We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite resort so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laluna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Laluna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laluna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Chillout Special
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My favourite resort so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Husband and I love holidays but this time we decided we would have our 1 st holiday ever without the Children age 16 and 14. It was like a 2 nd Honeymoon.
We love the Carabean and decided to try Grenada because of this resort which we discovered through trip advisor.
Well it was perfect. Only a 20 min drive from the airport. We had our own small but beautiful bungalow on the beach in its own garden. All the bungalows are the same but the others are further up the hill. Beware of this if you do not want a steep climb via steps as some were very high up.
The restaurant was Italian. With a lovely Italian Chef who is asked would cook anything that you request. My Husband and I wanted local food so we asked and got. Oil down a coconut stew with bread fruit and dumplings. Yummy. We also tried other dishes that the locals recommended and were not disappointed
Breakfast were cooked on request. I loved the omelettes and the crispy bacon.
There is a good choice of other things to order too.
We had Pilates and yoga lessons which were wonderful followed by the best Bali massages we have ever had. They fly the Balinese girls to Grenada as they are so good. Tiny girls but so strong. We had them walking up our backs and making us feel amazing. All our aches and pains vanished.
The Resort is on a beautiful beach. Very peaceful. We hardly saw any other quests. There are 9 bungalows in total.
Staff were all fantastic.
My Husband and I loved this resort so much that we don't want to go anywhere else now. It is Paradise. Not huge not flash just rustic and romantic. We had our own outdoor shower and plunge pool.
Wonderful bed and linen pure luxury.
Can't wait to go again. We may take the Children next time. Only over 12 s are allowed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, that it felt like a 2nd honeymoon.
Yes, the cottage suites are located higher up the hillside, therefore commanding a great view of the Caribbean Sea. We have 16 cottages in all. Happy also to read that you enjoyed the Balinese messeurs and our Asian Spa, the daily yoga and pilates and all the elements of Laluna.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
175
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Laluna is set in a cove of its own. The hotel is small with about 16 small houses and so it is intimate, but you get all the service and amenities of bigger resorts.
The lush and luxuriant vegetation extends from the hilltop to the beach. The beach is dotted with coconut and almond trees. In average there are about 20 people on the 500 meter beach. It is the closest I ever came to my phantasy of paradise.
The rooms are lovely, with all you need for your comfort and discretion.
The restaurant is one of the best on the island. Although it doesn't feature much local fare, in the end that is a good thing as you never get tired of an upper class Italian with local notes.
The beach bar next to the restaurant makes the laid back but classy experience complete.
The staff is one of the nicest and most helpful I ever met.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, and description of the layout of Laluna. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the service and friendliness of our staff. Our local night cuisine is featured on a Thursday, unless requested by the individual guest.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was drawn to the boutique nature of Laluna, and we enjoyed the low key, laid back bohemian vibe, Balinese décor, and private cottages with deep porches and amazing ocean views. The public spaces provided ample privacy and only once did we find ourselves short beach chairs. The pool is small but the beach is so comfortable, pristine and private that we spent most of our time there.

Aside from the vibe, we chose the resort based on the positive restaurant reviews, which didn’t disappoint. The Italian / Caribean fusion worked for my family, and in particular we enjoyed the Grenadian pumpkin + ginger soup, bresaola, papparadelle Laluna, and the lobster special one night, which was delicious.

The previous two reviewers have mentioned New Year’s Eve, which I too will comment on as it was the only disappointment in our week’s stay at Laluna. We were travelling with our two teenage daughters, who are accustomed to restaurant dining. We asked three separate staff members to explain what was happening on New Year’s eve and what we were told was that dinner was at 7.30, and if we wanted to pay a further $85 (?!) there was an after party, which we declined. We arrived at 7.30 only to realize that dinner wasn’t planned until 8.30, and that at least as many people as were staying at the resort had paid to join for dinner and the party. Not at all the quiet celebratory dinner with family we had envisioned. In Leif’s review below he noted that they felt forgotten and dismissed, and as a family staying at La Luna we felt the same as our needs were very much an after-thought i.e. my kids were brought buns at 7.30 to tide them over, and a table was hastily put together so we could eat as a family rather than seating my teens with the owner’s children. Bernardo did reach out to make us feel welcome, but it felt too little / too late.

