We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, Laluna excels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laluna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Laluna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laluna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Chillout Special
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in St. George's
restondrums
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Once again, Laluna excels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We keep coming back even though with the hardship that the airlines put on getting to Grenada as opposed to other Caribbean islands, it's worth the trip. Luluna is very special, very special indeed. So special because of the late arrival to the island (one flight a day from Miami), we tend to stay at a small B&B the night before so that we arrive completely fresh for our long visit to what has become one of our favorite destinations. The ambiance of Laluna cannot be described in the way it truly feels. Afloat, you are an island, in an oasis, far from the madding crowd, your heart rate is in check, you become so relaxed the only fear you have is that one day you have to leave. That is the essence of Laluna. If you write me, I'll send you a link to our pictures.

Room Tip: For us, it was going up high on the hillside. First, the view is incredible (from any cottage) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of Laluna, we are so happy when our repeat guests keep coming back to have great experiences at Laluna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
175
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A rather mixed stay at Laluna, somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. In our view a few changes could make a big difference.
The good points:
- The staff are fantastic. They were all really friendly and helpful, in particular Tracy in the office, Sindy and Dexter and Urban at the bar. We did not meet the owner or get a feel for who was actually in charge.
- The location is fantastic, with great views.
- The resort is very quiet and the beach is beautiful

- We were happy with our room, comfortable beds and had wonderful views. One problem which should be rectified is that mosquito net around the bed did not close so was ineffectual in keeping out mosquitos.

- We generally liked the restaurant and the staff were always very friendly. Occasionally breakfast was rather slow, even when there were only a couple of tables occupied. It was good to have an alternative a short walk down the beach, and to try other restaurants on the island.

- Lovely spa with a great massage. We didn't use the yoga pavilion but it was a nice building

The not so good points:
- The fitness equipment is poor. My husband reported problems with the running machine which would stop alarmingly in the middle of a run and the exercise bike is somewhat old. These would be very easy to upgrade
- The music in the bar area and restaurant drove us to distraction. The same tape is played every day on a loop - one at breakfast, one afternoon and one at dinner. A few more playlists would make all the difference. The live music on Sunday night was very good though.
- We had an issue with day guests using the facilities, in particular the area around the bar which is quite small and should be reserved for hotel guests. One day a group of about 6 tourists came off a cruise ship for a day on the beach (which quite rightly is open to all). However they then had drinks at the bar and ended up using most of the sofas and chairs and they weren't even day guests. We retreated to our room for some quiet. If you are going to have a day visit policy it would be much better if they could only use the restaurant and the beach chairs.
- The pool could do with a refurbishment. On one website it was described as an infinity pool which it isn't.

Grenada is a beautiful island to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. By guests pointing out areas of improvement, helps us to better, our final product.
I have brought your comments to the attention of the management, and new additions are in progress including new mosquito nets from Bali, gym facility, refurbishment of property. The Bar and restaurant areas are open to the public, as are all the beaches.
But overall, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Laluna and Grenada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're looking for a quiet, understated boutique resort on an uncrowded beach, Laluna will be hard to beat. The villas are large and charming, and I still miss my wonderful outdoor shower. The beach has beautiful turquoise water, and some of the softest sand you'll find anywhere. Service was sometimes a bit slow (particularly in the restaurant at lunch), but it was always friendly. If I'm going to quibble, the hotel should really invest in upgrading its fitness facilities and the bed linens are a bit rough. That aside, I had no major complaints. Note that seclusion comes with some cost, as excursions away from Laluna inevitably involve a slow ride on a bumpy road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Laluna, I have notified the management of your comments, to make the necessary improvements possible. We look forward to having your stay again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Laluna in February. I have vacationed at many resorts throughout the Caribbean and Hawaii and I have to say that Laluna is by far my favourite location.

The grounds are simply gorgeous. The resort is located in a beautiful bay with cliffs at each end so there is very little beach traffic. You feel like you are on your own island. Some days, we barely saw any other people. We stayed in a room at the top of the resort (#14). There are a series of staircases that you have to take to get down to the restaurant, bar and beach or you could also walk down the driveway. If you don't have mobility issues then it is not a problem at all (in my opinion). The view from our room was stunning. You wake up in the morning and look to the foot of your bed where you will see the blue ocean with the occasional boat sailing by. The room's patio has a couch on it where you can have your morning coffee and contemplate your day. It is hard to get going in the morning because the view will keep you on that couch for a while. There is also a plunge pool on the deck for when you get too hot. The restaurant is very good with a wide range of options (separate review). My wife and I enjoyed to the spa where we had massages. I had never had a Balinese massage before. It is well worth it.

