We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly; Fabulous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Family friendly; Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Coyoba over Easter with our 2 children (aged 10 and 8) . We were made to feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived and loved the stunning beach, swimming pool area and beautiful gardens. We received some of the friendliest service we have received anywhere in the Carribean and found Grenada to be a beautiful, unspoilt island which was very peaceful and untouristy.

We had a very chilled time but did enjoy a number of activities arranged by the hotel (yoga, cocktail making, garden walk) and used the shuffle board court and tennis court most days (free rackets and balls available... maybe worth taking your own balls). Entertainment was limited in the evening (steel band a couple of nights) but we were happy playing cards with the children and enjoying the delicious cocktails.

The food was variable. We did enjoy some very good meals, but some were less so. Elements of the breakfast were very good (freshly cooked eggs, variety of juice, fresh fruit) but pastries were sometimes quite dry. The drinks were always very good and my children enjoyed the Shirley Temple cocktail at the swim up bar !

We enjoyed several trips out of the hotel. It was very easy to catch the local minibuses from just outside the hotel - $1 per person . These whizzed you into St George's in 15 minutes where you could walk around the market (meant to be particularly good on a saturday), walk up to the fort and round the harbour.

other trips included
> Alan's round the island day trip (separate review) - fabulous trip covering all the highlights of the island - swimming in concord waterfall, visiting the nutmeg factory, the rum distillery (75% alcohol levels ) , some beautifu remote beaches in the north and the Grand Etang lake. I think if we had hired a car we would have got very lost going round all the small road and missed out on all the valuable information from Alan. It was really a most fabulous, family friendly tour very much tailored to us and what we wanted to do.

> Visit to Grand Etang and seven sister's waterfall. We got the bus into St George's bus station and then another one up to grand Etang. The drop off point for the waterfall is about a mile down the hill past the main entrance to the park / lake entrance. We then walked down a steep, but very manageable path to the bottom of the waterfall (could have been more tricky if wet and muddy) . It was possible to swim in the bottom 2 pools and also to clamber up the path at the side to some of the higher falls. We returned to the lake where we followed the shoreline trail round. The lake is beautiful, but the trail is essentially a walk through the rainforest with few views of the shore. It was very muddy despite the dry weather we had had.

> Visit to La Sagesse - again possible to take a bus to St George's and change to another which drops you at the end of the road leading to La sagesse. A short 15 minute walk takes to you to another beautiful, very quiet beach with a lovely protected cove to swim in. It was very peaceful.

> visit to nearby beach of morne rouge... just walked along the beach past spice Island resort, up the hill and down to a very quiet, protected beach... a lovely way to spend a morning!

> 2 site snorkely trip organised by the hotel included a visit to the underwater sculpture park (quite different) and a natural reef where we saw a reasonable number of fish.

> visit to Carriacou / Sandy Island - we braved the ferry (fortunately they took the larger ferry the day we went.... it had the potential to be rough... our journey out was 2 hours). We then took a taxi to Paradise beach where the lady at the bar arranged for us to have a boat to go to Sandy island - the stunning beach of white sand / small palm trees. The boat later returned and dropped us at the airport ready for our return 20 minute trip (fabulous) back to Grenada. We snorkelled off the beach and relaxed for 4 hours in this most beautiful setting. The journey back and forth was as much of an adventure as the time on the island itself!

Overall, we loved Grenada and particularly the location of the Coyoba beach hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    250
    70
    27
    14
See reviews for
138
427
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The main attractions at the Coyaba are the beach - simply gorgeous - and the gardens which are stunning and with those two it would be very hard not to enjoy staying there. The hotel itself is well managed, the staff do service with a smile, the food is good, and on an all inclusive package you are getting very good value for money at a very nice Caribbean resort. The cocktails, beers and chilled white wine on offer (Chilean) are all very acceptable.

We stayed in a superior pool/garden view room which had glimpses of the sea and a view across the gardens. The bed was the most comfortable I have experienced on holiday for a while, a super king, I am very picky about beds and it was a good one. The bathroom did need updating but was perfectly serviceable, shower worked fine.

The Coyaba fills a niche for a good 4 star on the beach at an affordable price, but is not 5 star luxury and it doesn't pretend to be. Our fellow guests were mostly middle aged Brits and the evening scene was quiet apart from the excellent steel band on Saturday night (best we have heard in the Caribbean).

