We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one night only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monmot Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monmot Hotel to your Saves list
Monmot Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monmot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saman Drive | L'Ance Aux Epines, St. George's 1381, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok for one night only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at the Monmot because it was close to the airport and had an early morning flight. While the lobby and pool area was quite lovely, the room had no windows and felt like a box. I have no way of knowing if other rooms are better. The staff was friendly and helpful. My primary objection was a windowless room.

My recommendation is just for one night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Arrived with friend for a one week stay at Monmot during the xmas holiday. The staff was very accomodating, but there was no space in the rooms for our luggage. We mostly had to live out of our suitcases. The kitchen didn't have the utensils needed to cook a full meal. No entertainment at night. The pool area was very clean. The only real problem was that the room was very dark. It's off the beaten path, so you have to call a car service to get into St. Geroges or the Grand Anx Breach, which becane very costly.

  • Liked — The area
  • Disliked — The rooms are very dark and no closet space
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

2nd May 2008
Grenada Lance aux Epines

We have just returned from a magical 2 weeks staying at the Monmot Hotel in Grenada.
We did not like the first room that we were shown to so the staff offered us one of there tower rooms. When booking we did not get a choice of rooms, we were only offered the basic room. We were charged a mere £8 a day for the upgrade. The only complaint that I have about the room was that there was not much storage space for our clothes, other than that the room was very good. The air conditioning was welcome, the TV had loads of channels and we had a fully fitted kitchenette that was very useful.
The staff were amazingly polite and friendly. The hotel restaurant was very good. We were even allowed to stay in the room until our taxi arrived to take us to the airport.
Grenada is a beaautiful island. Although the hotel was very good I think that if we went back we would probably stay at Grand Anse. Part of our holiday is eating out and although there are a few restaurants near the hotel there is a much wider selection at Grand Anse within walking distance.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montjoi, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Arrived at 07:00 as arranged, the man behind the desk offered us only one room when we'd booked two. He did not seem to speak English. After thinking we were not going to get a room at all and trying to figure out where else we would go he showed us one room reserved for Maclaine. We unpacked, then he turned up saying the lady was here. She found our reservation and we were shown to our two rooms.
Lunch menu showed sandwiches which I ordered but apparently the bread had not been made yet. Waited anyway.
About 200 m down the road to a small beach with no surf and lots of boats anchored around.
My expectations were greater than reality with this hotel, could do with some new bedding, looked bad enough that I checked for bed bugs but did not find any. No shampoo so bring your own. I read that the TV had many channels but I could only get one, perhaps because I could not locate the remote. Room was air conditioned, that worked very well. Internet access was free, they had a computer or you could use your own with free wireless. Expensive for what you get.

  • Disliked — ignorance of the front desk staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

Reserving only a few days ahead of time, we spent 4 nights at the Monmot in the heart of the lovely L'Anse Aux Epines residential area. All of the rooms face the small but well-maintained pool and covered dining area. The suite we were in was compact and lacked closet space. Only a small, skinny closet cabinet was provided, and my wife's dresses dragged on the floor. Alot of space is wasted on a kitchenette with many cabinets for just a few pots and pans and a few pieces of silverware. I would trade that 15-foot stretch of wall space for clothes drawers, a standard closet and a microwave. We had little choice but to keep most of our clothes in our suitcases -- and we travel light, with carry-on baggage only.

The cable TV selection was excellent, with over 40 stations (including FOX-TV, where we were were able to enjoy the Super Bowl) such as ESPN2 and The Weather Channel along with many other cable staples.

The hotel pamphlet advertises "daily activities and social programme" but during our stay, the only thing we heard at the pool was religious programming originating from both TV and radio (at the bar, ironically). It was generally quiet and peaceful in general, however.

Though it's not directly on the bay, it's within a safe 5-minute walk to a small pubic beach. If you stroll another couple of minutes you can reach the Prickly Bay Marina, which offers a nice view of the bay as well as fresh-made pizza -- and offering the chance to rub elbows with sailors at the bar. There's also a small (daytime-only) convenience store at the marina for limited groceries and rum, so you need not have to constantly travel over to Grande Anse for supplies. There are a few other restaurants a short walk in the other direction of the hotel, including a good and inexpensive Oriental restaurant with outdoor seating, as well as the more upscale Red Crab Restaurant just beyond it. Or, simply walk a step or two from your room and eat at the hotel restaurant -- they even offer room service!

The staff worked very hard to please us -- Marissa provided headphones for the free internet in the lobby so I was able to track a tornado outbreak back in Memphis LIVE, and the manager was able to order a lobster for my wife for dinner one evening when the regular supplier was unable to help out. David is an exceptional waiter who provided us with a very memorable experience. Time and time again, the staff really bent over backward for us.

Summarizing, it was personal and outstanding service along with a number of other amenities which outshined any shortcomings we had with closet space. The Monmot is an excellent choice, particularly for a few days' stay.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Lack of space
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

A fantastic small hotel which scores highly on all the key points - competitive prices, facilities, cleanliness etc.. The staff and owner are all extremely friendly and the short stay we had earlier this year certainly helped ease the conclusion of a sailing holiday around the Windward Isles.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This was a very good choice for us! It only has 20 rooms, which surround a delightful swimming pool. It was immaculately clean, and the air conditioning was exceptionally quiet in our rooms. We had a family suite, which meant that our 2 teenage girls had their own spacious bedroom with loads of storage space and wardrobes. Our room included a kitchen area, a front veranda and a small back garden. There is an open air restaurant with a wonderful, welcome breeze. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were very happy here. L’Anse Aux Epines is a lovely location, with some amazing private villas dotted about. The beach is a short walk from the hotel and we enjoyed Prickly Bay very much. There is some great snorkelling, and the swimming is so safe. We were here on a room only basis, but had breakfast most mornings, which was very pleasant. We preferred to eat out of an evening, but did enjoy an excellent meal in, at Gath’s Restaurant, one evening. A short walk from the hotel are 2 excellent restaurants, one of which we could highly recommend The Red Crab. This hotel is small and personable and would be a fab place to celebrate a special occasion with friends or family. We would strongly recommend people to hire a car or use the excellent taxi services available on the island.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — A bit dark
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monmot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmot Hotel

Address: Saman Drive | L'Ance Aux Epines, St. George's 1381, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monmot Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Monmot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmot Hotel St Georges
Monmot Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monmot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.