We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day in Carribean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi

AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi
MT Moritz, St. George's, Grenada
473-414-1680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Activities in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hi, My name is Allan Medford, Managing Director of A.J Meddy Tours & Taxi Service. Welcome to Grenada - the Spice Island of the Caribbean. It is my pleasure to extend to you, visitors, a warm welcome to Grenada. We are offering competent and efficient service to the visitor who might be a repeater, or a first timer to our shores. You are offered the most unique and exquisite tour and taxi service by your well trained, professional and certified tour guide.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best day in Carribean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have ordered this tour through this e-mail as an opposite to overpriced and too short trips for Grenada offered by Royal Caribbean. We have received almost immediate confirmation of reservation, with details about tour, meeting place and time, and availability of car seats for our kids. Upon arrival to the port we found Allen was already waiting for us right there he supposed to be. He introduced us to our driver, Luther, and escorted us to our tour van. To our surprise, we were only one family for the whole air conditioned, comphy and very clean modern van. So, just after about 10 minutes from the ship we were already starting our tour of Grenada.
Saying this tour was wonderful will not reflect it. Luther is a talented guide - just imagine big tall guy with voice of Paul Robeson and knowlege of Wikipedia! Just a few minutes of the tour we had to ask what University he graduaded - appears he is a local college graduate, who travelled to USA for a few years, but returned home to raise a family and drive a local bus. We were amaised by his passion for history of his motherland and culture, his knowlege about all plants of this spice island and medical use of these mother nature gifts. And he is an excellent driver as well - we felt safe all 6 or 7 hours of that tour.
We have rounded the whole island during our day tour. We have visited farm, where cocoa beans processed to chocolate, rum distillery with oldest watermill in Americas (and according to my hubby, best rum!), saw waterfals, old cuban airport with soviet times aircrafts, leap place and many historical places. In the middle of the tour, Luther offered to stop by a restaurant, which would serve buffet type of food to tourists with menu similar to the ship's one. But we were on Grenada, the spice island, we wanted to try local food! We have asked Luther to choose a place where he would have lunch. As a result, we have stopped in the small town by the sea and had a wonderful carry-like chicken in local type of pita bread, local beer for my husband and Luther, and a fruit juce for me and kids from some exotic local fruit. The whole lunch for 4 of us plus Luther cost us about 50 caribbean dollars (20 US ones), but would beat any restaurant by taste and flavour of the island! [By the way, "tourist place" restaurant usually provides tour driver with free lunch, so, if somebody would try to follow our way, please pay for your driver!]
We have not swimmed in the waterfalls and had no time for the beach. At first, we were upset that we had whole day driving around and did not even touch the warm caribbean waters by our toes in our first port... However, even after cruise stopped in 4 more ports, we still remember Grenada as one where we had the best time!
Thanks Allen and Luther!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tour Of Grenada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked the full day tour with Allen and had a good time. He is very nice and knowledgeable about his country. The reasons i did not rate this tour with 5 stars are... 1- Its not disclosed that lunch is extra (we enjoyed the food and service but for $25 PP and an 1.5 hours of the day lost, we would have skipped). 2- Drinks were not provided in the van. 3- We spent alot of time driving and would have like to see the falls that were listed as part of our tour we booked. All in all, it was an enjoyable day just would have like to see and do more.

I do recommend Allen with AJ Meddy Tours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour of the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Along with two other couples we took a half-day western island tour with AJ Meddy Tours and Taxi and it was wonderful. We had booked several excursions to the six islands we visited directly through Celebrity cruise line and they were disappointing. But the tour we booked on our own with Allan was outstanding; a lot of fun and he really gave us the local flavor of the island. I would definitely recommend touring with AJ Meddy if you are visiting the beautiful island of Grenada.

Tina & Chris

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“tour of Grenada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just came back from a tour with Allan. He was extremely knowledgable and gave us a great half day tour of the island. Would recommend him highly and we will tour with him again.
Caroline and Linda

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Island Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked Allan in advance after reading the positive reviews on TA. Communication prior to our visit was speedy and helpful.
Allan arrived in good time to collect us from our hotel last Tuesday to do a tour of the West Coast of the island. He was very knowledgable, polite and friendly, and extremely proud of his country.
In Grenada, the bus services seem to be unusual in that they are not run by large companies, but individuals take out licences with the authorities and are authorised to work a certain bus route. All of the vehicles are small mini buses. Allan's vehicle is also a bus on route 5. It seemed that most taxis were 'multi-purpose', doubling as buses, tour vehicles and taxis. There was plenty of space for the two of us !
The roads in Grenada seem pretty well maintained, but can be quite narrow and are certainly not straight. Allan drives very sensibly (which is more than can be said for some of the other drivers) so we felt very safe on all the roads.
Genada is indeed an island of Spices, and we learnt a huge amount about products that we usually only see in supermarket packets. Allan is keen to share his knowledge, and will go out of his way to meet any particular interest. We were surprised at the simplicity of some of the farming and processing methods still in use on the island.
On Friday Allan returned to take us to the Belmont Estate on the East of the island. That was interesting, and they have a nice restaurant. Allan knows the chocolate tour by heart !
It is well worth doing a tour of the island, as life outside the tourist complex is quite different.
If you are seeking a reliable, informed, (teetotal) and safe tour guide on Grenada, we would have no hesitation in recommencing Allan.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AJ Meddy Tours & Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.