We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're here to check in...where are you????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grooms Beach Villas and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grooms Beach Villas and Resort to your Saves list
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Point Salines | P.O. Box 1643, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“We're here to check in...where are you????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

On November 12th, 2011, we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm. This was the first night of our honeymoon. We had made and paid for the reservation in July with a full confirmation from the hotel. We showed that we were arriving at 2210 and was not told there was a problem with the late arrival. Well...we were dropped off at the hotel by taxi, the front office door was open....but no one to be found. We sat there for about an hour and took a walk around the area. We landed up taking the pillows of the couch in the front office and taking them and our suitcases out to the pool for our WEDDING NIGHT :) If I wasn't so tired, I would have laughed! Well...there was a breeze and the pool was lovely!!! The security guard found us there sleeping at the pool around 2am. He was very apologetic and took us to a room above the front office (I don't think they normally use it for guests though). We got up at 6am to meet the sailboat we had chartered, We went to the front desk, with our three hours of sleep, and were told, they DID have our reservation on record (I had the receipt in my hand showing PAID IS FULL - balance - $0.00) No apology for sleeping outside and were told we owed them $100.00 for the three hours..........I finally broke down and cried from exhaustion. The place looked very niced and I'm sure it is a great place to stay, but teach your staff a little customer service perhaps.....(our best giggle was that the night security guard have left a porn site on the front desk computer when he was no where to be found!!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was our first visit to Grooms Beach Villas but was our third extended visit to Grenada. Perviously we stayed at similar inns (one on Grand Anse and the other at Lance Aux Espines) that were equipped as apartments to allow cooking our own meals and the opportunity to really settle in at home in Grenada. Grooms Beach Villas was by a good margin the best and surpassed expectations in many ways. Grooms Beach Villas are one of the few places we've stayed that is better than the brochures imply.

We stayed nearly a month in a two bedroom villa. We were a little nervous with this selection because it was hard to really sort out the convenience of the location, tranquility of the area and overall condition of the resort from information on the web. Those worries disappeared the first five minutes of our visit. The resort is very clean, well maintained and still feels new in many ways. The pool, for example, is cleaner and nicer than we've found at many much more expensive resorts. The staff is not large since the resort is not large. This means very personal service. Carol and Gloria told us on our first morning, "We want you to be happy." Their attention to our every need during the time there bore this out to be true. We felt like family by the time we left.

Our comments are aimed mainly at people looking to spend a week or more and want to settle into Grenada. First, regarding location, the main attractions are convenience, quiet and proximity to arguably the best beaches on Grenada. As far as convenience, it is hard to beat the two minute ride from the airport. In fact, when our daughter and son-in-law came to spend a week with us I sat on our deck and waited until I saw the plane, then made the fifteen minute walk to the airport to meet them. We did not get a car and did not need one. We used buses which are really minivans each operating independently. They are very safe and economical. They are also a fun way to really live like you belong there. Many of the local rides to the store or even St. Georges cost as little as $1 US. While Grooms is beyond the "ordinary" bus routes, Grenadan busses are independently owned and don't run precise routes like US or UK busses. This means that there is no problem finding a bus from the Grooms Beach area. Just walk to the main road, about 500 yards, and wait at the corner. You will get invited to ride a bus. Taxis are very available and can take you anywhere. They are clean, safe and for most desitinations, cheaper than hiring a car. Grooms Beach staff can have a taxi on site for you within minutes. The same is true for most places you might go and need a return ride to Grooms.

The beaches immediately at Grooms are better than the brochures can say. Two secluded beaches are accessible from the resort by about a 100 yard walk. One beach is soft sand and includes one of the island's best restaurants,The Beach House, as well as a small but very exclusive spa resort, La Luna. The La Luna website is a good place to look for the only aerial photo showing Grooms Beach Villas. In the LaLuna air photo Grooms Beach Villas is visible at the lower right in a "V" shape. From that photo you will see how close it is to the beach and how rural the environment is. This resort is not in the noise and hustle of the big resorts. It is in a quiet neighborhood where the main sounds you will hear in the morning are birds, goats, a local cow and moms getting their kids off to school. The main sounds most evenings were the sounds of tropical "peepers." Not shown in the LaLuna photo is an even better beach just to the right of the LaLuna photo beyond the rock outcrop. This beach is also soft clean sand but has nothing on it. It is wider than the LaLuna/Beach House Beach with plenty of shade and sunny spots. The only access is the one path from the back of Grooms Villas. Most of the time it was only us and a few locals. One very good thing about Grenada is that all beaches are public. At times, figuring out how to get to them can be fun, but you have access to each and every one. Unlike other spots, rare is the vendor trying to sell stuff and unlike some other Caribbean destinations no trace of Ganja. What you will see is local families who know the beach coming for weekend outings or local sweet hearts escaping for a quiet romantic spot away from the crowds.

