We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, value and location in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, value and location in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just got back from a week in Grenada where I stayed at the Gem. The staff was more than accomodating, letting us choose between 2 rooms upon our arrival. The rooms all have full kitchens and with a wonderful grocery store witin walking distance, this came in handy. It is located on a wonderful beach and you have services connected to it's sister hotel the Kalingo. You also can walk 5 minutes to Grand Anse Beach. We would mention a tour that we would like to do and the staff would have us booked within a minute. We went to the 7 sisters waterfalls which was amazing in it's beauty and a snorkling trip to the underwater statues of Moliniere. Again a wonderful experience. We fully intend to return to the Grenada and would only consider the Gem for our stay.

Room Tip: We actually chose a garden view apartment on the top floor. Our terrace was private with a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After examining several holiday resorts online, we (3 travel friends) decided on Gem Holiday Beach Resort. They have an impressive presentation of themselves online; and we booked ourselves a room for 3 adults and submitted the credit card details. An email confirmed that the down-payment had been taken from the card and the balance was due on our check-in. We selected the option to be picked up by taxi.

On arrival at the airport we were met by the taxi driver whose first words to us after 'Hello' was "I am not taking you to Gem; you are booked at the Grand View." First off, this was strange. The taxi driver was 'acting' so-to-speak as the Spokesman for the Hotel, because he was insistent on taking us to Grand View instead of to Gem for them to explain to us the problem. He said he doesn't work for the Hotel, he is an 'independent' driver who gets hired by them.

He took us to Gem where we went into the lobby. They do not have a photo of their lobby and this is understandable. It looks like a cheap motel lobby and would not match their online photos in the slightest way.

The one clerk at the counter said that the credit card transaction had been rejected on their side and presented us with an almost-blank shorter-than-usual yellow slip that just read "Unauthorised". There was no other information on the slip that indicated it was the credit card that was used to process the transaction. When asked why didn't they call the number entered when we booked, the clerk quickly said "We did, we didn't get through, and we sent you an email last night." On checking through the email on the phone, there was no such email.

They insisted on putting us in Grand View which is up a steep incline on the hill above. We refused to go and said that we wanted a comparable accommodation exactly like what they presented to us on the website. After many phone calls, the clerk asked the taxi driver to take us to Jenny's Place.

We went there and not only was Jenny's Place not comparable to Gem's website image, there is hardly any shore at that location. It is very much on the northern tip of Grand Anse beach; next to it is another accommodation with "Palace" in the title. The sea comes almost right up to the wall of the property.

We left there and the taxi driver drove us to one or two other places along the way, including one extremely high-end hotel which was no doubt around the $$$$ rating. He offered to take us to the Flambouyant and on the way there, we noticed a place and went in to enquire. After we decided to stay there, the taxi driver said that our fee was US$60. The real cost is between US$16 and US$20 to be picked up at the airport; he said that he was driving us around so we have to pay the hourly rate.

We told him that we would pay him the usual rate, gave him US$20 and advised him that Gem owed him the rest as it was never our intention to be driven around looking for places to stay. He was angry.

A couple hours later, one of us could not find her suitcase anywhere. We went to the reception area and called Gem and got the taxi driver's number. He said that perhaps the suitcase was 'inadvertently' left at the airport and he volunteered to check for us; the reply was to go ahead and check the airport and he will get his extra US$40. Lo and behold the suitcase was 'at' the airport; US$40 later we had our property back. The taxi driver told 2 of us "You have to understand, this whole arrangement is your package that you have to see about." Cryptic, but it wasn't difficult to know what he really meant.

Two more things:
While in the departure lounge waiting to board the flight to Grenada, one of us saw a fellow workmate with a friend and went up to say hello. I turned out that she and her friend were staying at Gem; so we expected to see each other. Monday evening we ran into them at Spiceland Mall, in the food fair area and after going up to say 'hello', her first words were "Where are you staying???" When we told her we were not at the Gem, she asked "And is this because they were booked and you had to go elsewhere??" to which the reply was "That's what they said." She said to us "I'm staying at Grand View."