Overall, we liked Laluna as a chic, casual, but luxurious resort. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed Laluna, and the chic, luxurious and laid back vibe that we offer, as a boutique property.
Yes, New Years Eve is the one evening of the year we offer to our guests an all-inclusive dining and party (hence the supplement fee, as we usually offer an a-la-carte dining and bar service), to bring in the New Year. It is the only party we have for the year. I am sorry that you felt forgotten, as we try to make sure that all of our guests feel part of the celebration. I do hope you and your family had a wonderful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A wonderful evening and brilliant party at Laluna on NYE. Such a great atmosphere, delicious food and well organised. We are very grateful for such lovely celebration of NYE. Having spent a few NYE's on the island, Laluna was our favourite. Already looking forward to being back in Grenada.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest, we are so happy that you enjoyed the celebration of New Years with us, the one party that Laluna hosts for the year. We hope you see you before the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Laluna generally lived up to our expectations in a positive way. We were seeking an off-the-beaten path, non-commercial hotel with a laid-back, bohemian vibe plus most, if not all, of the first class amenities of a large resort, and we generally got what we were looking for.

The hotel has a rustic, home-spun luxury which doesn't try too hard and which you might find at an even more remote locale. We liked the oddly inviting mixture of Asian decor, distressed concrete cottages, thatched huts and Italian charm, also marked by loungey electronic music and a kind of surfer beach shack ambience. It sounds weird but definitely works. Our deluxe cottage had all the pre-requisites - amazing view, a lot of space, four poster bed, AC, flat-screen TV, mini-bar, lovely deck, plunge pool and ample bathroom with nice products - but somehow the room seemed slightly barren for the price and mis-used in terms of space. For example, the built-in couch is uselessly hard and upright, there is no comfortable indoor seating, there was no DVD player in our higher level room (though others apparently had it and they did offer us one but with a very limited movie selection), no premium cable television, and overall a certain lack of plushness. Perhaps this is what the owners are going for to be consistent with their general theme of austere luxury, but at this price and after twelve years in business, we think a nuanced updating of the rooms is now in order. We did like the indoor/outdoor bathroom with sea views and a distinctly tropical flavor, though the plunge pool was not heated, nor did the jet work. One big complaint about the room - the bed's netting is totally insufficient to protect against mosquitoes and should be replaced with a net which fully blankets the bed posters. Despite repellant, we got a lot of bites! The cleaning crew were terrific and kept our room very well kept during our stay with nightly turndown service.

The staff work very hard, though strangely we found the women much friendlier and more helpful than the men. It is clear that all have been trained to be available when needed but not to push or be invasive, which we appreciated. As a gay couple, we felt quite welcomed at this resort (though asked in advance if they are gay friendly to which they responded "yes!" wholeheartedly).

We particularly liked the restaurant crew. The food there was generally very good. While not up to U.S. standards for fine Italian dining, we enjoyed most dishes, though would have liked more variety with the specials given we were forced to be on a meal plan during the new years holiday week. Speaking of new years, as is typical with most dinners on this night, we found the celebration party (for which we had to pay a supplement) to be a bit of rip-off. As non-drinkers, we had few options for beverages and felt slightly forgotten and dismissed by the staff on this issue, as well as in particular by the owner. The dinner was OK, though dessert was a throwaway sorbet. Surprisingly, the celebration was open to non-guests who could pay to "party" on the property and that they did in full force which we thought at odds with the Laluna way. The drunken revelry interrupted our desire for a more peacefully chic kind of holiday experience. That dance music blasted on the grounds until after 2:00am did not help and again surprised us given the supposedly quiet nature of this hotel.

The setting is wonderful, with a very private, naturally pristine beach and an excellent spa. The Indonesian masseuses are superb and the spa has a lovely tropical setting. There are not a lot of water sports or activities provided directly by the hotel. However, this didn't bother us as we simply enjoyed lounging at the beach and taking swims during the day. The hotel was great at arranging excursions for us, including a private snorkeling trip and a hiking tour with Lennox, who was terrific.

