We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but don't come on a Friday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but don't come on a Friday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A group of us recently spent 3 nights at the Gem after returning from a sailing trip in this part of the Caribbean. To my surprise, the rooms were actually very spacious suites. They were very clean and had nice ocean views. The desk staff personnel were very courteous and helpful, even escorting us to the rooms upon arrival. The food at the restaurant was good and tasty, but the restaurant had very short hours. Fortuneately, the restaurant next door was open earlier and later and was also good. The one drawback was on the Friday night before our sailing trip -- apparently the night club at the hotel has a big bash on Friday nights and the noise and vibration was terrible. And it went on until 4 AM!

Room Tip: If you are there on Friday, make sure your bedroom is in the back and shut the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
21
31
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Gem Holiday Beach Resort is a nice hotel on beautiful Morne Beach near St. George's in Grenada. The service at this hotel is outstanding. While I was there, I wanted to watch an NBA basketball playoff game that was being broadcast on a channel not normally on their TV cable. Management had the Direct TV man come into my room to reprogram the TV so I could watch a game that otherwise would have been unavailable to me.

Steve

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on Honeymoon, for a week in April 2012, so small and personal, we were greeted by Julia, who was lovely, the room was prepared Honeymoon style and good complimentary Champagne, and Flowers, the Air con was Fab, freezing at times, just what you need in tropical temps, Friendly staff and so helpful, they had good relationships with the nearby hotels too. would defiantly stay again this time with the children.

Room Tip: We had Sea View - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading previous reviews we initally only booked 4 nights at the gem before departing for Carriacou and decide to book a further 7 nights on our return . Julia the manager and her staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable . The appartment was very clean and spacious with a lounge, Kitchenette and bedroom ,although the furniture and decor where a bit old, the location and veranda made up for that. Our towles where lovley and soft and changed daily and the bed was really comfortable, we have stayed in 5* hotels with less comfortable beds . The only downfall is the Friday night disco although you dont hear the people or the music but the drone of the beat can be heared, but it was only 1 night. The beach is the best on the Island and very safe swiming.

Room Tip: we stayed in a sea view number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and WOW i must say this is a spectacular resort for its 2.5 star rating and reasonable price!! The staff and management are incredibly friendly,honest, helpful and a pleasure to be among. Always smiling!!!

The room was beach front, clean, and everything was working up to standards. The kitchen was fully equipped and some days I just had a nice 15 min stroll to the local supermarkets and stayed in and cooked.

The restaurant meals were superb, however I would have liked to have more local options.

The resort is situated on what i would consider to be one of the best beaches I have visited whilst on my stay. Very peaceful safe and calm beach . Locals on the beach very helpful and loved their local art and craft.

There is a nearby club but surprisingly my sleep was never interrupted by it. And I am easily awakened at nights!

I have now discovered an escape heaven and would definitely recommend the Gem.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good 2-3 star resort, I would definitely recommend Gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is really a Gem, all i think that they need to put in is a Pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and even though there were problems initially (with lack of hygiene and poor cleaning) really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and if you found anything not to your liking they would do their best to change it. The rooms are very large and even though most of the furniture is either ancient or broken, it really did not bother me as its only a two star resort and the problems was fixable. The place is dated, but because the rooms are large this for me compensated that fact. Awesome location for a property, and quite possibly the best swimming beach on the Island. Night club next to accomodations and restaurant Fantasia is really noisy at times (especially fridays), so expect to be kept up til the wee hours then. Negatives aside, Great Island with heaps to see and do. Abundance of cheap eateries; Nutmeg, Andels restaurant, above supermarket next to bus station and Spiceland mall have lots of cheap choices. Really expensive for what you get is BB's on the waterfront.
Travelling by bus is really cheap and one can go nearly everywhere if you are prepared to either offer the driver a little more or walk the difference.
Highlights are: Belmont Estate and the cheese and chocolate factory.
Bathways and Levera beaches which are truly beautiful
A drive round the coastal sides of the Island
And of course Grand Etang

Room Tip: choose top floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#6 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#5 of 20 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.