We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laluna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Laluna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laluna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Chillout Special
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I booked Laluna through Luxury Link and stayed for 5 days.

Airport Transfer - Upon reviewing Tripadvisor reviews, we arranged an airport transfer through the hotel. The journey from the airport to the hotel was no more than 20 minutes and yes there is a bumpy road for the last portion of the trip (I would recommend getting a van taxi, it is less painful of a journey down this road :)). The reason for the bumpy road is that there is construction happening in the area and the road has been torn up. Note: There is an IGA (grocery store) on the way to the hotel, it is not within walking distance to the hotel.

Check-In - when we arrived at the hotel, there was a couple checking in, so we were asked to have a seat in the open air lounge and we were provided rum punches (which were awesome...and potent :)). The area was so relaxing that you almost forget that you are waiting to check in. Check-in took a few minutes and we were escorted to the room.

Room - we were in cottage #11, which is at the top of the resort, it was over 80 steps to get up to the cottage (which was needed considering the food...read "Food" below). The room was massive!! The cottage is only attached on one side to another cottage, but there are curtains to create privacy between the two units. The bedroom area was tastefully decorated, and well air conditioned. We were surprised that we were even able to get Canadian TV stations, although we did not watch TV much. The mini bar was stocked with essentials. There is a walk-in closet with a safe. The bathroom is open air (so it does get quite warm in there), but to me it reminded me of camping and it was cool. Basically there are three walls, and the fourth wall is a half wall with blinds. The shower has a great view of the ocean. There is a little side door in the bathroom that opens to a little plunge pool. The toilet is in its own stall. Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap are provided (I have to say I like the full size products instead of the small size, definitely better for the environment). Full size hairdryer was also nice to have.

Food - the food was the best we have had in the Caribbean! The chef introduces himself and lets you know that if you have any special requests that he will try to accommodate. For breakfast there is a range of options, fresh juice of the day as well. Lunch normally consisted of pizza which was tasty (there is normally a daily special, or you can order the pizza how you wish), we found ordering one was good to share. I had read that other reviewers felt the menu was limited, we were planning to go off property for food once or twice, but we enjoyed the food so much that we stayed for all of our dinners. The pasta was homemade and delicious (the nutmeg pasta with mushrooms and sausage, mushroom/caliliou & goat cheese ravioli were both to die for!!). The daily specials changed it up a bit (the barracuda was quite tasty). But my favourite item was a special appetizer (which I asked for every meal after) was the calilou (sp?) and goat cheese. This one one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten!

Drinks - All the drinks were amazing...the wine at dinner was great. The Banana Bailey Colada is my new favourite drink. Great quality all around!

Pool - the pool was refreshing and in close proximity to the bar and beach.

Beach - although public the beach was very private. There are some local vendors that approach you on the beach but they are friendly and they do take no for an answer.

Spa - as part of our Luxury Link package we received an hour long massage for each of us. The setting was amazing and the massage was very relaxing!!

Staff - the staff were the best aspect of Laluna everyone was so friendly and wanting to get to know you by name.

Island Tour - another benefit of the Luxury Link package was a half day island that we booked with Lennox. Lennox was great and we were gone for over 4 hours and saw the majority of the island. Next time we would love to do the rainforest hike, thats Lennox's true passion!

We normally like to try new things and go to new places, but we have already looked into booking Laluna for our 2013 vacation and hope to bring friends with us to have them experience a fantastic place. Thank you Laluna!!

Room Tip: The cottages at the top of the property have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for posting your in-depth review of your stay at Laluna. You must of had a taxi driver cautious with his car to take 20mins to get to Laluna, as it is usually a 8min drive from the airport. Fear not, for those who know our road will be in for a pleasant surprise to find it all concreted early in the new year! For all of your other positive remarks on all aspects of the resort, we heartedly say ‘Thank you’, for we do try to accommodate all of guests needs where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    29
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
177
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston, MO
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the best place we've ever been for what we want.
What do we want? Privacy, intimacy, beauty, convenience, luxury, great food and wine. My wife and I take an annual honeymoon on our anniversary, and look for "us" places. Laluna does it. Room 1 - the beachfront casita - is pure luxury 50' from the ocean.
Everything is super close, but the setting remains super private. 75' to the bar, another 30' to the restaurant. And when you make those long treks, you find a welcoming bartender and a 1st class restaurant. Want something special? Daniel will be your one-on-one consultant.
I shouldn't be saying this because the more people who discover Laluna the harder it will be for us to get in. But let's face it - Laluna has earned the praise and deserves to prosper.

