We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laluna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Laluna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laluna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Chillout Special
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in St. George's
staten island, ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“simple beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Grenada is a wonderful place! Still unspoiled by over development, it is a simple place with very friendly people who know a lot about their history. Laluna is definitely a different kind of resort. Very small and quite private, even though the beaches are considered public here, and the restaurant is open to all. We stayed in early April in a deluxe cottage. the room is spacious and the open air bathroom is great. no foggy mirrors and freezing cold! The lighting could be better though. The staff is very helpful and we found the wait staff to be exceptional. The food was good, not great. There was not enough of the local flavors brought to the menu. The one dish that did this well was the seafood risotto, as it barely resembled typical risotto. It was well spiced and not heavy at all. One noticeable absence was anything using the local chocolate -it's very good..And hopefully Chef will be able to grow some arugula in the garden. Breakfast was pleasant. the french toast is the lightest I've ever had and we love the nutmeg syrup. You must do a hike with Lennox - he is a local treasure. He is a delight to spend time with and knows so much because he wants to. The descriptions of the tours are poor. We were disappointed with the spice market and "local" shopping (a mall meant for the cruiseships), but the fort tour was great. Listra was a wonderful guide. the beach is beautiful and the porch outside the cottage is delightful. cool breezes and a lovely seating area- a nice area to enjoy a drink or read a book. We would definitely try them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of Laluna and your stay with us.
A tour with Lennox is a great part of the Grenadian experience that we are happy to organize for our guests.
Chef does use local ingredients infused with Italian cooking for our dishes. To have a truly local dining experience, our concierge service is more than happy to recommend many of our our local restaurants that specialize in authentic Grenadian cooking.
We hope to have you stay with us again.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    29
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
177
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

OK, we stayed here 28th March to 4th April 2013. To make this review easy I'll list positive/negative as lists.
Positive;
1. Great location, lovely bungalows on hillside, spacious with own plung pool.
2. Staff very friendly and helpfull
3. Restaurant food was fairly average really for this quality of holel/resort.
4. Main pool and beach, loungers, bar etc very good.
Negative;
1. We ate twice in the restaurant. First time the staff told us they had a large party coming to dine and would we like to book a table. We of course agreed a table for 8.00pm. However finally at 9.45 after having to point out that we were actually guests and should have priority were given a table. The meal and service then went ok until we finished the main course. Finally after waiting 25 minutes for someone to ask if we wanted desert/coffee and to clear the plates we gave up and left. Nobody noticed us leave!
2. We decided it may have been unusual as it was very busy so dined again a couple of days later. It was 15 minutes after being shown to table that we finally got menus and wine list and were asked if we wanted drinks. Things went ok then until our mains arrived, 3 of the 4 meals were sent back as they were cold. Also, why do some restaurants still serve meals on cold plates which doesn't help!
3. Be warned that there are local University students who like to visit the resort for the day to use the bar/beach/loungers. While they are allowed by the management they are supposed to only use the beach loungers. But you may find there are no poolside free and then have to decide if you complain to management to see if they are guests or not?
Generally;
This is an expensive, luxury personal resort so these are not acceptable. The restaurant should have a server in control to ensure that diners aren't left sitting waiting to be served.
Unfortunately we won't be returning. Also note that they charge 12.5% service charge where all other restaurants we used charged 10%. If you stay at Laluna then dine elsewhere. The beachhouse a 2 minute walk along the beach is excellent. BB;s Crabshack (a taxi ride) or more local dining but excellent is Boots (they will collect and return you for less than a taxi).
Grenada however was very nice, with freindly people and interesting things to see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at Laluna.
In terms of your concerns, I have addressed these to management.
We are sorry that you had to wait for the dining service, and we have since addressed this issue with our food and beverage staff.
Thank you for staying at Laluna.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Laluna. We had the beachfront cottage but the resort is a delight, made better by the excellent staff who were friendly, professional and fun too. The bar is a lovely area to meet people for sundowners - Urban and the team were great Baristas and we were lucky to meet some really nice people who congregated to watch sundown or have a nightcap. We did the trek to the rain forest with Lennox - an experience not to be missed as he is so knowledgeable about the area and all the wildlife and plants - if you only do one thing then do this. The products in the bathroom were great and plentiful. The housekeeping staff were great too - clean towels twice a day and I loved the outdoor bathroom. Rooms were great and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have had. Our only small complaint was that the lighting could be better in terms of shaving/make up which we mentioned to them and they said they would take this into consideration when they do their upgrade in September. Unusually for us, the trip was too short and we could easily have stayed longer.

