We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good family run resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of True Blue Bay Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added True Blue Bay Boutique Resort to your Saves list
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Mill Road | True Blue, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good family run resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Having visited Grenada a number of times staying at the wonderful La Source, since its closure we had to find alternative accommodation and after reviewing Grenada's other hotels decided on a 2 centre stay, first week on Grand Anse beach and the second at True Blue Bay as it was a smaller family concern and different location whilst still close to the airport and had onsite diving. We booked a Tower Suite at True Blue, but didn't venture up to the Tower more than a couple of times as the spiral staircase was difficult to negotiate with your hands full and the veranda had plenty of seating and good views. The Tower Room was clean and very spacious and kitchen very well equipped, although as we were all inclusive, we only really made use of the fridge and kettle. The bathroom was also very large, although we had difficulty figuring out how to use the space age shower. Also the toiletries were fixed outside the shower cubicle making it difficult to access them whilst showering.

The bar staff make excellent rum punch, so good we didn't get to try any other cocktails. Food in Dodgy Dock was very good and the setting is great overlooking the visiting yachts. Only issue we had is that on inclusive you have to pay full price for steak or lobster, which we objected to, most all inclusive hotels charge a supplement for these items, which is acceptable. We found Christmas Day/Boxing Day buffets probably the most disappointing during our stay. Breakfast definitely needs a lot more fruit, very often empty and when refilled little choice - Caribbean has so much wonderful fresh tropical fruit and we like to see plenty of it on the breakfast buffet.

Both pool areas were quiet during our stay, but we much preferred the "beach" pool overlooking the boats. We did miss the real beach and used the shuttle to Grand Anse a couple of times, but felt the timings of 11.00/3.30 didn't really make best use of a whole day, would have preferred 9.00/12.30 or 1.30/5.00 to allow us to do other things for half day, but that's purely personal preference.

Cooking class on Thursdays is very amusing entertainment. Also Chocolate class was very interesting and informative. My husband enjoyed the yoga, which was very well attended and we both had a relaxing massage on our last day. My husband dived with Aquanauts a couple of times and found them very professional.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, although on a couple of occasions there seemed to be some mis-communication or lack of knowledge. When asked where to change beach towels we were advised they were changed at evening turndown service, but although we left used towels outside door every night they were still there next morning.

All in all a good stay and we would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    107
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
157
22
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The property is lovely, but the real asset of this great hotel is the staff! I have never experienced such great hospitality--from check-in, to booking trips, to the receptionist bringing us rum drinks poolside (when we checked in a bit stressed out from traveling and felt the need to head straight to the pool). I just wish we had stayed a few more days here instead of just the overnights at the beginning and end of our sailboat charter. The Saturday night BBQ and live music at the Dodgy Dock was wonderful and made for a really memorable night. Very convenient to the airport. They even have a "micro"-microbrewery on the property where we enjoyed free beer tastings. I can't wait to come back to True Blue! I would recommend this place to any of my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice room and very friendly staff. We stayed here before and after a sail charter. Nice and quiet. We will stay here again! The location is close to the airport and our charter company was at the base of the hill. If only the charter had gone as well as the hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

True Blue Bay is a well maintained attractive resort. The grounds have 2 swimming pools which are both small and peaceful. We paid extra for a tower room which gave us a much bigger room and kitchen facilities, for me this was worth it as the standard rooms looked quite small. The dodgy dock restaurant served great food for both lunch and dinner (breakfast was disappointing and very limited in choice), each night offered a different theme and I had some fantastic meals, the thai evening was by far the best for me ! We took an all inclusive deal which I didn't find to be the best value and quite limiting. The team should think about how they can extend the bar service to the swimming pool area, also in the week we were there the mini bar in our room wasn't restocked (on arrival it had 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and 2 waters) The hotel is about 1.5 miles from Grand Anse beach which is walkable or you can easily flag down one on the local buses / taxi's. Grenada itself is beautiful, the beaches are amazing and the people all very friendly. We took a day tour with Kennedy which can be organised through the hotel, he made a very memorable day and shared so much information about the island. St Georges is worth a trip too, good atmosphere at the market and plenty of options for a cold beer ! All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Tower Room, ask for Room 37 as it has the best view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights late November on our way home from Carriacou. It was great! The resort is very well maintained, staff were very attentive, rooms were exceptionally clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our first time to Grenada and we chose True Blue because of the facilities, and it was so close to the quiet airport.

