tub, and the beautiful northern view of the ocean and the island. The HOT TUB in the evening is a wonderful way to end the day.

After settling in, we went down for lunch at the Aquarium Restaurant on the beach. Sunday is their Bar B Que which was wonderful. We ate at a table by the bar, right next to the beach. Going down to the restaurant, we mentioned the steepness of the slope. Going back up was very interesting. Standing on the hill and putting your arms out straight, you could almost touch the road! Certainly a way to work off that lunch! Our villa was the highest in the resort.

The staff were extremely friendly, and I can not say anything bad about the service. The accommodations were very nice, however, the villa we occupied (Pineapple), would have been terribly unsafe for children. In the US, they never would have gotten an occupancy permit. The railings on the porch had about 1 foot or more between the spindles, where there were railings. They obviously left the far end by the hot tub with out a railing so the view would not be blocked. A small child could have fallen very easily off the deck. Also the spiral staircase was very difficult to navigate, with no hand rail. The hill was difficult, even for fit people.

The close proximity to the airport worried us at first. We were SO close, the lights from the tower shone into our unit. However, there were no night time flights, and the first to leave in the morning was around 9 AM, so there was no problem sleeping at all. Very comfortable beds and furnishings.

We did spend a wonderful 2 days at Maca Bana and loved the resort. We had 2 adult couples in the villa. Not recommended for small children or handicapped people with limited mobility.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have the BIG hike back up from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My 23 year old daughter and I spent 5 days at Maca Bana and have never felt so spoiled. We stayed in the Cherry Villa and took full advantage of all the amenities - daily soaks in the hot tub , relaxed on the veranda that overlooked the turquoise water and cooked breakfast and simple dinners in the state of the art kitchen. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom- modern and sleek.
Maca Bana is on the end of the island by the airport so to get around, you will need a car or taxi. Nickson, the general manager was more than accommodating - he helped us plan the best activities to see in Grenada and made all the arrangements for us. We snorkeled daily with the complimentary equipment - there's plenty to see in the water off the beach- even tried the kayaks.
The beach is picturesque and relatively quiet when we were there in November - minimal vendors approaching - a simple "no thank you" was enough for them to wander on.
There's plenty of shade and sun -whichever you prefer.
I came home truly relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I had a wonderful time at the Macabana. As a frequenter of Grenada I was amazed that I could have such a new and fresh experience. The villa was decorated beautifully and situated with a picturesque view. The food downstairs in the aquarium restaurant was as always top notch. The overall essence of the property is island luxury and comfort. Two things I relish on vacation!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Much praise has been posted here about Maca Bana, so much that I can hardly do more than second it. No wonder it flirts consistently with the top Tripadvisor rankings in Grenada.

My wife and I stayed in Mango for eight days in October, 2011. Maca Bana is crazy-convenient to the airport (2 minute drive – you could walk if not for your luggage). There are so few flights that airport noise is not a concern at all. On the other hand, its location near the airport sets it a little distance away from shopping areas, other restaurants, St. Georges, etc, and so you may want to rent a car while there. Taxi service is also readily available.

Their “view with a room” tag line is apt; the wrap-around deck on Mango was our living room for the week, with spectacular views up Magazine Beach to St Georges, and out across the Caribbean. The villa and deck were spacious and private. The deck is equipped with plenty of comfortable patio furniture (& the hot tub, of course), and includes two sheltered areas such that shade can be found any time of the day. The kitchen is large and well-stocked (as advertised). The master bedroom with king-size bed was comfortable and clean with windows along two sides to bring the vista into the room. The bathroom included a small but adequate walk-in shower, double vanity, and adjoining commode area. The second bedroom remained locked during our stay because we were only a party of two. Management service provided by Nickson was superb - attentive, helpful, and good humored. Housekeeping services were daily and thorough.

Aquarium Restaurant was great, and a convenient dining choice to have right on site. We ate two lunches and two dinners there during our stay (see my separate review on Tripadvisor).

Some have commented on the steep walk to & from the beach and the Aquarium restaurant. Access is via a wide paved driveway cut straight down the cliff to allow service vehicle access to Aquarium. It is not a switch-back layout – just straight down. The restaurant/beach is at the bottom; all the villas are at the top. We managed fine (I’m 52 with so-so knees). One trick that we adopted after observing the Aquarium staff doing so one afternoon when their shift ended – walk up the hill in a zig-zag fashion to decrease the angle of ascent. If you’re really concerned, you could actually drive from the top to the bottom – it’s a wide driveway. We never did.

There is good snorkeling right from the beach at the base of the hill, with equipment available for free from Maca Bana.

A couple of other “quirks” worth mentioning, although none were particular a bother…

- The bedroom is air conditioned, but the kitchen is not. We typically left the beautiful double French doors open between the kitchen and the deck, which just brought the outdoor living space inside, along with the occasional sea breeze. The only time it seemed uncomfortably warm was while cooking on the stove.

- The east-facing window treatments in the bedroom are sufficient for privacy, but do not block the morning sunrise, which pours into the room. Some might find that to be a feature and we tend to be early risers anyway. But if you want to sleep in, it might be an annoyance.

- There is no door to separate the bedroom and bathroom (including the toilet area), which may infringe on some peoples’ desired standard for privacy.

All that said, we loved Maca Bana. We wanted a comfortable upscale place to relax and unwind for a week, and Maca Bana fit the bill perfectly. We definitely would return, and likely would not even consider any alternative lodging after our great experience here.

Memorable and recommended.

Room Tip: Mango is a good choice for those seeking privacy with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Greetings from a bright and sunny Isle of Spice.

Many thanks for the taking the time off to share your experience. We trust that those memories are still at the forefront of your taught .

Rest assure that your valuable contributions is appreciated and we will endeavor when possible to revisit you quirks, with a view to implement in time for the next visit with us.

Many thanks once more and all the best until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EG
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you are looking for privacy and beautiful surroundings this is your place. Small, indivually and very stylish, with wonderful spacious accommodation and a wonderful beachfront restaurant. A great place to explore Grenada or even better - as it seems almost a shame to leave your villa - to just totally relax in your own private surroundings.
If you like to paint, the owner, who is an artist in her own right, will take you on a 'field day' .
Do try and stay there and you will be made personally very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacaBana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Greeting from Maca Bana,

We just like to say a big THANK YOU for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and to let you know that we value you and all our customers very much.

Rest assure that your comments are not left unnoticed and look forward to welcoming you to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maca Bana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maca Bana

Address: Magazine Beach | P.O. Box 496, Point Salines, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maca Bana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maca Bana is an intimate boutique hotel comprising 7 artistically designed, solar-powered ‘banas’ with gorgeous ocean views and private massaging hot tubs above our tropical Aquarium Restaurant on Magazine Beach. Laid-back luxury and unrivaled privacy for a sensual & inspiring holiday experience in a warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Maca Bana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Bana Hotel St. George`s
Maca Bana St Georges
Maca Bana Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maca Bana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.