We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel
Save Saved
You added Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel to your Saves list
P.O.Box 728, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 St. George's B&B and Inns
nova scotia, canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Home from another wonderful winter getaway. If you are looking for a warm friendly clean on the beach holiday, this is the place to go. Most apt have a kitchens Some indoors and some patio cooking which I so enjoy. Accommodations to suite all from single to families.Joining bedrooms to a common kitchen or joining apartments via balcony doors. Great little gazebo to have catered breakfasted while gazing out over the water. Through a side door by the gardens and out onto 2 miles of beach with eating facilities along the way as well as next door that serve the BEST coconut chicken, shrimp. Top of the driveway is the fantastic bus service to take you anywhere as well as a post office. Shopping at Spice Island Mall for groceries is a pleasant walk or you can take the bus. there are Taxies right outside the grocery store to assist you, approx $30.00EC. Lennie
and Sharon and there staff make your stay unforgettable. They will try to fullfil your wishes and assist you in what ever way they can. Nicki in the office will assist you in tour arrangements, flights,Internet , she is fantastic ,she defiantly tries to makes your holidays stress free .you will not be disappointed, it is paradise and planning for our return again for next winter which will be visit #5!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have the best views and the ground floor gives you view of the gardens and some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were visiting Grenada and Carriacou for a month and had decided we wanted to stay on Grande Anse Beach for the 1st two weeks (March 24 to April 6, 2012). After lots of research, especially on Trip Advisor, we settled on the Grand Anse Beach Palace because it had everything we wanted and at a very reasonable price. Since we were staying there for 2 weeks we wanted a full kitchen, a balcony with a good view, and right on the beach. This is not always easy to accomplish, but we were very happy with our choice. The kitchen had everything we needed, the bedroom and private bathroom was nice (good a/c) and the balcony was excellent – we had most of our meals there.

We arrived in Grenada at 6:30 am were in our room by about 8 am, which made it seem like we had an extra day since our arrival day ended up providing a full day at our destination. We were very pleased that our room was available immediately. When we booked our room, we knew that construction on new units was still taking place, but were assured that all the noisiest work was done and that was true. Nevertheless, we were upgraded to a large suite that was available in the building next to it. Our room there on the 2nd floor has an even better view from the balcony, it has a large kitchen and eating area and 5 connecting bedrooms! We were using one of the bedrooms and the other connecting doors are locked. Two of the connected bedrooms have separate entrances so can be rented separately. This worked out perfectly for us. The construction work on the other building was never an issue.

Sharon and Lennie are excellent hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. The Beach Palace was truly a home away from home. Located on the north end of the beach, it is quiet and the water always seemed more calm there then further down the beach. Although the beach is narrow at this end, there is plenty of beach and shade a few steps away for lounging (we don’t do a lot of that anyway). The hotel’s garden is also a pleasant place to relax, enjoy a drink, and catch up on your email etc. There was also a large supermarket a short walk away, so getting provisions was easy.

We normally travel independently and look for small places in good locations. We are not interested in large 5 star resorts, so if that is your preference, the Beach Palace may not be for you. Our time there was most enjoyable since the hotel was exactly what we were looking for, the beach was wonderful, wide with nice sand and also very long (2 miles/3 km). We walked the beach early almost every morning before breakfast and then went swimming and snorkeling throughout the day. We took one private day tour around the island, a couple of visits to St. George (by local bus), and a day at La Sagesse (very interesting nature walk and an excellent restaurant). Two weeks flew by as we enjoyed the wonderful beach and chatting with the friendly locals.