We will definitely return to Laluna.

Room Tip: No 1 beach front deluxe cottage is the way to go. Great being able to sunbathe with the facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful and complimentary review on all aspects that make Laluna special, especially our staff. I will let all persons mentioned in your review, know how much you appreciated their service. We look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This resort is absolutely fabulous. We stayed in the cottage deluxe. We probably had the worst cottage in terms of view - we were right above the restaurant so we looked down on the driveway and entrance and our view of the ocean was largely blocked. However, the terrace area was a wonderful place to rest, very comfortable. It was quiet. I never did use the plunge pool because we were close enough to the beach that we had a nice breeze. The room was immaculate and the outdoor bathroom was different and very nice. The staff were generally very professional and helpful. The only real downside was the restaurant. The food was very good but portions size was inconsistent and often too small requiring ordering of additional food. The menu lacked sufficient variety if you were eating most of your meals at the hotel, which we usually do. The fresh fish was swordfish for the majority of our visit which is odd for the Caribbean. However, the Beach House was within walking distance and had excellent food and variety, including many fresh fish options. The beach was beautiful and there was never any problem finding a place to sit. It was very private. There was always a breeze so you felt cool and not overheated. Watersports were always available. There were beach hawkers but they were not bothersome. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen/lobby. We were told by other guests that the further away you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your compliments on your stay at Laluna.
I will let chef know of your concern of the food portion size. We serve only fresh fish, not frozen, and therefore it may be the same type of fish depending on what the fishermen bring to our beach. We look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future. ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Laluna truly is a special place despite some of the kinks mentioned by other reviewers (and below). The design of the resort is a sensory experience in itself. Wonderful villas, earthy, evocative colors. Layout of the bar, pool, restaurant and tucked away spa were well-thought out and made good use of the property. The beach while small, was beautiful and much less crowded and thus more peaceful than some of the other beaches we visited on the island. We stayed at the beachfront villa for the first 5 nights and then hoofed it up the mountain for the remaining 2 as the beachfront was previously booked. Ah, that beachfront villa! Like your own private beach house.
Staff is extremely friendly, ready to help with any kind of reservations/arrangements. I had called in concerns regarding dietary restrictions before our trip. Chef Daniele was exceptionally accommodating and created dishes specifically to my needs. And so, I would go with his suggestions and was not once disappointed. I have never had such personalized attention to my gastronomic pleasure. The food was fantastic. We found the wait staff excellent. It was so good, we ate there each night. If not for my husband, I might have soon fallen in love...
So here are our couple of lovingly offered suggestions to Laluna; our kinks. The beachfront villa's shower was unreliable for 4 nights of our stay. There was enough hot water for a 3 minute (timed) shower and that was it. This simply should not happen at a luxury resort and with the fees charged for that villa in particular. While our concerns were heard, they were not effectively addressed, nor was there an attempt to redress the hardship. After a few days of the Laluna magic, I would have been happily tamed with a complimentary punch! Even a suggestion to use another shower on the property would have been appreciated. On the day we were moving out, we were told it was probably the heating element and not to worry, it would be fixed for the guests following us.... So why wasn't it addressed right away?
My second concern has to do with the hobie cat. Granted, my husband (a certified, if rusty, sailor) took the boat out on a gusty day and got stuck of his own accord. But even the staff that kayaked out to bring him in could not get the boat back in. There was something wrong with the rudders. They simply did not function properly. I, the anxious wife on shore, did not notice until he was stuck, that there was no motorized craft available at Laluna to fish out distressed sailors. This observation was particularly anxiety provoking as the currents pulled the boat further and further out to sea. Mercifully, Larry of Aquanauts, a local dive boat towed them in to safety, not once, but twice. I really recommend a motorized craft for the property.
Putting these kinks to the side, the vacation was thoroughly relaxing. After running around the island the first few days we were drawn back to the calm and beauty of the resort and were happy to stay put for the remainder of the week. We had great after-dinner fun playing backgammon near the pool with delicious mochaccino martinis... A wonderful acoustic guitarist played on Sunday night. My husband even found the latest Clancy novel available for the perfect beach read. In sum, Laluna is a great place to escape, unplug, and reconnect with your love.

