We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace to Grenadian hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropicana Inn
Save Saved
You added Tropicana Inn to your Saves list
Lagoon Road, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 St. George's B&B and Inns
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A disgrace to Grenadian hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What is there to like about this dump? We stayed one night here just to be close to the ferry for our departure the next morning - it goes down as being the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The bedlinen and towels were not clean, the aircon was so noisy we could not sleep with it on and got so hot we could not sleep with it off, the tv could not be tuned in and gave us electric shocks, no wi-fi connnection to be had anywhere in the hotel. Dark, dingy and disgusting. Have written to the owner and he declines to respond. Enough said.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
4
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Tropicana Inn is so bad, I'm not going to waste much time reviewing it. I'll get straight to the point: The room was filthy, dirty bed lining, dirty toilet and shower, dirty towels, dirty walls, dirty tiles and blood stained curtains. The bed sheets were so dirty I had to ask for fresh ones which still looked dirty & dingy. The light in the toilet/shower didn't work.
The only good thing I have to say is that the A/C worked, thank God. Oh! there is a restaurant but rather expensive. I cannot comment on the food because I didn't eat there.
The inn is located on the main street with lots of traffic passing by all day/night. I couldn't sleep due to passing traffic and motorist blowing car horns all night.
As for the room rates they charged me EC$200.00 for such poor conditions, for 1 night.
This place needs LOTS of refurbishing.
I only stayed for one night and that was FAR too long, never again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The staff are wonderful, breakfast is great, rates are low, location near to St. Georges ideal. But the rooms are run down and have obviously not been refurbished in years. I had to change rooms 3 times before I got one that was relatively acceptable. It is such a shame. This place used to be a hive of activity and a really popular place. Now it is a sad dump. And it is only due to the hospitality of staff that the owner gets any business at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very close to St. George's and just by the bus stop; in fact it's just about the only hotel close to St. George's as Lazy Lagoon isn't operating. After the badly run Lexus, this place was clean, easy and friendly. Never got the Wifi to work but found another connection from somewhere. I should have asked for first floor rooms as the second floor look over ugly roofs towards the Lagoon. The AC was necessary as the room got very hot in the day and it was noisy but we sort of fixed it ourselves. The bathroom and room were spotless, fresh towels daily and lots of hot water.

I'm not into beach resorts and wanted to explore the city, so it was ideal for the both of us.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have better view over Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

The place was horrible.

The AC has two options high or off. If it's off the room is a furnace, if it's on, the air blows straight on you and you leave with a cold.
The wifi only works at the bar
The take out food had no taste, too salty
The bathroom rail (in the shower) broke
The soap dish was missing screws
The water wet up everything
There are dead roaches on the floor
No safe was given
Iron didn't work
Room drawer was broken
Clock was broken

The cable worked
The view is okay

I only stayed for one night. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Enjoyed staying here after the Hotel Flamboyant, because it's closer to the city of St George's, and the room rates were much less. Tropicana's room was comfortable and simple, clean and quite OK for what I wanted- didn't plan to spend much time in it. They claimed free internet, but really that means there are some places where you could sit with your laptop and sneak a connection from a neighboring wi-fi. I liked the staff, they were helpful and genuine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

I came in from the airport, looking for a hotel for one night within walking distance of the yacht club, since I was joining friends on a boat the next day; this worked perfectly.

It's on the main road, right across from the Lagoon harbour (NOT the ferry dock), but still relatively quiet (at least in the off-season). There was no bar noise, no noise from other rooms, and only some road noise (and I'm picky). A little timeworn and bare-bones (a small room, one channel of TV, and no remote), but generally well kept, with functional air-conditioning, and safe for a woman travelling alone. By Caribbean standards, clean and relatively inexpensive at $70 US/night; I would say this is a budget price for this area. I looked at another place for $40 that was below my standards for cleanliness and safety.

The restaurant downstairs is reasonably priced by Caribbean standards (breakfast about $7, dinner about $15) and offers breakfast starting at 7 a.m., with some good local dishes. There's a big supermarket within a few minutes' walk, good for sailors provisioning for a trip. You can also walk into the main part of St. George's in about 10-15 minutes.

This is not on the beach or very close to the beach. It's simply good for sailors who want convenience and those looking for a short-term lower-priced hotel. For a hotel after a sailing trip, I'd probably go to Grande Anse instead.

  • Liked — Convenient to yacht club and supermarket
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Lagoon Road, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.