We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spitthedogwales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“spitthedogwales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently returned from two weeks at Coyaba Beach Resort, Grenada. This hotel is in a great location leading directly on to Grand Anse Beach which is beautiful with crystal clear water. The hotel was excellent with really good food with four course menu for lunch or dinner in both restaurants. The pool bar restaurant also offers burgers, sandwiches etc lunch time. The staff are very friendly and will endeavour to get you anything you ask for. Stanley, Nigel, Desra, Roderick are just a few of the staff who are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the bathroom is a bit tired, but also very clean. Gardens are tended constantly. Beach towels changed in your room daily, if extra needed go to reception where they can be obtained. The hotel is small so we met some lovely people. There are vendors on the beach but a polite 'no thank you' they will go on their way. With high unemployment they are just trying to earn some money. We would defintely return to this hotel. The only downside are the mossies, but apparently the best deterent is 'Off' purchased at the local supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    229
    67
    27
    14
See reviews for
127
390
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, West Indies
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Coyaba Beach Resort is one of the best places to stay on the glorious Grand Anse beach. Definitely makes for a fantastic holiday staying on that beach. There are a few lovely restaurants nearby you can walk to or quite a few more exotic ones you can drive to. Great vacation destination!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

June 2013. Just got back from Coyaba beach resort Grenada. We stayed for a week on an all inclusive package purchased from American Airlines. The resort is nice and clean and the staff is generally friendly and accommodating. Having stayed over the past 10 years at various resorts in the same price range we were slightly disappointed and draw to future travelers some of the areas that we noted.
1. Upon arrival to the resort we were not welcomed with any tropical drink or cool towel despite having traveled for approximately 9 hours from Boston.(the resort is about 15 minutes from the airport with a taxi cost of $16.00 US)
2. Mosquitoes were a problem, and we recommend bringing plenty of repellant and after bite products. The mosquitoes were not only around only at night, but also during the day and beach area if you stayed in the shade or under one of the trees.
3. Plug/outlets need a converter in order to run US type items such as laptops and phone chargers. The front desk can supply a converter but they charge your room $100 (US) and the charges are removed when you return the unit.
4. Bring your own water bottle such as a sports bottle. Bottled water is virtually unavailable and we had to purchase two of the three water bottles they had at the small and limited gift store and refill them at the pool bar. Because of the heat you need to take care to avoid dehydration. We used faucet water when necessary and had no problems.
5. The room safe was located more than 5 feet from the floor making access a difficult and the safety not always locked properly even though the door was closed.
6. The room refrigerator was empty and we were surprised that there was no water, juice or drinks in the room refrigerator even though we were on the all-inclusive plan. There was a teakettle for heating hot water for instant tea or instant coffee. This was the first time that we experienced an empty room refrigerator where we paid for an all-inclusive plan.
7. Bring small bills if you're traveling from the US. The front desk was unable on two separate occasions to make change for a $20 bill. On one occasion, we were told to go across the street to the bank in the small mall next to the KFC.
8. We were a little disappointed with the limited availability of fruit at breakfast. Every morning was basically the same three options, watermelon, cantaloupe and pineapple. We saw limited mango twice, and when it was gone it was not refilled. We brought this to the attention of the manager during managers night and he indicated that he would look into this. Others from the resort had indicated that they had gone to an off resort buffet and was surprised at the quantity and variety of tropical fruits which were available.
7. The resort has a nice location on the beach. I would choose your room location carefully as the resort is located next to a nightclub/beach bar on the left side and across from a KFC and shopping mall. The rooms at the front of the resort are subject to road noise and traffic and some rooms on the left side are subject to noise from the nightclub beach bar. We were on the right side facing the beach and our room was generally quiet. It was our understanding that the resort was approximately 50% full during our visit.
8. There were a limited bar liquors available with no Jack Daniels, Khalua, and there was an additional charge if you wanted Hennessy. There was virtually no American whiskey available unless you wanted to go across the street to the mall, which contained an IGA supermarket, and had a wide array of liquors had a reasonable price.