Room Tip: Beachfront Room 1 is an upcharge, but as I was once told, "It doesn't cost any more to go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we are so happy that you have chosen Laluna, as your favourite place to stay in all your travels. Yes, the Beachfront Cottage is a way to spoil yourself on vacation with the Caribbean Sea just steps away from your private veranda. I will let chef Daniele know how much you apprecitated his one-on-one attention, and just so glad that it was a great experience for you both. We look forward to having you stay in the very near future.
ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its our fifth stay with our Laluna family and we are forever left wanting more! From the crazy Italian owner and his lovely wife, to the familiar faces of their wonderful staff. Thanks to all for making our stay so comfortable and romantic. We recommend organizing a private romantic dinner under the stars. Make sure you get to know the chef because he is like a friend who will cook special things for you, I think that is where he shines. Staying at Laluna is like being with friends!

Room Tip: Room 7 or 8 are the best! But if you are fit the rooms up top 11-16 have crazy views! but you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest, we love having our Laluna friends return, only to want to come back yet again and again. We thank you for your loyalty and for allowing us to welcome you back year after year. Yes, Chef Daniele is Italian, hence, very passionate about food and making others love to eat…so he will always try to keep your tummy happy while your soul can continue to relax and unwind, for your deserving vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes that is right! Paradise what can I say!! We are repeat guests and we just love it more each and every time. It is so lovely to see all the warm, friendly staff again like Sindy, Lisa, Urban, Lystra, Tracy, Tahira, Errol......just to name a few. They cannot do enough for you!!

I had an amazing spa treatment on my birthday in their beautiful spa.

The bay Laluna is on is incredible and the view from our cottage was breathtaking.

The newest addition to this gorgeous property are the villas they are building. The owner gave us a tour of the nearest completed one and I thought I died and gone to heaven! Really an incredible space with panoramic views from every single area. Like I said the bay Laluna is on as well as these villas is really something special.

We cannot wait to return again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
The staff are just as excited about seeing familiar faces as you are to see them, keeping Laluna and Grenada, one of the most charming and intimate places to visit.
The new edition of the villas, will give Laluna an opportunity for guests to buy or rent a villa in their future visits, especially if traveling in larger groups, as the villas have 4-5 bedrooms. Or you can continue to keep the hotel part for your more intimate getaway, keeping the romance going….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at Laluna Resort for part of our honeymoon trip and loved every minute of it! It was the most relaxing vacation! We had a very private room and it was so romantic! The room was set up so nice! The bed faced the french doors that opened up to a gorgeous view of the ocean! The beach was also private with only guests from the resort enjoying it. There was plenty of seating and lounge chairs. We had great service! The restaurant was very tasty! I had a massage at the spa and it was so relaxing and wonderful! Overall, this was an amazing resort! We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Room #6 was very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest, congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Laluna for your intimate getaway to relax and unwind after your wedding day.
We are so happy that you enjoyed our Italian cuisine and the good service it came with, along with your massage from our Balinese messeurs. We look forward to your return visit, maybe for you first Wedding Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I visited Laluna for our honeymoon during the first part of October. It was amazing! The location is great, the private huts are perfect, and the food was very well done. There are a lot of different aspects that make this place great and we can't wait to visit again, it feels like our second home and we were so sad to leave!

| The Resort |

The resort itself is located on a hill side snuggled into a mini bay. Luscious greenery and crystal clear turquoise ocean water surrounds it. The private cottages overlook the ocean and the main area of the hotel which includes the lounge, swimming pool, office, and restaurant. The atmosphere of the resort is very calm, relaxing, and peaceful. Every time we left the cottage and went down to the pool or beach it was such a chill out experience down by the pool/beach. You could order drinks whenever you wanted, never had to wait, plenty of sunbathing chairs, plenty of room on the beach. The restaurant was never crowded, you always were seated right away and waited on immediately. The spa was tucked away in the trees and sand toward the back of the resort, which was incredibly peaceful. Overall, the entire vibe of the place was just what we needed after the stresses of planning a wedding. Perfect.