Regarding the tranquility, we worried about the proximity of a nearby pub, the Old Skool. It is right next to Grooms Beach. The only time there was any evening sound of substance was two event nights over the course of 28 days. Old Skool is a hang out for St. George's University Vet students who have an amateur band that provided the sound on the two louder evenings. Old Skool is an asset. It is simple but a fun place to experience a bit of the local connection of Grenada and America.

We recognize we were there at low season, as such the resort restaurant was not operating. That is no problem because two of the island's best restaurants are within walking distance--the Aquarium and The Beach House. They are fabulous, especially the Aquarium on Sunday afternoon. But again, don't miss the chance to cook local. Get a book like Ann Vanderhoof's book "Embarrassment of Mangos" and the sequel, "The Spice Necklace" for recipes. We tried many of her recipes with local fish, meat and produce and found them big winners. Be sure and try the Lambie recipies.

During our stay we cooked most of our own meals and ate like kings and queens. We made a weekly trip by bus to the fish market in St. Georges as well as fruit and vegetable markets. We had the best tuna and snapper ever from this market. If you like fresh fruit and veggies, it does not get better than this. To supplement the fish, fruit and veggies, the IGA at Spiceland Mall minutes away by bus or taxi has most of the selection of a small US or UK supermarket at prices not much different from the US. There is also a fruit and veg stand about a mile away that we would include on walks now and then for really good fresh stuff.

An important part of our enjoyment was walking. The area is absolutely safe and we made many exploration walks. Check these out when you are there. One hike was to the end of the road past the Aquarium. Another is through the town of Calliste to a variety of destinations. You can walk past the large animals at the Vet School around the back of the airport runway to a secluded beach seemingly only visited by fisherman with thousands of conch shells. There is a primitive path from Grooms behind LaLuna to Mourne Rouge Bay. The only obstacle we encountered on that one was a cow one day. Walk down to the beach by the Aquarium via a path that starts just short of the Rex Resort security gate.

When you are done walking, swim or snorkel. The best snorkeling we found was on the left side (facing the sea) around the rocks from the beach to the left of Grooms extending all along the Rex beachfront to the Aquarium. The snorkeling is good but not the best in the world. You will find clear water, plenty of fish and coral but colours are not as extreme as a place like Curacao or major coral parks. Swimming is good in the bays of both beaches at Grooms. The waves come in enough to give some fun bobbing up and down in the water, but not as strong as other places in the island. Most days I was able to comfortably swim a round trip across the bays.

Finally, a couple of details that added to our experience. We checked beforehand to learn about power supply and confirmed that Grooms has both 220v and 110v so American or UK appliances work. We learned that the kitchen did not have a blender so we brought ours and were glad we did. Same goes for a small boom box to play cd's. One unexpected advantage of the Grooms location is breezes. The location on a hill was more comfortable for us than our previous apartments right at water level. Lastly and depending on your taste take in a local church. Worship in this country is alive. On our first Sunday we walked to our "bus" spot and got picked up by a fellow who provided us door to door church transportation the rest of the stay. It will add to your Grenada experience.

Enjoy! We will be back.

