We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Beach Resort

Mariposa Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Mariposa Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Morne Rouge | PO Box 1392, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
A TripAdvisor Member
“Look forward to going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

Two of us had an excellent short but very enjoyable break at Mariposa.

Excellent standards were shown with great hospitality from teh managers and staff.

The best but for us was an exceedingly good breakfast overlooking the bay.

We both look forward to going back toi Mariposa next year.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford on Avon
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

I thought it would be nice to confirm that I fully agree with the writer of the review from Birmingham UK .We went to Grenada in November when most hotels were closed for repairs.

We fell on the Mariposa as one of the few hotels open when we decided to visit for 5 days from Barbados
What luck--the room and view were superb---the food -quality and quantity out of this world -simply excellent

The situation of the hotel is on the beautiful beach and the staff and owners cannot do enough for you to make sure your stay is unforgettable

We are not going back to Barbados this year but we are going to the Mariposa and have booked two holidays

Thank you all for ensuring that we are returning to eat and drink and watch those incredible sunsets

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

This place has something for everybody. Families, Seniors but particularly couples in romantic situations.

The view from the Resort and apartments over the Morne Rouge bay and beach is superb as is gazing at it over breakfast from the resort restaurant.

The Mariposa has its own pool and bar overlooking the beach but also has a superb beachside restaurant where the food is good, fresh fish and top rate Italian served in a truly relaxed ambience; a short taxi drive away. Ever helpful and charming Owner/Manager Leonardo Zuchi will make any arrangements. Try it - you won't forget it.

We were there March 2005 and intend to go back as soon as we are able

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

I had seen and heard many things about the hotel however I gave it a try and i was not disappointed.
The rooms large, bright, the sunset are the best and the new chef has done wonders.
I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2004

The Toronto traveler is correct, this place is terrible. The only good thing was the staff, who tried to make things a little better. On Friday and Saturday nights the nightclub at the bottom of the resort goes until dawn with hundreds of people milling around, yelling and racing cars around. The beach is ok, but no snorkleing. The owners have no interest in their guests, and this place shows it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2004

STAY AWAY! I agree...I spent a few nights there - the rooms are excellent but the food is terrible and the staff is untrained and unskilled. 10 US for cold toast and juice from a box...nonono. Lunch and dinner is not eatable but still extremely costly. The staff is a joke, the cuban resturant manager look like a young version of Basil from Fawlty Towers. All guests were upset and the agent for Condor Travel decided to take the place out of the program since NONE of the guests were happy..An English family decided to relokate because of the problems, the others were just cursing. Apparently AC wasnt working in one room, all safes were not working (staff couldnt work out how to fix the pin codes) etc etc...

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2004

I am happy to report that the Mariposa was an absolute joy! Having read a report from a canadian guest I went with much trepedation but was very pleasantly surprised. The accomodation was to a very high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would have absolutely no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone and will be returning later this year. You may be interested to know that my mother stayed at the Rainbow Inn and I can honestly say that everyone who reviewed this previously were correct, it is the absolute Pitts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Beach Resort

Address: Morne Rouge | PO Box 1392, St. George's, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#12 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Beach Resort 3*
Also Known As:
Mariposa Beach Hotel
Mariposa Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.