We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location, 4 star hotel..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Birmingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“5 star location, 4 star hotel..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

An intriguing resort - what a great beach, swimming & sunset!
Always a free sun lounger with friendly, generally attentive staff.
Our room was perfectly satisfactory ( no wow factor, bathroom weary) but more importantly we slept very well in a quiet a/c room.
Breakfast is the usual buffet, afternoon tea a treat & dinner variable.
Our main courses ( fish, chicken,pork & beef) were consistently overcooked despite our requests to the contrary.
Our complimentary Swedish massage was excellent.
Would we return? (50%+ repeat guests).
Definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    206
    63
    26
    13
See reviews for
114
361
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being that this is the largest resort my husband and I have stayed at we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was near the rear of the resort but within 300 steps from the beach (yes I counted!). We never felt crowded or rushed and there were always lots of lounge chairs available at both the beach and pool.
The staff were amazing and very helpful with our questions regarding getting around and things to do. Kudos to Sheldon for putting up with us crazy Canadians.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous 10 days here , it's a beautifully kept resort, spotlessly clean throughout , the rooms are a bit dated especially the bathrooms but everything works, loads of hot water ,exceptionally comfy beds and daily maid service including turn down service with nice touches like flowers and chocolate squares on your pillow each evening, the location is perfect ,right on the beach and they've got the space to guest ratio spot on, we never had trouble finding a sunbed or nice quiet spot to sun ourselves etc, the staff were almost without exception wonderful, Sheldon the manager must be the smiliest man I've ever met,the food in both restaurants was pretty good, in no way gourmet but always pretty tasty,you did get a few choices so we could always find something,the bars were both good,premium brands,nice Carib beer etc and good service but you couldn't get a mojito because they didn't have any fresh mint! The resort seems to attract mainly 50s upwards so its pretty laid back and peaceful ,the only downside were the bugs which didn't seem bothered by our repellant and we both got a lot of bites,mainly sandflies but also mossies so take something that the little scumbags hate and kill a few for me!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stay for six days in January. Our room was very close to the beach (1 min walk to the waters edge), which we had requested at time of booking. The room was well sized, with a small patio with a nice view of the garden and partial view of the beach.

We could not get WiFi signal in the room at all times, most times we were able to get it on patio.

The room was very comfortable with a small fridge in the room. The bathroom were standard size, but can do with a some refurbishing.

The ice machine on the ground floor needs to be cleaned, sometimes ice appeared to be unclean.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, very good, however I wished that there could have been a wider selection of fruits. Restaurant service was good, food quality and options were both good.
Room service was timely and fairly priced.

We both felt very safe in the hotel as there were guards posted at the entrance to the beach, to prevent non-guests from entering the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent a great 10 days at the Coyaba in December with my wife and would recommend it.
The hotel was set in pretty well tended grounds right on the edge of the beautiful Grand Anse beach with an adjacent water sports centre next door. We were on all inclusive which is very good value when you take into account the price of food and drink in the Caribbean. The food was generally very good and whilst breakfast was buffet style there was an egg station to get freshly cooked eggs and omelettes. The restaurant and bar staff were very helpful, particularly Josephine who worked in the main restaurant. There are two bars, a day time beach bar and a more formal evening bar with comfortable seating overlooking the grounds and beach beyond. Our room was spacious and clean with a sea view (which we paid extra for). The bathroom whilst clean would benefit from refurbishment.
We enjoyed trips to St Georges, a round the island driven tour and a catamaran and snorkelling boat trip.
On the whole it was a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Returned to Coyaba Beach resort after first trip in 2010 where we were very impressed by everything and second time around not disappointed and wonderful that some of the staff remembered us. Also goo to be able to walk around and feel completely safe due to low crime rate in Grenada. Lots of sunshine, good food, beautiful resort and friendly staff. Nice also to see Andre Cherwin the CEO eating in the restaurants and also walking about the resort and being able to talk to him.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have recently returned from a week’s all inclusive holiday at the Coyaba Beach Resort and wow what a holiday! We flew with Virgin Atlantic and met at the airport with a huge smile and a refreshing bottle of water from Johanna (the Virgin rep), show to a taxi bus and swept away to our hotel. We arrived after around 10-15 minutes to be greeted by a lovely rum punch and a refreshing cold flannel. We were checked in and shown to our rooms swiftly and efficently. After reading several negative reviews we weren’t quite sure what to expect in our room but we were more than delighted. It was light and spacious, massive comfortable bed, table & 2 chairs, safe, fridge, lovely balcony with what looked like new furniture. The bathroom was fine for our needs, yes it looked tired but we weren’t holidaying in there so it didn’t matter that much. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and had a very Polynesian look to it. You have access straight onto the beach and the sea is just beautiful. You do get beach sellers trying to sell you things but like everyone keeps saying, a polite no thank you will suffice.
You have the choice of two restaurants one up by the pool, the Carbet which had menus of burger, salad etc etc as well as the a la carte menu. Personally we preferred to eat at the other restaurant called the Arawakabana, this was the bigger restaurant of the two and was situated in the gardens and faced the ocean. You had a lovely 5 course dinner every night and your glasses were topped up regularly with wine, water or whatever you wanted really. Breakfasts was also served in this restaurant and although the menus were the same everyday there was something for everyone and lots to choose from if you wanted to vary things. The staff were lovely, yes some seemed a little brash but I don’t think anything was meant by this. The bars were great, they made lovely cocktails, mud slide, pina coloda and the rum punch sure did throw a punch! As a Virgin holiday customers we had a complimentary massage each, this was so good i ended up booking in for another one, how relaxing that was, the staff in the spa were lovely and would recommend anyone going to the Coyaba whether with Virgin or not to book yourself in as a treat. The beach was lovely and sandy with beautiful, turquoise water to swim in. It did shelve quite quickly but levelled off at about 5ft, so bare this in mind with young children. The clientele at the hotel was mainly older couples 60+ but this didn’t bother us one bit (we are late 40’s and 50) and met some lovely couples that we sat, chatted and had drinks with at night. There were a few nights entertainment which was excellent and a Managers Cocktail night where the owner of the Coyaba made every effort to shake your hand and asked if we were enjoying your holiday. I genuinely think if you had said no, he would have made every effort to change this (he was the mirror image of Trevor McDonald and really wanted to ask him if he was related in any way but didn’t! lol). We packed in a few trips in our week, one to St George, the market and the fort. A day trip to the Grenadines which involved getting another flight to Union island and then sailed around the Tabago Cays and a couple of other. This definitely had the WOW factor, I have never seen such clear waters and swimming with turtles in their habitat was brilliant, you will also see the island where Pirates of the Caribbean was filmed and believe me there was no Photoshop enhancement it was beautiful. This trip is expensive but you will not regret it. After reading on a website about how you could help the Grenadian community we decided and managed to collect and take over 80 children’s story books which we gave to a local school, this was very overwhelming and humbling ,it is something we would do again. We hired a taxi for five hours and did an island tour which included the book delivery to the school, we also went to the rum factory and chocolate factory which were both very interesting, our guide Ian was very informative and gave us the history and pointed out things of interest which we would have otherwised missed. I would strongly recommend hiring a taxi and going where you want to go rather that going where you don’t want to go (do your homework before you leave on holiday to work this out). The cost was $25 per hour. We used Sunsation Tours for all three trip and they were extremely good. Overall we had a brilliant, relaxing holiday and managed to fit lots into it. It did feel like we had been there for two weeks. The Grenadian people are the friendliest people I have experienced in the Caribbean and would definitely return to this hotel and island. Special thanks to Sheldon, Elvis and Nigel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#7 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.