Room Tip: Beachfront Villa if you can swing it. Otherwise, ask for a deluxe that is tucked as far of the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your compliments onto Chef Daniele for his cuisine and attention to your dietary restrictions. The hot water situation was brought to our attention on the third day of your stay in the Beach Cottage, we waited until you were out of the room to check the heater as we did not want to disturb you. The heater was checked and didn’t have any issues, as the other occupants of the room didn’t not have any complaints with it, but will make a point to monitor it in the future. The Hobie Cat was in working order, but we made the mistake of having guests use it in such gusty and windy conditions. We were the ones who notified Aquanuats to come your assistance, as we work closely with them. We hope that you will visit our Isle of Spice in the future. ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restondrums
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We keep coming back even though with the hardship that the airlines put on getting to Grenada as opposed to other Caribbean islands, it's worth the trip. Luluna is very special, very special indeed. So special because of the late arrival to the island (one flight a day from Miami), we tend to stay at a small B&B the night before so that we arrive completely fresh for our long visit to what has become one of our favorite destinations. The ambiance of Laluna cannot be described in the way it truly feels. Afloat, you are an island, in an oasis, far from the madding crowd, your heart rate is in check, you become so relaxed the only fear you have is that one day you have to leave. That is the essence of Laluna. If you write me, I'll send you a link to our pictures.

Room Tip: For us, it was going up high on the hillside. First, the view is incredible (from any cottage) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of Laluna, we are so happy when our repeat guests keep coming back to have great experiences at Laluna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A rather mixed stay at Laluna, somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. In our view a few changes could make a big difference.
The good points:
- The staff are fantastic. They were all really friendly and helpful, in particular Tracy in the office, Sindy and Dexter and Urban at the bar. We did not meet the owner or get a feel for who was actually in charge.
- The location is fantastic, with great views.
- The resort is very quiet and the beach is beautiful

- We were happy with our room, comfortable beds and had wonderful views. One problem which should be rectified is that mosquito net around the bed did not close so was ineffectual in keeping out mosquitos.

- We generally liked the restaurant and the staff were always very friendly. Occasionally breakfast was rather slow, even when there were only a couple of tables occupied. It was good to have an alternative a short walk down the beach, and to try other restaurants on the island.

- Lovely spa with a great massage. We didn't use the yoga pavilion but it was a nice building

The not so good points:
- The fitness equipment is poor. My husband reported problems with the running machine which would stop alarmingly in the middle of a run and the exercise bike is somewhat old. These would be very easy to upgrade
- The music in the bar area and restaurant drove us to distraction. The same tape is played every day on a loop - one at breakfast, one afternoon and one at dinner. A few more playlists would make all the difference. The live music on Sunday night was very good though.
- We had an issue with day guests using the facilities, in particular the area around the bar which is quite small and should be reserved for hotel guests. One day a group of about 6 tourists came off a cruise ship for a day on the beach (which quite rightly is open to all). However they then had drinks at the bar and ended up using most of the sofas and chairs and they weren't even day guests. We retreated to our room for some quiet. If you are going to have a day visit policy it would be much better if they could only use the restaurant and the beach chairs.
- The pool could do with a refurbishment. On one website it was described as an infinity pool which it isn't.

Grenada is a beautiful island to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. By guests pointing out areas of improvement, helps us to better, our final product.
I have brought your comments to the attention of the management, and new additions are in progress including new mosquito nets from Bali, gym facility, refurbishment of property. The Bar and restaurant areas are open to the public, as are all the beaches.
But overall, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Laluna and Grenada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel

Address: PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#5 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laluna Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Yoga pavilion situated directly on the beach, offers daily classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Laluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel St. George`s
Laluna St Georges
Laluna Hotel St Georges
Laluna Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laluna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.