Low key activities available during the day were yoga, a guided tour round the lovely garden plants, and not much more - its a peaceful place.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday there, one tip - the sun is very strong so be careful, plenty of warnings in the hotel room book about this, due to Grenada's position near the equator so high factor sun cream needed.

Plenty of sun loungers on the beach and dotted around the garden, loads of space for privacy.

Good Wifi signal in the room if you need to keep in touch with home/business.

Recommended, especially on an all inclusive basis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Despite being right on the most beautiful beach the Coyaba is drab and dated. The dining room in the evening reminded me of an old people's home with no atmosphere. The food is grim and other than the meagre breakfast buffet you have to choose from a repetitive menu and everything tasted the same. Food was served by surly teenage locals some chewing gum! I asked once if there were any bananas to eat and was told very abruptly.....no! Management seem to stay in the office and are oblivious to the dissatisfaction of guests. No entertainment, no atmosphere, poor food, a long wait for drinks at the bar as only one barman. Not worth the money and I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Coyaba resort is perfectly located, in my opinion Grand Anse beach is the best beach on the island of Grenada and its right on the resort! The only downside is that there is a lot of traders on the beach and they are quite persistent, which isn't a major problem if you say no straight away because then they usually go, but if not they are friendly, but it can be a bit irritating. Outside the front of the hotel you have 'spiceland mall' which is a small shopping complex with duty free stores, a hardware store, clothing stores, a supermarket and a food court, it is definitely worth the visit, and if you dont fancy eating at the hotels two fantastic restaurants there is also a KFC just outside which I recommend visiting because it's so much better than back home! The gardens on the resort are well kept and beautiful, and with only 80 rooms the resort isn't busy, the 2 bars the resort has are well stocked and the bartenders and friendly but may not be the quickest workers in the world but its the carribean so its all relaxed. The rooms were cleaned well and had comfortable beds and a cleaned bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially as a romantic holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Coyaba beach resort is in a fantastic location.Step out of the resort onto Grand Anse beach,which is 3 miles long,isn't crowded & very peaceful.If you have kids be careful in the water as it has quite a steep slope & gets deep quickly although the current is not strong here.
Our room was spacious,clean & comfortable with a balcony angled towards the coast(as are all balconies here).The bathroom was a little on the small side,but adequate for one.The shower was basic,over the bath,which was small-no good for adults but perfect for small children.
Entertainment is only on twice a week but was very good-only wish it was more often.Loved New Dimensions steel band took me back to our wedding where we had a steel band playing during our vows.Ther is also a manager's cocktail party on once a week.
We were here for our anniversary & got an arrangement of flowers & sparkling wine which was a nice touch.
The pool has a swim up bar & again quiet(not many kids here) but is used daily for snorkling & scuba lessons.
There are two restaurants,one which has a dress code & the other you can turn up in shorts & t-shirts if you want.There are two menus-one changes daily & the other stays the same every day.The unusual thing about this though, was that you could order from either menu in both restaurants.The food here is good quality but usually fish,chicken or pork most of the time & they seem to put coconut in almost everything.
It was quiet here but there are only 80 rooms & it wasn't fully occupied when we were here plus lack of daily evening entertainment made it seem quiter.I would come back here again & if you want a nice hotel in a lovely location to relax in you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been here twice and found it to be a great place to stay. The food, atmosphere and people are all lovely. The first time I went was back over Christmas 2006 and the second time was Christmas 2008 and the New Year of 2009. I think 2 weeks is enough:) The heat is bearable due to the lovely wind that you get there.
I hope this review gets put in even though it was so long ago that I stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Coyaba Beach Resort for 10 nights and had a most wonderful time. All of the staff were extremely friendly and although the room we stayed in was a little dated and the bathroom could do with a revamp it did not spoil our stay and we met some really lovely people. The food was of a good quality and there was a different menu each evening to choose from. There are a number of reviews about this hotel where people have complained about the food or that the hotel is of a poor quality, well for those that expect the standard of Spice Island which is 200 yards down Grand Anse Beach dream on! We went and visited Spice Island one day as we took a walk down the beach and it is most beautiful and were shown around the grounds and one or two of the rooms, however, it is about 4 or 5 times the price of Coyaba, so for the money Coyaba is great value and it has the best location on Grand Anse. I would point out if you have a room at the front of hotel you can see the KFC across the road!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.