Room Tip: For short term value, choose a standard room. For up to a week providing self-catering possiblilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Grooms is located really close to the airport, less than a minutes drive but surprisingly the taking off and landing of the crafts are not a disturbance. It means though that the town is a little way off and you need a taxi/bus to get around. The Grooms has a very nice pool by the restaurant/bar that serve really great dishes. You just need to ask for what it is that you want and the chef on duty will prepare it. The beach is a stone's throw away, but you have to leave the property and walk along a foot trail to get there. There's a restaurant by the beach so you can have food/drinks when you are down there (they are a bit expensive though). A comfortable bed, internet, tv, ac, mini fridge, coffee maker complete the decor in the large space for the room. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom with ample closet space and storage areas. Very spacious! Room service is daily but they didn't always replenish my stock of tea and sugar or change my utensils. Nonetheless the Grooms is a wonderful place to stay and if you get the chance, make sure you do!

Room Tip: Get a room thats out of the way of people traffic, otherwise you will be hearing the footsteps passi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My Husband and I are worldwide travellers, and I must say Grooms Beach Resort and Villas was a excellent choice.
The reosort is located in the ideal area, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The environment is peaceful and tranquil. The beach is only two minutes walk and the pool is clean and well maintained so you have two excellent choices. This is a fairly new development with spacious rooms that are clean,comfortable, well maintained and affordable.The services definitley exceeded our expectation. The staff members are professional and friendly.They ensure our comfort. I'll definitlely recommend grooms beach resort and villas not only to family and friends but to anyone visiting this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Service was excellent - staff was very cordial, friendly and accommodating. They helped us in accessing our tour guide, who was quite knowledgeable (Kennedy's Tours). We stayed in one of the standard rooms and it was quite comfortable for our purposes. The Kitchenette was very well equipped, although we didn't make much use of it, as we were out every day. The bed was a queen size - very cosy. We liked the fact that we could access cable, although the number of stations were limited. The patio had a beautiful view of the swimming pool, which we were allowed to use even way past the stipulated time. Not too much chlorine and the water was always warm, even at midnight, which we loved. The pool bar attendant was very nice and the chef who prepared breakfast for us every day was really courteous. He advised that we go to dinner at La Luna restaurant next door where he's the chef at night - an absolutely fantastic experience! We thank him greatly! Dr. Groom's Beach is really beautiful, so if you don't plan to travel much out of the resort and can't make it to Grand Anse, you'll still be in for a treat. The only thing that we thought was disappointing is that although we were advised that accommodation included breakfast - what they offered was very limited. Anything additional you were required to pay for it and food is very costly in Grenada. The resort's location was convenient as it's about 2 mins. drive from the airport and about 6 minutes drive from Grand Anse and about 10 - 12 minutes drive away from the capital, St. George's. Also, the resort is very close to another lovely beach called Magazine Beach and the popular Aquarium Bar/Restaurant located on the beach. A really breathtaking place. Lovely service, great drinks and tasty food. I fell in love with their "Hurricane Ivan" drink, lol. The cost of accommodation seems reasonable in comparison to other resorts and hotels we checked out. My partner and I were a bit sad to leave, we had so much fun and really enjoyed the resort. My advice is if you're in Grenada, be sure to do a couple of the tours - it makes the experience much more fulfilling.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

A large group of us (4 adults + 3 children) stayed at one of the "town houses" at Grooms. Proximity to the beach and a quiet pool area were highlights. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and very helpful. We loved that we could cook our own meals, and venture down to the Beach House Restaurant and Old Skool Bar at our leisure. We originally planned to stay for 2 nights, but had to stay another - the staff was very flexible and able to meet our needs; they even let us stay until 6:00 on our check-out day. They also helped us make our way into town a couple of times via mini-bus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Warm and friendly staff awaits you,i was recommended to this resort by a taxi owner our intention was to stay three nights in Grenada which we already stay four nights in Barbados not knowing whether we would like it there we only book one night,after we were finish and taken to our room i was force to come back and booked for the other two nights the service was good,the room was very spacious and clean we visit the beaches and also take the fiery to carricou for a day which we enjoyed.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grooms Beach Villas and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grooms Beach Villas and Resort

Address: Point Salines | P.O. Box 1643, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grooms Beach Villas and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm friendly service, outstanding accommodation with the convenience of kitchen facilities in most rooms, a pool bar, restaurant and laundry room and a lush garden adds to the charm of this new Caribbean Resort. It is ideally located just a few steps away from the Dr. Grooms Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grooms Beach Villas and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grooms Beach Villas Hotel St. George`s
Grooms Beach Villas And Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grooms Beach Villas and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.