We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem resort complex and Grenada” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Gem Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in St. George's
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Gem resort complex and Grenada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the gem for 2 weeks and even though there were problems initially (with lack of hygiene and poor cleaning) really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and if you found anything not to your liking they would do their best to change it. The rooms are very large and even though most of the furniture is either ancient or broken, it really did not bother me as its only a two star resort and the problems was fixable. The place is dated, but because the rooms are large this for me compensated that fact. Awesome location for a property, and quite possibly the best swimming beach on the Island. Night club next to accomodations and restaurant Fantasia is really noisy at times (especially fridays), so expect to be kept up til the wee hours then. Negatives aside, Great Island with heaps to see and do. Abundance of cheap eateries; Nutmeg, Andels restaurant, above supermarket next to bus station and Spiceland mall have lots of cheap choices. Really expensive for what you get is BB's on the waterfront.
Travelling by bus is really cheap and one can go nearly everywhere if you are prepared to either offer the driver a little more or walk the difference.
Highlights are: Belmont Estate and the cheese and chocolate factory.
Bathways and Levera beaches which are truly beautiful
A drive round the coastal sides of the Island
And of course Grand Etang

Room Tip: choose top floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
15
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Vacation was perfect. Place was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic,especially when dining and overlooking the lovely bay. Morne Rouge Bay is heavenly. This is indeed a paradise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed a week, very comfortable and roomy...slept like a baby! Staff very helpful, good food and well appointed restaurant. Good onsite facilities , including pool, pool bar, snacks, private beach and water sports. Close to other restaurants , hotels, supermarket and ther essentials. Handy location for airport, bus and main through roads. Great for families, couples or singles alike. Run by family members who all care for your well being and very happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The trip was absolutely perfect I can say! The island was full of enjoyment with friendly lovely natives. We arrived on a hot sunny day and as soon as we got of the plane and arrived at the hotel, my family and I were greeted with cool refreshing fruit punches. I must say if you've heard of the life on the Caribbean, Grenada is the one to be! From the unpolluted unspoiled environment, rivers, beaches, nature walks, to night life, all Great! Staying at the Gem was like putting the icing on the cake. The warm welcoming hospitality, the constantly smiling faces, the great room service( I mean not once did we have to come back to an unclean room, fresh sheets and towels daily). The staff looked after us well, ensuring we were as comfortable as possible, well informed so we never missed a bright moment in our holiday, advice on the local heritage and must see's! On top of that a hotel could never been more brilliantly situated on its own private tropical bay with such warm water and white sand. It was like a paradise in a paradise!! Every day the kids woke up they would jet down to the beach as if it were the only thing that existed. The food was absolutely delicious. I was no stranger to Caribbean food prior this trip but the attention to detail and just the mouth watering taste of the food, we dined no where else! In the words of the locals 'Big Up to the Chef! And the entire team at the Gem Hotel. You made our time incredible... Already planning our next trip!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are stunning. At morning, sunset, all day perfect. I'm sure the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Having seen the spectacular bay I thought all would be well, how wrong could I be. The rooms were dirty, old and in desperate need of updating.The Manageress rude and unhelpful, the security non existent and the noise from the adjacent night club awful! We all felt uneasy at night especially as we were unable to secure the door properly.What should have been a wonderful holiday was ruined by the tired hotel and staff, there are plenty of other hotels in Grenada which for the same price you can have far better accommodation and gratuitous staff. Avoid like the plague!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

On arrival to the Gems resort, the first thing that stood out was it's location. The beautiful, fine, white sand beach and the crystal clear water, made me immediately want to rush towards the beach. The staff welcomed me with such warmth, that I felt right at home. My room which had a great ocean and garden view made me feel as if I was in a quiet world, and created just the atmosphere or me to further relax and think. The rooms were generally cleaned and I could not desire more.

What made it even safer, was that there were security around. In it all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and will return again.

If you're looking for a great beach to bathe in the sun, and let the sea take your mind to somewhere like heaven and hospitable staff. Visit Gems Resort TODAY!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Their lobby/dump needs major work, total turn off when I checked in but the two young ladies I meet was very pleasant and nice, the rooms need some work as well the towels were ruff like there was no fabric softener in it hope they renovate soon

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.