9. The beach is clean and well maintained (Apparently by the Country of Grenada). In speaking with one of the individuals who was cleaning the beach. She was very personable, proud of her country and informative as to local attractions. Even though this is generally an adult resort the public beach is frequented by children, vendors, local families.(except for the occasional crying baby it was quiet) Most vendors are polite but persistent . (One of the vendors Alvin is extremely persistent but talented in his wood carving and his prices are very reasonable). It appeared that those who use the beach most suffered the most frequent bug bites
10. The bathroom is very basic and It is more three star than a four-star. Water pressure was a problem on two of the days and the management seemed to be very responsive to this issue. The water was solar heated and on more than one day the water was barely warm.
11. There were limited beach towels. You get two beach towels at the room but through the front desk we got two additional towels for a total of four. However, the following day Housekeeping took the two additional towels, leaving us with the original two. We noticed other couples who seem to have brought a couple of large beach towels for their chairs. The beach chairs were very comfortable and we noticed on one occasion, the staff cleaning the chairs with a power washer.
12. Make sure you follow the rules. At dinner, men are required to wear shoes and elegant leather dress sandals are not acceptable. During managers night, the manager explained that it is "the girls" who set the evening dress code. They do have a casual restaurant next to the pool if you don't wear the "required footwear". During afternoon tea we requested ice cream and we were told that we had to move to the casual restaurant in order to have the ice cream. Apparently the "Rules" are that the area where you can drink tea and enjoy their cookies does not allow for the consumption of ice cream.
We will let you, the reader, determine whether the above points are pros or cons. We are in our late 50s early 60s and found this resort to be very quiet and relaxing. On two different nights we were the last ones at the bar at 10:30 PM. This resort seems to be very popular with the British couples and we enjoyed many spirited discussions and had the opportunity to both unwind and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

20/6/13
Just got back last week from the Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada.
Lovely location right on the beach, probably the best part too. The hotel is quite small so everyone mixes really well. Met some lovely people.The staff were amazing, so friendly and cheerful and they soon get to know you. Food is good although the Al a Carte menu could do with changing from time to time. Also the breakfast was quite limited, with the food station being quite small. The lunch time menu at the pool bar is good. Bar staff make the best drinks, no watering down here! Very limited entertainment which means there isn't much atmosphere of an evening, but still pleasant. The hotel was very quiet, as was the whole Island at this time of year, but at least there was no shortage of sunbeds. There are a lot of vendors on the beach which does get a bit annoying, but they do usually go away with a "no thank you". Also sand flies and mosquitoes were are huge problem. Most mosquito bites seemed to occur around the bar/restaurant area of an evening. Nothing seems to work against them either, so be prepared.
the rooms were OK, but a re-furb would be nice. They were clean, but a bit tired we felt, particularly the bathrooms which don't have a/c. Still, were clean.
We did our own trip around the island for a day. Not much to see. We all doubted very much as to whether to rum distillery has actually produced anything in the last 50 years or more and even if it does we wouldn't want to drink anything made there as is disgustingly dirty! Also doubt if the chocolate factory produces anything either. Both properties look derelict! Not an ounce of stainless steel in sight! But still, it was a day out! Do call at Petit Anse and call in the hotel there for lunch or a drink as the views are fantastic with the most fabulous breeze. Very welcome on a hot humid day.
Overall we enjoyed Grenada and the Coyaba. The gardens were lovely and staff were great.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, as are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Coyaba Beach Resort Hotel for two weeks in June 2013 on an All Inclusive package purchased from British Airways. The hotel is located on the central part of the beautiful Grand Anse Beach with golden sand and crystal clear waters and this along with the fantastic colourful gardens made for a really relaxing holiday. The rooms were fine although the bathroom was a tad old fashioned and the three times we needed to call maintenance (for faulty safe, leaky air conditioning unit and a failed bulb) were all attended and rectified promptly. All the staff were efficient but with the exception of our room maid and a couple of ladies in the restaurant and bar (Rachel and Idis) all took a while ‘warming’ to individuals. Perhaps a more outward welcoming approach would be of benefit to the hotel. The manager was very friendly and communicative and his style of approach should be adapted by his staff.