| The Cottage |

We were room 8 and it had a beautiful view of the beach and water that stretched on for miles. We were a little skeptical at first of room 8 because there was another cottage to the right of us that in order to get to, they had to walk right in front of our cottage and plunge pool. However, it was never and issue. The cottage featured a huge porch in the front with the plunge pool off to the side, plenty of seating as well. Once inside, the cottage features only one main room, the bedroom. It had a massive king sized bed with a canopy and mosquito net, which we never used. A mini fridge was located in the room along with a TV (never used). The main bedroom does have a A/C unit, which was a must have! There is a pretty good sized closet for longer stays that had shelves and a safe as well. The open air bathroom was awesome! You could be taking a shower and look out and see the ocean, great views. Directly from the bathroom you could step out of a saloon style door and be at the plunge pool on the porch. We had zero complaints with the room, it was so nice and the style and theme was perfect for what we were looking for.

| The Food |

The food was great as well! Not a huge menu but that didn't really phase us, we were able to eat there every night but one and not get tired of it. The Caesar salad is a must have for an appetizer. Every entree is great as well, I wasn't able to try any seafood as I am allergic to shell fish but it sure did look good. The only complaint with the food is there were out of an entree for the whole week we were there :( and it was one we really wanted to try! Other than that, if you book Laluna with one of the meal packages like we did, you won't be disappointed.

| The Beach |

The beach was great as well, even though it's a public beach, it's still very private with few people crowding it. The entire time we were there, it was just Laluna guests on the beach. The only complaint, for me was a big one, but the beach hagglers sometimes can get pretty bad, one after the other. At one point I got firm with one stating we already bought his necklace the day before and we were just trying to relax and enjoy the beach. He did not like that and sat over by a tree for what seemed like a couple hours and would glare at us from time to time, pretty uncomfortable. The resort does have chairs out on the beach under umbrella trees for the guests to use so comfort was not an issue while on the beach or lounge deck.

Overall, we would highly recommend Laluna as a honeymoon or anniversary spot with the package that includes breakfast and lunch, two spa treatments, candle lit beach dinner, rainforest hike, and sunset boat cruise, definitely worth it! We are planning to come back for one of our anniversaries.

Great job Laluna for making our honeymoon special!

Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you so much for your most in-depth review, that will be very helpful to other persons interested in booking Laluna for their holiday escape.
It is very rare that we get any vendors along our beach, and the one or two that do, usually never bother our guests, but I will bring this to the attention of the management to have a chat with the one or two guys that do try to sell their wares to our guests, as the local Grenadians are normally very friendly and not pushy.
We look forward to having your stay with us in the future and congratulations on your wedding.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have traveled the caribbean for several years and this is the best. We stayed in the beach cottage and WOW. It felt like your own little world of peace and relaxation. The most impressive was the food. Because of our past experiences with eating in the caribbean, we had concluded that bad food is just part of the experience until La Luna. We bought lobsters from a man in town and he delivered them to our chef to cook. We paid $30 us for two of the biggest lobsters I had ever seen. They set up a table on the beach for our anniversary and we enjoyed every bite of the lobster prepared three different ways. We also ate at the Beach House next door and it was also very good. The service was also very impressive. Someone went to our room several times per day and made up our bed and turned down the bed at night. One night we wanted a dessert they had at the Beach House and Sindy called and had it brought to us. The driving in Grenada is not relaxing. We rented a car to drive around and the roads were terrible. There are no street signs and we stayed lost for several hours. The monkeys are the best attraction at Grand Etang. We went twice it was so cool. I would say that La Luna is the best resort on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your cottage on the beach, which really gives you a lot of privacy and a sense that you are in your own little piece of paradise with the beach at your footsteps. I will let Sindy know that you mentioned her in this review, as we are very proud of our staff and teamwork to make our guests feel right at home.
We look forward to having you again at Laluna.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel

Address: PO Box 1500 | Morne Rouge, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#5 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laluna Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Yoga pavilion situated directly on the beach, offers daily classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Laluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel St. George`s
Laluna St Georges
Laluna Hotel St Georges
Laluna Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laluna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.