We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast half day tour of Grenada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi

AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi
MT Moritz, St. George's, Grenada
473-414-1680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 activities in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hi, My name is Allan Medford, Managing Director of A.J Meddy Tours & Taxi Service. Welcome to Grenada - the Spice Island of the Caribbean. It is my pleasure to extend to you, visitors, a warm welcome to Grenada. We are offering competent and efficient service to the visitor who might be a repeater, or a first timer to our shores. You are offered the most unique and exquisite tour and taxi service by your well trained, professional and certified tour guide.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“West Coast half day tour of Grenada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We contacted Alan via e-mail when we arrived.(We did some research before our trip). He was very prompt replying. Although he already had a booking on the day he assured us we would be in good hands with Neil Dominic. Alan met us at our hotel and introduced us to Neil. From the start he was very friendly. He has a good knowledge of the island and was willing to answer our questions. In fact he was excellent-stopping for photo opportunities, making sure we were happy and willing to take us where we wanted. A really interesting half day. We know so much more about the local people and what the island produces- seeing the spices in their natural form.
Would recommend Neil highly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comprehensive Tour of the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I choose this tour based on the reviews on trip advisor. They are accurate. Allen responded to emails in a timely fashion and was clear about pricing and that lunch and admission were not included. We were a family of 8 adults and 4 children under 10. He charged a total of $400 for the day which was from 9am to 6pm. It was a long day for the children! He is a knowledgable man with genuine care and concern for the people in his charge. He provides commentary throughout the tour and is proud of his Island. In our case he provided guide services at the attractions and we avoided any admission fees.
The lunch at the Belmont Estate was a little over priced in my opinion and the set price does not include drinks, the kids were admitted at half price but it is hard to refuse little ones the chance to try a chocolate monkey ( ice cream milkshake with banana and chocolate)
All in all I enjoyed this tour I really got to see the whole of the Island and I would recommend it, just not with small kids! (We discovered while on the Tour that it was his 25th wedding Anniversary that day yet he still provided a full day tour ! )
Many thanks Allen for a good day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Private Tour is the Only Way to See and Enjoy the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I contacted Allen of AJ Meddy Tour and Taxi Service Grenada for a private tour of the island for the day we were in Port. It was a Saturday and Allen was unable to take us but he assured me that he would arrange an excellent tour guide and he certainly did. He arranged for Neil Dominique to meet us inside the Welcome Centre behind the Security Checkpoint and although are Princess Emerald docked early, Neil arrived to meet us ready for a fun packed day. The four of us plus Neil spent approximately 4 hours touring part of this amazing island which truly is incredibly beautiful. The roads are quite narrow and they drive on the opposite side of the road but at no time did we feel unsafe or on edge. This is the spice island and as others said we saw the spice plantation, presentation of spices and how they are used, a nutmeg processing plant, a place to purchase FDA approved spices, (incredible and economical), and a rum place for a quick nip. Can't leave without purchasing spices including chocolate. Neil certainly knew the island and the people and it was wonderful to be able to learn through his wealth of knowledge and experiences. The van was comfortable and air conditioned and it was perfect for four. We were charged $140 for four people and we can assure you it was a much better tour than we would have had on one of those overcrowded excursions provided by the ship. I would recommend this to anyone considering taking a tour of Grenada. Our thanks to Allen for his service and for arranging this tour and to Neil for giving us more than a wonderful day.
.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this tour of the Island with Allen , he said he would be our driver but it turned out that he had someone else take us. Forgot his name but he gave us a good tour and a lot of history. There was 6 of us travelling together and we had a private tour for $200 all 6. What a nice trip it was. Spice plantation , altho not working anymore we did get to see the spices and have them decribed. Also visited a nutmeg proccesing plant, and the big waterfall where divers plunge into, then a freinds rum place.

The tour was 4 plus hrs and it went fast. Also this is our 2nd time to Granada , a very lush Island.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Time, Outstanding Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent our whole day with Allen and he gave us a great tour of the entire island. He picked us up at our hotel at 8AM and we didn't get back until sunset. We really enjoyed his company, and he was very accommodating and friendly. Allen is a very personable and probably one of the nicest people I've met in a long time.

Before we left, my wife and I had done our research on trip advisor and had made a list of all of the places we wanted to see while visiting Grenada. Allen made us a custom tour and took us everywhere we wanted to go and then some more places. One of the things we enjoyed most was how Allen worked very hard to make this a special day for us. He stopped many times to take our picture at scenic locations and he also provided extensive history and fun facts about the island/culture/wildlife. We booked our tour via telephone when we arrived in Grenada, but he also mentioned that he books tours through email as well.

Our first stop was Fort George/down town area, where Allen personally provided a tour of the fort, as opposed to dropping us off at the entrance and letting us pay for a guided tour. He knew so much about the history and had many interesting first hand stories to tell.

He then took us on a very scenic and beautiful drive along the coast to our next destination- the river antoine rum distillery. Again he gave us a tour which was filled with very interesting facts, we walked all throughout the facility. My wife and saw another couple also touring the distillery, however their tour guide was sleeping in the van while they paid for their tour. We were able to taste some rum and purchased a souvenir bottle.

Next Allen took us to lunch at the Belmont Estate. He reserved a table in advance on a beautiful open air outdoor seating area. The buffet food was excellent and we enjoyed getting to know Allen more over lunch. We had an opportunity to buy some really good chocolate in the gift shop, and then walked around the estate.

Next we traveled to the bathway beach, an extra stop on our tour that Allen wanted to show us. This was an interesting spot because we could see multiple nearby islands. We traveled next to the rainforest for a hike to seven sisters waterfall. We packed extra hiking clothes/shoes/swimsuits for this part of the tour, and we were able to easily change privately in the van. The hike was not terribly strenuous, but I would recommend hiking boots due to some slippery locations. When we got to the waterfall Allen took pictures of us swimming in the waterfall. It was a gorgeous hike and Allen knew a lot about the plants along the way.

We also visited several other lakes in the van on the way back to our hotel. Allen offered to stop at local grocery store so we could pick up some necessities on our way back to the hotel. Overall our day with Allen was invaluable because we were able to cover most of the island. We recommend all the places we went to, and a tour with Allen is a great way to start your vacation in Grenada so you can become well acquainted with the island. I typically don't write reviews on websites, but I was inspired to do so because of the fantastic day that my wife and I had. If you book a tour with Allen you won't regret it :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi to your Saves list