The open reception and grounds are well maintained, and the reception staff were always polite and helpful - Hire car, luggage collection etc..

Our room was on the waterfront, with a nice view of the boats and bay. We both liked the room, although the ground floor A/C unit probably needs cleaning, and why is the tv in the bedroom??? The room was so hot on our first day - directly facing the sun, which is always good. The bed was comfortable, and not too much external noise.
Rooms are cleaned each day, early if you go diving, and there are a few mosquitos around.

The two pools are nice, but the larger pool looks directly onto a dull, grey building.
The food in Dodgy Dock also nice, but the service was too slow. It doesn't take 10 mins for us to read a one page menu... Prices were reasonable, but there are several grocery stores on the way to Grand Anse beach (5 min drive), and to St George's (15 mins).

The gym was very small and uncomfortably hot, with an open yoga area above it, and we didn't make use use of all the water sports. The local dive centre, on-site (Aquanauts) are very good.

We rated this resort as good, with ideas for the following tweaks - maybe some mosquito shades over the patio doors to allow fresh air in, tv definitely downstairs, staff to park away from reception, double gym area, better use of the bay pedlos? - the jetty is very slippery when trying to get into a kayak, and remove the damned wooden boards from the showers - almost flew through the shower on day three!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueBlueBayResort, Manager at True Blue Bay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and suggestions on ways in which we can improve our services.

As a result of your comments, we are having all the A/C units in the Waterfront Suites checked to ensure that they are cooling properly and that they be serviced if necessary. Your comment regarding the TV in the bedroom rather than the living area has also been noted.

We are glad you enjoyed the pools. The infinity pool was actually there before the dull, grey building. Unfortunately, the building is not on our property so sadly there is nothing we can do to prevent it from spoiling the view.

Your comments about slow service in the restaurant are appreciated and have been passed on to our Restaurant Manager so that she can rectify them.

The Gym has a powerful A/C unit inside, which was probably off while you were there or recently turned on. The remote to the A/C is accessible to guests but, in future, we will make sure the A/C is on whenever the Gym is open.

Again, thank you for all of your comments. We are in the process of addressing those we didn’t mention.

We hope you will stay with us again soon to see the changes we have made as a result of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just returned from a 10-day trip to Grenada. True Blue Bay Resort is a well run operation. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room we had (Indigo) was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. There was also a kitchenette and small fridge if you want to go that route, but the food in the Dodgy Dock restaurant was excellent. If you can fit it in, attend cooking class with Esther and Omega - they are hilarious! Our room was located steps from Aquanaut Divers which is also well run. There is a mini brewery at the resort-West Indies Beer Co. which makes a great ale - Windward Ale, available only at the resort. The staff arranged tours for us, using a local taxi service - Bernard Jerome. He is a wealth of knowledge and took us to some wonderful sites on the Island. He also served as our guide to the 7 Sisters Waterfall-a must visit. Bernard also recommended some excellent restaurants, chief among them was BB's Crabback which serves Grenadian dishes and is a must visit for visitors. Look for our autograph above the bar. If you are a diver looking for a good experience, a traveler who wants to visit all the natural wonders Grenada has to offer, or just someone who wants to kick back, we highly recommend the True Blue Bay Resort.

Bud & Sue Oliveira

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to True Blue Bay Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Blue Bay Boutique Resort

Address: Old Mill Road | True Blue, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George's
#5 Family Hotel in St. George's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#6 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — True Blue Bay Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Blue Bay Resort, Grenada Friendly and homelike this colorful and delightful Boutique Resort reflects the life style of the beautiful island of Grenada and its community. Set among tropical gardens sloping down to the sparkling blue waters of the bay, True Blue offers a charming variety of perfectly appointed rooms suiting every budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your True Blue Bay Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Blue Bay Boutique Hotel St. George`s
True Blue Bay Hotel Marina
True Blue Bay St Georges
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Blue Bay Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.