We recommend the Grand Anse Beach Palace highly and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors will have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were 5 couples travelling together this time. (It seems our travel family is ever growing!) We were greeted by owner, Sharon, and her friendly staff upon arrival. This was our first stay at "The Palace" since the renovations were completed last year. The renovations are awesome. King size beds and outdoor kitchens are fantastic. Due to the renovations the restaurant was removed from the main building to make more rooms, however the restaurant has been moved to "The Rickety" as Sharon calls it, which is a beautiful outdoor covered deck.
If you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, convenience and a helpful, friendly staff this is the place to stay in Grenada. As my friend Glenn says, "When you come to "The Palace" you meet new friends, but when you leave you have some new family." We were sorry that Lennie was away and we didn't get a chance to see him. Next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Palace for 10 days while we visited our daughter and son-in-law in Grenada. We arrived around 9pm and although our children had picked up our room keys earlier in the day, the staff was still up and waiting to greet us and carry our bags. The hotel itself appears older but is well maintained and very clean. Our room was on the second floor and had a wonderful patio/kitchen/dining area in the open air overlooking the gardens and ocean. The hotel itself is a mere 30 feet from the ocean. It has a small kitchen that serves breakfast and I understand will serve lunch or dinner with advance notice. On the grounds is a large BBQ grill that can be used by guests; we made use of it one night with fresh caught lobster and grilled fresh vegetables. It was fantastic. Many of the other guests came out and joined us and soon we had a regular backyard party! All the staff was very friendly and made sure that everything was to our liking. I think Sharon, the owner, spoke with every guest, everyday, to make sure we had all we needed. The kitchen has an apartment size refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave and coffee maker plus plates, cups, etc. It was great to wake up early to the gentle pounding of the waves and sit out on the balcony, enjoying our morning coffee. The bedroom was very large with a king size bed and large walk-in closet. The bathroom was clean and of standard size. The rooms have both US/EURO type electrical plugs so no conversion plugs were needed. The only thing about the property I didn't like was the chainlink/barbwire fence separating the grounds from the beach. Although access was easy through a gate, I still didn't like looking at the ocean through the fence. None of the other hotels along the beach had fences so I'm not sure why they felt they needed one, but the grounds were secure. Another hotel, Jenny's Place, is right next door, giving another option for a restaurant. Speaking of restaurants, the thing we noticed about ALL of them is that they do not get in a hurry about anything: taking orders, bringing food, bringing the check, nothing. Now, don't interpret this as poor service, its not. I feel it is just that Grenada is not yet used to what WE are used to as far as service. Besides, you came here to relax right? Just give yourself plenty of time for meals and enjoy, and that includes the native dishes.
Grand Anse beach itself is about 3 miles long and the Beach Palace is located on the very north end. The white sand is perfect for walking and the water is beautiful. Restaurants and bars are located all along the beach but not too close to make your stroll feel crowded. We toured the island and visited several sites. The island is very beautiful and has not yet been spoiled by a lot of tourist activity. It appears that many people travel to the island by boat to stay and play for a few days. We arrived the day before the Grenadian Independance Day and it was really special to see all the National pride by it's citizens. The National colors were everywhere with school children parading through the streets and waving flags in celebration.
One day we went scuba diving with the Grenada Dive Center, they took us to a local reef and the underwater sculpture park. The reef was amazing and teeming with tropical fish and turtles. This was a highlight of our trip. The owners of the Grenada Dive Center could not have been more pleasant.

Room Tip: Go with the second floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Sussex England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at the Palace for 7 weeks from mid Dec 12, great location right on the beach our room (Queen Brenda) was the best with 2 balconies overlooking the beach and sunsets. Good value and well equipped, but the real joy of the place was the incredible helpfulness of all that worked there. Sharon and Lenny the owners are an amazing couple who can't do enough to help, lifts to the mall, airport and island tours and a very nice Christmas buffet. All the other staff are great, especially Michelle who is an absolute diamond and was so helpful and delightful. This was our 5th stay in Grenada and this is an ideal place from which to experience the island, look forard to our return.

Room Tip: Queen Brenda 25th, the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed on the second floor for a week Dec/Jan. Large bedroom, comfortable bed, A/C. Plenty of hangers in the closet. WiFi worked well. TV but we never did use it. Electrical outlets both US style (still 220v) and BS-1363, so we didn't need the adaptors we brought. Our full kitchen was "outside" on the large covered veranda; we absolutely LOVED this arrangement. Great sunset views every night. There is indeed fencing topped with barbed wire as mentioned in a previous review. Our hosts were very helpful with local knowledge and in making arrangements for activities including tours and a trip to Carriacou. We had fun taking the buses around town and to the stores; the bus stops at the top of the driveway. We thought it was a great location at the north end of GA Beach. This may not be the "best" area of the beach but is good for swimming right out front. A bit of sea grass to step over, then all sandy bottom. Or walk 2 minutes down the beach and you are at the wide, sandy part, if that is what you prefer. There is a small reef out bit where you can snorkel. A 10 minute walk along the beach takes you to the craft center, and you can head over to the main road another block to a grocery store. Take a bus or a taxi back to the Palace with your packages. Several restaurants within walking distance. We ate at Jenny's next door, Coconuts down the beach 5 minutes, had a roti for lunch one day at the craft market. We liked being able to hear the waves crashing and the frogs piping at night. Bring bug repellant and use it. Sand flies on the beach bit me early in the morning the first day, while I was yet unaware of them. They are called "no-see-ums" for a reason. There were also some mosquitos, dawn & dusk. The Caribbean mosquitos are so much smaller and quicker than our home-grown mosquitos, but equally hungry. The palace is not fancy, but clean, safe, and comfortable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Better view from higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a lovely, warm and welcoming place. The Grand Anse Beach Palace is closer than we thought possible to the water, and waking up to hear the waves crashing each morning was very special. Our apartment on the first floor had a fully equipped, self-contained kitchen on the balcony - and cooking locally caught octopus, looking out to sea as the sun set was truly memorable. It's at the far end of Grand Anse - known for being the best beach on the island. You can get to everything by walking along the beach, and we went for days without putting on shoes at all.
Sharon and Lennie made us feel at home whilst also giving us our space, and we were sad to say goodbye after a week of total relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 728, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern end of the Grand Anse beach only steps away from the waters edge.The Palace welcomes you with the bright Caribbean sun and genuine hospitality. Our beachfront apartment is quite romantic and exquisite with the best view from every room and balconies overlooking the ocean.Our apartments are all air conditioned, with lovely balconies and a fantastic view of the grand Anse beach, you can soak up the sun on the lovely white sand or take a dip in the blue calm water.The perfect location for persons seeking business and pleasure. Just 15 minutes away from the airport and 5 minutes to the town of St.George's, the capital of Grenada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.