We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ! We stayed an extra week...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jenny's Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jenny's Place to your Saves list
Jenny's Place
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Box 1742, Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 St. George's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect ! We stayed an extra week...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Don't stay here if you need to be surrounded by people, if you need constant attention and the noise and bustle of a large resort. Don't stay here if you want to queue for a place next to the swimming pool and are happy to sit in a row with all the other resort guests chatting on your mobile phone.

Stay here if you love the quiet end of the beach, where few cruise-ship passengers stray, where the staff are low key and end up more like your friends. Stay here if you remember those holidays at the beach when you were a kid and the room was large, cool and airy and you could sit anywhere you liked on the beach, and no one would stop you walking on the grass.

The accommodation is simple and a bit old fashioned, in a comfortable way. Fresh fruit, bread, cheeses, yoghurt, butter and nutmeg jelly, is delivered to your room each evening so you can make your own breakfast the next morning, sitting on your balcony enjoying the tranquility. The restaurant has definitely the best location on Grand Anse Beach, its small, simple and has good food (and great cocktails). The location is perfect - halfway between the town and the 'strip' mall and supermarket, with the bus stop at the top of the driveway so you can go either way without much trouble - although the walk down the beach to the shops is lovely.

We loved Jenny's so much we stayed another week. Can't say much more than that ! I hesitated to write this review because I didn't want to share the secret and risk ruining the charm of the guest-house feel... so please don't change a thing, Jenny !

Room Tip: We tried the second floor as well as ground floor rooms. Upstairs you can see the ocean better, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
68
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stephanie and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jenny's Place. While agreeing that it is a tad tired it is in such a brilliant setting that it is difficult to find fault with anything in a serious manner.
Meg and Eric are two of the kindest and warm-hearted people you are likely to meet anywhere. The staff are all wonderful - friendly, helpful and so very hospitable.
I must make special mention of Rhona and Sade, two of the waitresses at The Edge. They, along with Eric, keep the restaurant running smoothly.
The food was excellent each time we ate there - and what a setting - just feet away from the sea.
Again, a big thank you to all at Jenny's Place - especially for our last dinner there. Huge lobsters hand-delivered by the fisherman ( a friend of Sade's - sorry I can't remember your name, sir - but you're a star) Hand delivered and cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms all have sea views. We stayed in the Orchid Room, with a full kitchen but the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennysplgrn, Owner at Jenny's Place, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Friends:

Jenny's Place wishes to thank you and our many friends and good wishers for the terrific support we have received this year. We have been operating at almost 100% occupancy, which is greatly appreciated. This has made it difficult to undertake our usual Spring and Summer make over, which we have typically done when occupancy was low. However, we have just begun some substantive renovations and Jenny's Place will soon be ready to show its new face to our many returning guests and long-term friends.

It is no accident that we have once again received an Award of Excellence for 2014 from Trip Advisor. We continue to make every effort to ensure this standard is maintained.

We look forward to making your next visit as memorable as the last one.

Thanks and kindest regards.

Jennifer & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Your view of Jenny's will depend on your expectations and experience. With taxes, we paid almost $200 per night which whilst expensive is perhaps not so for the Caribbean during peak season. The location is fantastic, the room was huge and bed comfortable so it seems churlish to complain but there just seems to be something a little lacking. I guess it just feels a little tired around the edges and attention to detail is lacking. One example would be the towels which were thin and threadbare and not terribly clean even when freshly laundered. I don't know if I expected too much at this price point and perhaps it's unfair to make a comparison with a European hotel at this price but whilst we had a very comfortable stay, I can't help feeling that it's not quite what it could be. I would definitely advise the upstairs rooms as they offer far more privacy than the garden rooms which are quite exposed. The small breakfast put in the fridge each night was a nice touch .

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer far more privacy than the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennysplgrn, Owner at Jenny's Place, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello Stuffjam:

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Let me assure you that you did not expect too much. As a seasoned traveler and owner of Jenny's Place we always try to meet the "highest standards" which was obviously not met on this occasion.

Let me assure you and others that the issues you point to are being addressed as a matter of urgency and I confidently assure you and others that what has been considered "excellent" by so many will continue to be justified from now on.

Hoping you will consider returning in the near future.