However, the food aspect of the package left a lot to be desired. The repetitive nature of the menu, the lack of tastiness and sometimes poor quality of meat cuts meant that alternative options such as purchasing items from the supplementary menu or visiting the neighbouring establishment of Umbrellas was sought. Moreover, the additional high charge for items such as prawns was quite ridiculous – similar more tasty options were available at Umbrellas at less than the supplementary charge. One item of food I ordered from the supplementary hotel menu had even reduced in quality on the second occasion. There were plenty of salad and pasta options but the meat dishes considered of chicken or tough beef and pork cuts, so be warned and consider a breakfast plan only. The breakfasts, although repetitive and lacking in imagination as to selection did the job satisfactorily. I would have awarded a fourth ‘star’ had the food been better.
There is a small swimming pool with a swim-up bar but the pool is rarely used and why would you when the sea is so perfect? There are more than enough comfortable sun loungers but you will have to pull your own onto the public beach should you wish to sunbathe there. If you are on AI Package make sure you do not miss the Beach Bar or ‘Sin-Bin’ as some staff referred to it – it is close to the two beach entrance security huts.
We would return to this hotel on a different meal plan as the location is superb. The walks along the beach were really rewarding and the hawkers were not as irksome as some other reviewers have indicated. They have a living to make and a simple ‘no thank you’ always sufficed. There were also some interesting characters including a guy who took his two dogs out for a float in the sea and the fish salesman who called out for business via a sea shell. The gardens contain numerous attractive bushes and a variety of fruit trees with at least four different types of lizards and several bird species. The red land crabs that live in the road ditches outside the hotel are also very interesting. The sunsets can occasionally be quite spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited to celebrate my wife's 'significant' birthday! Coyaba is perfectly located on a fantastic beach (and probably on a better part of the Grand Anse than some of the 6* hotels nearby!). We visited at Easter and because the greedy travel companies had all put their prices up, there were very few people staying at the hotel. In most regards this was great, not having to think about booking tables for meals or fighting other nations for the sunbeds! The downside was that there wasn't really much atmosphere of an evening. This is hardly the hotel's fault per se, but some of the staff did seem rather miserable as it was so quiet. That said, many were really good fun too. The room was excellent, the grounds fantastic. Catering was satisfactory if a bit samey. And Grenada is a really great island to enjoy, with fantastic scenery and very friendly people. We would return.

Room Tip: There is not that much difference between a sea view and a garden view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Situated on Grand Anse beach the hotel is in a great location. The beach is clean and when we were there very quiet; there were some hawkers on the beach and we found them to be a bit annoying at times but a polite 'no thanks' would normally mean that they would move on. We loved the staff and their genuine friendliness and the hotel gardens were a pleasure to walk around with lots of differentb plants and animals to look at.
Where we felt let-down with the hotel were the rooms - whilst well cleaned the bathrooms were too small and very dated they would benefit from a major revamp. The main room also felt old and tired but the bed was very comfortable and the AC worked very well. Food was repetitive, whilst well cooked it was very samey; even choosing off the al la carte did not give too much choice. It wasn't until a few days into our stay that we found that the casual restaurant had a different lunch menu (wraps, sandwiches and burgers) to that found in the 'posh' downstairs restaurant. That, at least, gave us some more variety.
There were many trips that the hotel would/could have organised and people who went on them said that they were very good and value for money. We used the spa (very good) and the dive school (eco divers) who were also very good. We managed to do all of the dives that we had planned (and some that we didn't), the highlights being the numerous wrecks in the area - particularly the Bianca C.
Overall we had a good holiday but felt that the hotel did not quite live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#7 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.