We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, functional units and sunset ocean views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Cottage Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribbean Cottage Club
P.O. Box 1312 | Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$60 (USD)
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“great location, functional units and sunset ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last January. Our first impression was that the location is much more central and busy than we expected. This turned out to be a good thing as we were dependant on public transport while in St George. The hotel is about half way between St George and Grande Anse and a fairly easy hike to each (and a very quick drive!). We were only here a few nights but many of the other guests were repeat/long term visitors and I can totally understand why. The cottage itself had everything we needed, everything was fairly basic but very functional. The porch was excellent, you can open double doors from your living room/kitchen to the porch so that you get that indoor-outdoor feeling that can best be enjoyed in the tropics. Best of all it faces west so you get a lovely sunset view every evening--have your own happy hour at the cottage watching the boats go by and sky changing from blues to pinks and purples to peach and orange. This place is excellent value, especially for those who enjoy doing their own cooking and activities. There is also a small beach that is just a few minutes walk from the cottages, its called Mt Pandy beach. You get a nice view of St George's harbour from there--its very much a local beach, you can swim and even fish, we thought it was a great little hidden beach, a must visit when you're staying so close!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hearne, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Karina made it all very easy for us. We had 7 adults and a baby. We rented 3 cottages and were only there 2 nights. The night we arrived in a rain storm, Karina had a cab awaiting us at the airport. He helped us load and unload. Karina showed us to our 3 cottages. The rooms were clean and well stocked with soap, toilet paper, linens, towels, kitchen items and fans that really circulated the air. We had not brought bottled water and Karina had a pitcher full of good drinking water brought to each cottage. Karina told us where to go for breakfast, a bakery near the marina. That was great and we found out our grandson will soon be a "Big Brother." So we will always remember where we were when we got that great news! Karina allowed us to stay a bit late so that Big Brother could get his nap in before we boarded our rented catamaran boat to begin our 7 day sailing trip. When we returned after sailing, we spent another night at the cottages. Although my husband and I stayed in a different cottage than the 1st night, it too was just as nice and again great service. Karina arranged a bus to take us to the airport for 6 a.m. and he was right on time. We didn't get to stay long either time. It was short, sweet and we were so well taken care of!!! The beds were comfortable, the mosquito nets were a novelty for me, but worked great. Our rooms were very clean and Karina was exceptionally helpful in our transportation and in giving us directions to any where we needed to go and the best way to get there. We felt safe, comfortable and wished we had more time to explore. The first cabin inside the gate (one level building) had the most beautiful sunset view, AWESOME and made exceptional pictures. It is not the HILTON, but we were treated better than if we had been there!!! And it is also much easier on the pocketbook! Great Place To Be!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the Caribbean cottages for 6 nights. The place was recommended by someone we stayed with in Barbados. We had a kitchen, bedroom and shower room. As the building was "on stilts" we had a wonderful view of the sea. The site is situated up a small hill just off the main road. The garden contains mango and coconut trees. The owner comes round twice a day to see that everything is alright. She arranged for the young man who works there to collect us from the airport. When we left she arranged a taxi to return us to the airport. A cleaning lady comes 6 mornings a week and there is a friendly security guard called Ishon there all the time. A large container of drinking water was made available on our arrival.
The mini buses go along the main road all the time and will stop anywhere en route. You can either walk into St. Georges or take the bus. Some beaches are within walking distance but there are many others further afield. The owner, Karina, gives excellent local advice.
The local people were all very friendly and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found this to be a comfortable and conveniently located place to stay. We enjoyed the water view from our deck and took good advantage of the fully equipped kitchen. I have only two modest complaints. First, the only kitchen knife was duller than a butterknife. I used the Swiss Army knife we had instead. Second, and more serious was the lack of a coffee maker. This is the reaso for 4 stars. You can't have fully equipped kitchen if you don't provide a coffee maker.

A short walk down to the main road provides access to a steady stream of buses to Grand Anse or St. georges. 2.5 EC per ride. I don't think we ever waited more than a few minutes for one. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kevin, who was arranged to pick us up at the ferry on our arrival (plenty of taxis were available if you don't make arrangements) and took us to the airport; Simona was managing while the owner was away checked in every day and gave us a lift to the grocery when we first arrived; and Ishon was ready to take care of anything we needed.

The main room had a couch, eating table with 2 chairs with plenty of room to maneuver. There was a TV that we never turned on. The bed was comfortable with a good mozzie net and had adequate reading lights. Bathroom was fine with a shower with decent pressure.

Dogs would bark at times, but I can't say they ever woke me up. It was also nice to have fans in the main room and bedroom.

I'd stay here in a heartbeat. I also rcommend you have dinner at Patricks. It's a local joint within walking distance across from the marina. The'll bring you 15 small plates of local foods. Some were only okay, but most were really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked after reading these reviews. Cottage lived up to expectations. We stayed for 2 weeks in a cottage with separate bedroom, bathroom with hot shower, roomy lounge/kitchen and large balcony with views over the garden to the sea. Cottage was airy, mesh on windows, & mosquito net. No need for air-con. Fans were provided but we never needed to use them.

Karina, the owner, arranged taxis to and from the airport, and very reasonably priced car hire for us. She is friendly and helpful.

The cottages are situated between Grand Anse (beach) and St Georges. A short walk down a steep lane takes you to the main road where buses pass VERY frequently. Fare is 2.5EC. You can walk to the beach, to the north end of Grand Anse takes 15 to 20 minutes, but we preferred to take the bus, the beach by Umbrellas was our favorite spot. We enjoyed going in to St Georges and went in most days. The bus goes to the bus station where you can take buses all over the island. You really get the flavour of Grenada doing this.

We had a car for a few days to get to the places the bus couldn't reach, so we saw most of the island.

The cottages are not in the tourist/hotel area, but are surrounded by local houses complete with chickens, goats, dogs & cats. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance, and Foodland supermarket is 10/15 mins walk away. We liked the restaurant at Port Louis Marina (Victory Bar), also the bakery just inside the marina was good for breakfast croissants, rolls, pies etc.

This was our first visit to Grenada and we loved it. Only downside are the mosquitos. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at Caribbean Cottage Club has been wonderful. A comfortable accommodation with a feeling of home away from home.
To Karina, Devon, Ishon and Miss Judy:
The caring and friendly hospitality offered made our vacation even more special, thank you.
We hope to be back again.
Kindest,
Claudia and Michael

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The owner, Karina, sent a taxi driver to pick me up at the airport because I had a 10:20pm arrival time. It's always great to see someone holding your name on a clipboard after a long flight. The taxi ride cost 15 USD. I enjoyed sleeping under the mosquito net. Looking up in the morning reminded me of the norther lights. I only killed a four mosquitoes, so they were not a problem, and the building had screens. Everything was clean, I did not cook any food, but there was a kitchen. I'm looking forward to staying at Caribbean Cottage Club again. I love the fact that for about 1 USD, you can walk 100 yards and pick up a van/bus packed with locals and go just about anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Cottage Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Cottage Club

Also Known As:
Caribbean Cottage Club Hotel St. George`s
Caribbean Cottage Club Hotel
Caribbean Cottage Club Grenada/Saint George Parish
Address: P.O. Box 1312 | Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Cottage Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caribbean Cottage Club to your Saves list