It was pure coincidence that someone I'm friendly with where I live, has a sister living in Grenada. On relating to her what happened, she also coincidentally knew one of the family members who own Gem and mentioned our experience to the person. The person's reply? "Why didn't they put them at Kalinago?! Kalinago has room!!"

Kalinago is Gem's SISTER resort on the very beach.

Any reader can now sum up what was taking place at Gem's.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My Family And I Would Go Back Again......,The Staff Was Very Friendly ,The First Day We Got there we were on that beach We Had fun on the beach......I Do Not think We ever Saw A sand So White,Very peacfull and relaxing place to be.Trust Me If You want a place to relax and have a peace of mind Go There You Will like it.

Room Tip: We Had A Two Bedroom Apartment .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a few weeks self-catering here at Gem Beach Resort. I was really happy as the apartment was very comfortable with an air conditioned bedroom. Apart from a couple of snags (which were quickly dealt with), I could not fault my experience. The apartments are very close to the most stunning beach. The beach bar is literally on the beach, and sitting there enjoying a rum punch is hard to beat.
We did not have a car, but enjoyed the hilly (and hot) walk over to the next bay where there was an excellent supermarket. We would also enjoy using the local buses to get to St George's to pick up the wonderful local fruits and vegetables at the market.
The thing that made Gem stand out for me was the staff. They could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They are a credit to the owners.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from spending 8 days at this beautiful hotel. We had an ocean view and it was beautiful just watching the sunset and sunrise. One of the best beaches, calm, quite relaxing. On a Wednesday and Friday you can attend the club with no charge. Julia and her staff were very courteous, helpful ( willing to call taxi, informing you about the best places to eat etc) and made you feel at home. Rooms were always clean, with fresh linen everyday. We had security 24/7, especially at night, so I felt quite safe. I was a little worried but after seeing the sercurity I felt comfortable. There is also a safe where you can leave your jewellery, passort etc. Would of like to stayed longer, but duty calls. Keep up the good work Julia and your hard working staff. Room #9

Room Tip: Room #9 Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are a woman traveling on your own, Please do not stay at this hotel or the the other hotel owned by the same family. Called Kalinago.

It is not safe and the people who run it does not care enought to deal with your situation if any thing happens to you.

I was robed of gold jewelry and in-spite of reporting it to the owner and the police nothing has been done.

I have been reluctant to write a negative review about this hotel as am a patriotic Grenadian and wish to support business run in my home land. This is not sour grapes but that beautiful beach that the hotel is next to, is a public beach where they cannot stop who come there. The hotel also runs a disco on Wednesday and Saturday, that attracts a lot of unsavory people who make it their job to pray on single women. I have lost jewelry worth £200.00, For a moment it was not put in the safe, my door was locked, The sliding door, is left open by someone to allow entry, so that when you return to the room, it looks as if no one has entered. You may remember that some months ago a single woman had to fight off an attacker who entered her room with a machete.

Gem ? Not if you are a female traveling on your own..... Trust me there are other GEM on our beautiful Grenada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just back from a week at Gem Beach-wonderful location how a Carribean holiday should be. As all the reviews say-one of the best beaches on the island. The Appartment is just back from the beach-sea view (over building in front) -first or second floor. 'No frills'-and excellent in this category. Air conditioned bedrooms-essential in the Carribean for comfort from heat and mosquitos (get some 'off'' repellent it works!). The beach is ideal for those who want a quiet beach holiday- we did. Gem Beach Resort is run by Julia and her family excellently-they will deal with every request promptly-book taxis which are cheap and necessary to get around the island. If you can go to Aquarium for the famous Sunday Barbeque-book in advance. Gem resort includes apartments 1 or 2 bed self catering or hotel (more touristy-newly built with swimming pool didn't look at rooms but looks very nice from the beach. Restaurants in the resort for meals from breakfast to evening meals. Walk to next beach (Gran Anse) 5-10 minutes (hill) has many more places to eat-get a burger at ''Umbrellas' won't dissapoint. See the Underwater Sculpture Park (42ECD/pp with Dive Grenada (on Gran Anse Beach)-excellent service). If you need a tour guide see Cat Eye Taxi & Tours-famous on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.