We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in St. George's
Watford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on Honeymoon, for a week in April 2012, so small and personal, we were greeted by Julia, who was lovely, the room was prepared Honeymoon style and good complimentary Champagne, and Flowers, the Air con was Fab, freezing at times, just what you need in tropical temps, Friendly staff and so helpful, they had good relationships with the nearby hotels too. would defiantly stay again this time with the children.

Room Tip: We had Sea View - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
15
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading previous reviews we initally only booked 4 nights at the gem before departing for Carriacou and decide to book a further 7 nights on our return . Julia the manager and her staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable . The appartment was very clean and spacious with a lounge, Kitchenette and bedroom ,although the furniture and decor where a bit old, the location and veranda made up for that. Our towles where lovley and soft and changed daily and the bed was really comfortable, we have stayed in 5* hotels with less comfortable beds . The only downfall is the Friday night disco although you dont hear the people or the music but the drone of the beat can be heared, but it was only 1 night. The beach is the best on the Island and very safe swiming.

Room Tip: we stayed in a sea view number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and WOW i must say this is a spectacular resort for its 2.5 star rating and reasonable price!! The staff and management are incredibly friendly,honest, helpful and a pleasure to be among. Always smiling!!!

The room was beach front, clean, and everything was working up to standards. The kitchen was fully equipped and some days I just had a nice 15 min stroll to the local supermarkets and stayed in and cooked.

The restaurant meals were superb, however I would have liked to have more local options.

The resort is situated on what i would consider to be one of the best beaches I have visited whilst on my stay. Very peaceful safe and calm beach . Locals on the beach very helpful and loved their local art and craft.

There is a nearby club but surprisingly my sleep was never interrupted by it. And I am easily awakened at nights!

I have now discovered an escape heaven and would definitely recommend the Gem.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good 2-3 star resort, I would definitely recommend Gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is really a Gem, all i think that they need to put in is a Pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and even though there were problems initially (with lack of hygiene and poor cleaning) really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and if you found anything not to your liking they would do their best to change it. The rooms are very large and even though most of the furniture is either ancient or broken, it really did not bother me as its only a two star resort and the problems was fixable. The place is dated, but because the rooms are large this for me compensated that fact. Awesome location for a property, and quite possibly the best swimming beach on the Island. Night club next to accomodations and restaurant Fantasia is really noisy at times (especially fridays), so expect to be kept up til the wee hours then. Negatives aside, Great Island with heaps to see and do. Abundance of cheap eateries; Nutmeg, Andels restaurant, above supermarket next to bus station and Spiceland mall have lots of cheap choices. Really expensive for what you get is BB's on the waterfront.
Travelling by bus is really cheap and one can go nearly everywhere if you are prepared to either offer the driver a little more or walk the difference.
Highlights are: Belmont Estate and the cheese and chocolate factory.
Bathways and Levera beaches which are truly beautiful
A drive round the coastal sides of the Island
And of course Grand Etang

Room Tip: choose top floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Vacation was perfect. Place was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic,especially when dining and overlooking the lovely bay. Morne Rouge Bay is heavenly. This is indeed a paradise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed a week, very comfortable and roomy...slept like a baby! Staff very helpful, good food and well appointed restaurant. Good onsite facilities , including pool, pool bar, snacks, private beach and water sports. Close to other restaurants , hotels, supermarket and ther essentials. Handy location for airport, bus and main through roads. Great for families, couples or singles alike. Run by family members who all care for your well being and very happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gem Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list