With thanks and kind regards.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niederwünsch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a room! Very spacious almost appartment like. Personnel/ lady manager was very helpful with any questions we had. The water right out their backyard was chrystal clear. After we bought local mangoes in town we went for a dip in the water and ate our mangoes floating around. Most delicious scentful fruit I ever had.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We returned after 4 years to Jenny's Place. It was absolutely gorgeous! From the first moment we arrived we had the feeling we came home! It is just as beautiful as it was 4 years ago. The suite was real great and offered everything for us - the view from the balcony is outstanding and the restaurant is very nice - good food and an absolutely fantastic newly made terrace to just relax or watch the sundown! We were absolutely lucky to see Jenny, the owner, again and we really did have a great time! This time we are more clever: we will return again soon!Thank you - Susanne and Andreas

Room Tip: Choose any room - each one is beautiful! Downstairs is the view to garden and upstairs to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennysplgrn, Owner at Jenny's Place, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you, J and J, for taking the time to share your experience at Jenny's Place over the Christmas season.

It was great seeing you again and I very much enjoyed dining with you at The Edge.

Looking forward to having you with us again very soon.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at Jenny's Place after 10 pm and were warmly welcomed by Meg, the Manager. After putting our bags in our room, we had a drink with Meg & Eric on the deck located 3 steps from the beach, listening to the waves lapping the shore. A true tropical paradise after leaving freezing Toronto. Our spacious apartment included a bedroom, bathroom and fully appointed kitchen. It was spotless and very comfortable. We chose to use the ceiling fan to cool the room instead of the air conditioning. We also had a safe in the room in which to leave our valuables. Of course there were security guards on the property wishing us a good night as we made our way back to the apartment. The grounds were beautifully kept, and the staff at the hotel were all friendly and always available. The hotel is located on the most gorgeous beach we had ever been on (Grand Anse Beach). The Edge Restaurant prepared delicious meals, and we loved eating there so close to the beach. We would definitely recommend Jenny's Place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennysplgrn, Owner at Jenny's Place, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Susanne & Andreas

It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us again. Glad you felt
as though you had "come home."

I was particularly happy to see you and as you have indicated your intention of returning next year, look forward to some happy times once again.

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend and i arrived in Grenada on Christmas Eve on the one and only American Airlines flight per day from Miami, getting us to Jenny's Place around 10pm. Anywhere else, you might expect everything to be closed up tight at that time of night on Christmas Eve. But knowing we'd be traveling all day and getting in late, Meg and Erik very kindly kept the restaurant--The Edge--open late for us.

We deposited our bags in the lovely Heliconia Suite (from which you can hear the ocean as you lay on the big, comfy bed gazing up at soaring vaulted ceilings), cleaned up a bit, and headed down to the covered deck where Erik was whipping up an amazing, improvised-on-the-spot pasta with peanut-ginger-callaloo sauce (which I fully intend to rip off first chance I get). While dinner was being prepared, we took (literally) a couple steps off the deck into the warm Caribbean sea, washing away the previous 12 hours of travel and pretty much every last care we had in the world. If this is what limin's all about, it's a concept I can fully get behind.

Though most of the island was closed for the holidays, Meg and Erik were always available for excellent food (try the "Grown Up Pizza") and entertaining conversation. Yet they were never the slightest bit intrusive... somehow, one of them just magically appeared anytime we needed something, but otherwise, (with only 4 suites and 2 apartments) Jenny's Place felt like our own private retreat.

Just an aside: While you're in Grenada, be sure to hit up Belmont Estate (an organic cacao farm that grows most of the cacao beans for the Grenada Chocolate Company... there are samples!!!) in the north, on the windward side of the island... Meg can arrange for a driver for you. And by all means, don't miss Grenada's sister island, Carriacou (accessible via Osprey ferry or a 20-minute SVG Airlines flight). It's small-town island life with some of the most idyllic, semi-deserted beaches you'll ever have the pleasure to wake up on (I'm lookin' at you, Paradise Beach). If you want romantic, old-school Caribbean, you want Carriacou.

Back to the topic at hand: Jenny's Place was the perfect start to the first REAL vacation we've had in years. Thanks again for everything, Meg and Erik... hopefully we'll see you next year!

Room Tip: We loved the Heliconia suite: upper level, facing the sea, with a spacious, private balcony (and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny's Place

Address: Box 1742, Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenny's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Apartments and suites, just steps from Grand Anse beach. The best beach on the island. Jenny's Place was described as one of the top ten places to stay in the Eastern Caribbean (Guardian Travel, February, 2012). Other facilities include: restaurant and bar, daily maintenance and breakfast. All other meals can be purchased from onsite restaurant.Jenny's Place is perfect for couples of all ages, with or without children. Give us a call to discuss any special requests you may have. Owner and operated by Jennifer Hosten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Jenny's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenny`s Place Hotel St. George`s
Jenny's Place Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenny's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.