We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on Grand Anse Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umbrellas Beach Bar

Umbrellas Beach Bar
Grand Anse Beach, St. George's, Grenada
+1(473)439-9149
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: American, International, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Kick back and relax under the shade of Umbrellas! The newest and Coolest Beach Bar on Grand Anse Beach. A walk up from the sea, a few frosty drinks, best views on our rooftop deck, Umbrellas is the Ultimate Beach Bar experience Caribbean style. Located on the famous Grand Anse Beach, Umbrellas Beach Bar is a must visit.Find us on facebook at Umbrellas Beach Bar Grenada
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great spot on Grand Anse Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent the day on Grand Anse Beach right in front of Umbrellas restaurant. Rented chairs form local outside restaurant. He also sold cold beer. Paid 5 EC per beer and found out later we should have paid 3 for 10 EC.
Had lunch at Umbrellas. The waitress was very friendly. The food was amazing. The portion sizes were huge. And the prices were decent. The whole restaurant was very clean. And they seem to have a very good entertainment calendar.
Have already recommended this bar to friends who are thinking of going to Grenada.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    209
    47
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun environment on the beach ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed a drink or two at Umbrellas .... Great atmosphere, but could use more variety on their food menu. Excellent location right on Grand Anse Beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just come back from island hopping in the Caribbean. We spent a week on Grenada at the Coyoba hotel (bed and breakfast only) next door to Umbrellas and what an oasis it was. We spent most lunchtimes and many evenings at Umbrellas where the food was varied and very good. We can particularly recommend the spicey chicken wings, love bites (breaded chunks of fish) - ask for tamarind sauce to dip, and chilli nachos. The ribs and barracuda were also good, and all seemed great value.
Umbrellas does not allow booking so we just turned up and sometimes had to share a table. We met some interesting people this way and not just other holidaymakers. It is owned by 3 guys and Wayne (one of them) was always around checking that all was going well. Once he recognised us as regular customers he would find the time to say hello and have a chat, it was very well run.
If we have one tiny criticism it's that the waitresses did not smile, but they were very efficient. A real find on the Grand Anse beach, thank you Umbrellas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Umbrellas is one of my favorite restaurants in Grenada just for the food and ambiance. Every time you visit, you can expect the same quality food with no differences. However, the service in my opinion is not up to par. The waitstaff do not make you feel welcome at all...its as if you are annoying them by just coming into the restaurant!

That aside, the burgers are amazing and the ambiance is perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good on one day......poor on the other”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I were impressed with this place so we decided to try it twice.....not such a good idea.
Trust me the food is great ..especially the wings...but we waited 30mins plus for just wings...at this point we were still fans,but twenty minutes for a glass of water and a further fifteen for change...

Again the food is superb...but service is just as important

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umbrellas Beach Bar also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Umbrellas Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umbrellas Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.