We liked Laluna especially because it exemplifies Grenada as an informally luxurious, cool and casually elegant place. We would never have stayed at hotels like the Calabash which seem generic and too uptight in comparison. Also, the island itself is wonderful with its old-world Carribbean charm, unspoiled beauty and gentle and kind inhabitants. However, before we stay at Laluna again, for the prices they charge, we would need to know and see that some refurbishing and finessing have been done to the property, rooms and overall experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe cottage is more private. We asked for #6, and received it! So, points to them for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read that Laluna lived up to your expectations in a positive way.
Yes, our rooms are rather large than standard hotel rooms, and we do go for a minimalist feel with the Balinese furnishings which we feel speak for themselves. Each suite has it's own plunge pool, they are not jacuzzi's, the jets are for the filtration system to keep the pools clean. We have addressed the mosquito net situation, and are working on it.
We appreciate your mentioning of our hard working staff, of whom we are very proud of and continue to train to offer our guests the service they deserve. The New Years Eve dinner is an all-inclusive affair that the guests are notified, upon their booking. The New Years Eve music usually stops no later than 2am, based on our guests attendance of the party, and it is the only party we host for the year. This year it was off by 2:15am, sorry about that.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed all that Laluna has to offer, including the spa services, the beach, we just added two paddle boards to our watersports selection. We are constantly making changes to the property, and the prices vary on the season, which are available on our website.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at La Luna for the first week of our honeymoon. It is a beautiful location, but absolutely not worth what we paid. The staff was not good at recommending good companies for scuba diving. We also had rented a car, but they stuck us on a shuttle that picked up at 10 other hotels to go on a sunset cruise instead of giving directions so we could drive.

The worst part of our stay was when the Beach House decided to throw a party with bass so loud it was echoing 1/2 mile away in our room until 5am so much that we did not get any sleep this night. When we complained about this the next morning, they acted like this happened every Saturday night and offered nothing for our troubles. They make you pre pay, so they don't really have to care how your stay goes. Also, the bugs are terrible. Sprayed every hour, but still left with 30 bites. You get bit the worst sleeping in the bed.

We found a much better hotel and private condo with fully stocked kitchen for about half the price on the second week of our vacation. And no bugs! We were on a cliff side with a much better view of the island. We will not be back to La Luna. The friendliness and accommodations and price at the other condo do not even compare to this overpriced resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you liked the location of Laluna. We work with one Scuba Diving operator, and therefore, the Concierge will recommend that one, even though there are others on the island. The Sunset Cruise may leave from different locations, and to make sure you 'don't miss the boat', the operator will pick up guests directly from the resort.
Laluna is situated on a tranquil bay, and parties are very very infrequent, we are sorry you were disturbed, we doubled checked with the property you had mention and they did not have any party in July. The last party they had was New Years Eve 2011 (more then 1 year ago).

July is considered the 'Rainy' season in the Caribbean. We spray every week with an enviromental friendly pesticide to keep control of the mosquitos . Some persons are more sensitive than others, mosquito repellent is available in our boutique. All Balinese fourposter beds have mosquito nets, and housekeeping spray your room, at turndown, based upon request.
All bookings are fully paid before arrival, as all other hotels policy. Thank you for your feedback, but I would like to disagree with your comment, as we DO greatly care about our guests who stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed your visit to Grenada overall. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

the Calabash. In December 2012 we stayed at both. This review seeks to compare and contrast the two so you can decide which is best for you. For those of you who dislike long reviews or like to know the ending first we preferred the Calabash but there are advantages to them both.

We originally booked Laluna because we liked the stand alone rooms (we were looking for somewhere quiet) and thought it was nearer the diving than the Calabash. When we arrived there we found a big digger working on the road and disturbing the peace. After being woken form a post lunch snooze we discussed this with the owner and he kindly and graciously agreed to refund us the money we had paid in advance. I have to say that he could not have been done more and we are grateful to him for allowing us the chance to move. Nothing said in this review should detract from the fact that he acted like an absolute gentleman.

