We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Gem Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from spending 8 days at this beautiful hotel. We had an ocean view and it was beautiful just watching the sunset and sunrise. One of the best beaches, calm, quite relaxing. On a Wednesday and Friday you can attend the club with no charge. Julia and her staff were very courteous, helpful ( willing to call taxi, informing you about the best places to eat etc) and made you feel at home. Rooms were always clean, with fresh linen everyday. We had security 24/7, especially at night, so I felt quite safe. I was a little worried but after seeing the sercurity I felt comfortable. There is also a safe where you can leave your jewellery, passort etc. Would of like to stayed longer, but duty calls. Keep up the good work Julia and your hard working staff. Room #9

Room Tip: Room #9 Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
16
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are a woman traveling on your own, Please do not stay at this hotel or the the other hotel owned by the same family. Called Kalinago.

It is not safe and the people who run it does not care enought to deal with your situation if any thing happens to you.

I was robed of gold jewelry and in-spite of reporting it to the owner and the police nothing has been done.

I have been reluctant to write a negative review about this hotel as am a patriotic Grenadian and wish to support business run in my home land. This is not sour grapes but that beautiful beach that the hotel is next to, is a public beach where they cannot stop who come there. The hotel also runs a disco on Wednesday and Saturday, that attracts a lot of unsavory people who make it their job to pray on single women. I have lost jewelry worth £200.00, For a moment it was not put in the safe, my door was locked, The sliding door, is left open by someone to allow entry, so that when you return to the room, it looks as if no one has entered. You may remember that some months ago a single woman had to fight off an attacker who entered her room with a machete.

Gem ? Not if you are a female traveling on your own..... Trust me there are other GEM on our beautiful Grenada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just back from a week at Gem Beach-wonderful location how a Carribean holiday should be. As all the reviews say-one of the best beaches on the island. The Appartment is just back from the beach-sea view (over building in front) -first or second floor. 'No frills'-and excellent in this category. Air conditioned bedrooms-essential in the Carribean for comfort from heat and mosquitos (get some 'off'' repellent it works!). The beach is ideal for those who want a quiet beach holiday- we did. Gem Beach Resort is run by Julia and her family excellently-they will deal with every request promptly-book taxis which are cheap and necessary to get around the island. If you can go to Aquarium for the famous Sunday Barbeque-book in advance. Gem resort includes apartments 1 or 2 bed self catering or hotel (more touristy-newly built with swimming pool didn't look at rooms but looks very nice from the beach. Restaurants in the resort for meals from breakfast to evening meals. Walk to next beach (Gran Anse) 5-10 minutes (hill) has many more places to eat-get a burger at ''Umbrellas' won't dissapoint. See the Underwater Sculpture Park (42ECD/pp with Dive Grenada (on Gran Anse Beach)-excellent service). If you need a tour guide see Cat Eye Taxi & Tours-famous on the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A group of us recently spent 3 nights at the Gem after returning from a sailing trip in this part of the Caribbean. To my surprise, the rooms were actually very spacious suites. They were very clean and had nice ocean views. The desk staff personnel were very courteous and helpful, even escorting us to the rooms upon arrival. The food at the restaurant was good and tasty, but the restaurant had very short hours. Fortuneately, the restaurant next door was open earlier and later and was also good. The one drawback was on the Friday night before our sailing trip -- apparently the night club at the hotel has a big bash on Friday nights and the noise and vibration was terrible. And it went on until 4 AM!

Room Tip: If you are there on Friday, make sure your bedroom is in the back and shut the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Gem Holiday Beach Resort is a nice hotel on beautiful Morne Beach near St. George's in Grenada. The service at this hotel is outstanding. While I was there, I wanted to watch an NBA basketball playoff game that was being broadcast on a channel not normally on their TV cable. Management had the Direct TV man come into my room to reprogram the TV so I could watch a game that otherwise would have been unavailable to me.

Steve

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on Honeymoon, for a week in April 2012, so small and personal, we were greeted by Julia, who was lovely, the room was prepared Honeymoon style and good complimentary Champagne, and Flowers, the Air con was Fab, freezing at times, just what you need in tropical temps, Friendly staff and so helpful, they had good relationships with the nearby hotels too. would defiantly stay again this time with the children.

Room Tip: We had Sea View - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading previous reviews we initally only booked 4 nights at the gem before departing for Carriacou and decide to book a further 7 nights on our return . Julia the manager and her staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable . The appartment was very clean and spacious with a lounge, Kitchenette and bedroom ,although the furniture and decor where a bit old, the location and veranda made up for that. Our towles where lovley and soft and changed daily and the bed was really comfortable, we have stayed in 5* hotels with less comfortable beds . The only downfall is the Friday night disco although you dont hear the people or the music but the drone of the beat can be heared, but it was only 1 night. The beach is the best on the Island and very safe swiming.

Room Tip: we stayed in a sea view number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.