What really made our stay special was the staff members that we got to know while we were there. Dexter Fletcher and Urban at the bar were a pleasure to see every day. Every Sunday evening Urban hosts a live music night with a local musician which I thought was very nice. We met the owners of the resort who are lovely and approachable. A testament to the quality of the resort is a couple we met from England who have been visiting Laluna every year for the last 10 years.

If you are looking for a quite getaway where you can truly relax in beautiful setting, Laluna is it.

Room Tip: The rooms that are to the left of the main resort buildings (when viewing the resort from the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your indepth review, on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Laluna, and took advantage of doing nothing but relaxing on your private veranda, enjoying the view. We look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future, like our 10 year repeat guests, that keep coming back... to escape to Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location, food and kindness of the staff are superb. LaLuna has a very low-key and natural feel -- embracing the beach, rain forest (eg partially outdoor showers) and the hillside. One of us was sick when we arrived and they specially made chicken noodle soup! The driver the resort arranged waited for our late flight and met us easily when we walked out off the airport. Thank you, LaLuna.

Room Tip: Room 11 on the top has an amazing view and is more private, but also at the top of the steep stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, and capturing in words, what Laluna is naturally about, and the feel of our guests experience. We hope to have you stay with us again in the very near future.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Let us analyse the Pros and Cons :

PROS - location, front of house staff.

CONS - requires a refurbishment (informed that would be in September)
- there is a desperate need of a visible Manager. This is a relatively expensive hotel and
requires someone to monitor the comings and goings during the day.
We booked our Golden Wedding holiday for 13 nights, expecting an exclusive and
peaceful celebration, but often were let down by the Hotel issuing "day passes" to non-
residents, and worst of all to people just walking off the beach and taking over the
facilities - some even helped themselves to Hotel towels as well as the sun loungers.
On one occasion a group from a cruise ship caused four guests to retreat to their rooms
for peace and quiet and somewhere to lie down. WHY ? Because there is NO Manager
overseeing the day-to-day activities. (It is no good hiding away in the office !)
No Children policy - but there were 2 days with babies in tow.
The approach road is hilarious and at least should ensure some exclusivity !

The food is good, and can be supplemented by a 100 metre walk down the beach to another great restaurant.
If you suffer from any type of walking disability the climb to the cottages can be quite a challenge.
We stayed in "8" (so unromantic :-)) and the 40 steep concrete steps were literally one too many.
Higher cottages would have been a real pain - so we tended to take all the days needs with us
rather than facing our own Eiger. Having said that, the uninterrupted views were outstanding.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but question the statement that it deserves a place in the Top Hundred Hotels of the World given the above experiences and expectations. We made some fabulous new friends and would willingly return if some of the problems were addressed.

RECOMMENDATION : Get a Manager to ensure that the residential paying guests are looked after. ONLY the Restaurant should be available to non-residents. The remainder of the Estate should be for residents only - after all, this is supposed to be an "exclusive" hideaway.

The front of house staff cannot be praised too highly - they were magnificent, smiling and professional.

Room Tip: Eight is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest, Thank your for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your  stay with us.
To address some of your concerns, we do have a General Manager and a daily Duty Manager on the property, that you met during your stay.
Like most beaches in the world, Grenada's beaches are public.  At Laluna, we are fortunate because the beach is very secluded and it is not often frequented by locals or other visitors of the island.
Our children's policy at the hotel is 12 years and older, and we are open to the public of all age at the restaurant .
We hope to have you at Laluna again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What lovely staff so friendly and jolly , especially the young lady who made up our cocktails with such care .....unlike the cocktail I had somewhere else !
We were recommended to go by a friend Rupert and next time we must have lunch or even stay !

Room Tip: We haven't stayed but I think all the rooms must be pretty good as the position of the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you to dear Rupert who recommended you to Laluna. With our great bar staff and better cocktails, is just the tip of the iceberg, of your Laluna experience. We look forward having you back in Grenada, and hopefully to stay next time. ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel

Address: PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#6 Spa Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laluna Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Yoga pavilion situated directly on the beach, offers daily classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Laluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel St. George`s
Laluna St Georges
Laluna Hotel St Georges
Laluna Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laluna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.