LOCATION. Laluna is built into a hill overlooking the sea. Effectively this gives a tiered arrangement and each room has beautiful views out to the sea. The Calabash has a number of small blocks built in a horseshoe shape. From Laluna's small beach you have uninterrupted views of the sea. The Calabash's beach is in a bay where a lot of yachts berth so the views are very different. If you want seclusion and isolation then Laluna is for you. The Calabash is directly under the flight path and reasonably close to the airport so, a few times a day you have a short (about 20 seconds) burst of noise.

ROOMS. The Calabash is an all suite resort and the suites are arranged in two story blocks of four. Some of the ground floor suites have whirlpools or even small plunge pools at the back. We like the quiet and initially preferred the idea of Laluna's standalone rooms. In reality we never heard our neighbours at the Calabash.

Lauana's style is Indonesian and the rooms are painted dark in a distressed plaster type finish. We have come across this before and it is fine for a bedroom but is quiet dark if you want to relax in there during the day. The Calabash is more western with whites and pastels and tiled floors. When the heat was too much or it was raining we felt that the Calabash rooms were easier to relax in. When we were staying at Laluna it did rain and we found that subsequently all our cloths smelt damp. They claim to have 'open air bathrooms' but open air is very different from ‘outdoor’. This was not an outdoor shower under the stars but an indoor bathroom open to the elements. I am not sure what the point of this was as it seemed to mean everything got damp when it rained outside. I am sorry to say that we had no hot water at Laluna during our stay (and this was not resolved after it was reported). At the Calabash the bathrooms were definitely cleaner and crisper but maybe slightly less characterful – we had plenty of hot water and lots of clean dry towels.

Laluna claims that each room has an iPod dock but ours just had an old cassette player that reminded me of something from the 80's.

BEACH. The beach at the Calabash was bigger and had a lot of places to sit. We were surprised at Laluna that no one took in the bed covers so when we wanted to lie on the beds after it had rained we had a choice of a wet bed or a hard wooden sun lounger.

RESTAURANT. The reviews of Laluna's restaurants were impressive but we felt unrepresentative. The food was bland and unseasoned. One night I had a crab dish which had so many anchovies (which I normally love) that I was unable to taste anything else. The dynamics of the kitchen were strange and the head chef seemed to spend more time out of the kitchen talking to customers than in it cooking! The Calabash could not have been more different, we did not have one meal that was anything less than great. Some of the food was bordering on historic.

The Calabash has a lunchtime beach restaurant that is separate from the main restaurant and was exceptional. Even if we weren’t staying at the Calabash I would visit just to return to Mark B at the Bash Bar for lunch.

STAFF. I think the staff at Laluna were okay but the staff at the Calabash were exceptional. Many had been with the hotel for ten or even twenty years and were superb ambassadors for the resort.

DIVING. The Calabash has a dive shop on site whereas Launa has an arrangement with a local dive operator who will pick you up from the hotel.

SPA. Both resorts offer spa treatments. We did not have the time to try the spa at Laluna and were put off by the cost of the spa at the Calabash. As a comparison Laluna charges USD 95 for one hour treatment, the Calabash charges USD 150. Spice Island charges USD105 for a 50 minute Swedish massage.

FITNESS. Both resorts have fitness rooms. Laluna's was tiny and from memory had little natural light. The Calabash's was larger with more equipment and lots of light. When we were there the water fountain was not working. If you are a yoga fanatic then Laluna has classes everyday. The Calabash can arrange a class on demand but rather strangely it does not offer regular classes.

EXTRAS. At the Calabash you got a number of little 'freebies' such as a glass of fresh juice on the beach, tea in the afternoon and lovely nibbles at 6:00 in your room. At Laluna you got none.

As you can tell we were very happy with our time at the Calabash and we were pleased that we moved. We are grateful to the management of the Laluna for being so flexible and offering us a refund. If we were in Grenada again then we would have no hesitation in choosing the Calabsah.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest, I understand that Laluna did not suit your needs from your arrival, and we are happy that you were able to enjoy your experience of Grenada in the end. The two properties that you are comparing are very different and therefore will suit two very different types of clients. We wish you a Happy New Year. ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel

Address: PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#6 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laluna Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Yoga pavilion situated directly on the beach, offers daily classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Laluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel St. George`s
Laluna St Georges
Laluna Hotel St Georges
Laluna Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laluna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.