We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in St. George's
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed one night here on business. Whilst everything was ok the hotel is basic and in need of a refurb. The rooms are small and dated. I didn't have time to use the facilities so am unable to comment on anything but the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    197
    60
    24
    12
See reviews for
104
329
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

With any holiday you get out of it...what you put in. We got to know the staff, chatted to them and being typical of Grenada they were very friendly and want you to have a fantastic time at the hotel and on the Island. If you don't talk to them they, like the professionals they are, leave you in peace. The beach is amazing, the rooms are comfortable, clean and yes the bathroom could do with modernising but I didn't fly half way around the world to sit in my room or in the bathroom. The hotel is for grown ups (kids would get bored) who want to relax, enjoy the beach, enjoy Grenada and sample what that great island has to offer. I am returning for a second year and really looking forward to it. It ticks all the boxes for me and my husband and we both had an amazing time. If you want complete perfection, no character and want the style of holiday offered by chain hotels - Four Seasons, Marriott, HIlton etc. - which to me are false and not very enjoyable - this place is not for you. However, if you want to meet different people (everyone who stays at the hotel wants to chat. It's great!). Have a hotel with character, sit on a perfect beach relaxing and want to completely get away from the rat race this hotel is going to suit you. No animation teams, no false fun. Just relaxation, beautiful manicured gardens and plenty of rum!

Concerning the food. The pastry chef is a goddess and the pie out of this world. My husband and I thought the food very good. Again you are not getting Heston Blumenthal, but you are not paying for a 5 star deluxe restaurant. The menu is a la carte with a set menu but not a problem if you want to eat off the set menu (still part of your all inclusive apart from steak and lobster, which has a small extra charge). The drinks are good, sometimes you have to wait, but they are worth waiting for. The bar staff will make you anything and the ambience of an evening is friendly and warm.

As I said this review is subjective and purely my opinion, but don't go there to hate it because you want 1000% threaded Egyption cotton bed sheets or something. Everyone works so hard to make your holiday enjoyable, go with an open mind and enjoy what it and Grenada has to offer.

Room Tip: If you are a beach person, don't pay extra for a sea view. It gets dark early and when you leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A really lovely setting for this hotel, set in beautifully kept gardens leading on to Grand Anse Beach which is really stunning.
Food is very good as are the facilities - kayaks, hobie cats and snorkelling gear available to guests without charge.
PADI dive school on site.
Two really nice restaurants and food available all day.
All rooms look out over gardens and most have a view of beach/sea.
Rooms are comfortable, although a bit drab, and well-serviced each day. Need a bit of smartening-up.
Staff were a bit disappointing - whilst some were very pleasant and cheerful, many were a bit off-hand and disinterested. Shame really as should be quite a nice place to work and Grenadian people generally are very happy and outgoing - perhaps they just don't like waiting on people.
We went in January and most of the clientele were in their 60s/70s but a very pleasant and friendly crowd.
Information provided is minimal and you to go find out most things.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and good value.
The BA flight was pretty uninspiring and I'd suggest Virgin or another airline.

Room Tip: All two-storey blocks and can have downstairs with patio area or upstairs with balcony. All look ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have recently returned from Grenada and cant wait to go back. We were apprehensive after reading many of the reports on here but we shouldnt have worried. Although we arrived in the dark first impressions were very good.
Meals ,dining etc was explained to us and we were shown to our room by a very chatty Bel Hop.
The room had the most enormous bed, spotlessly clean white bedding, masses of pure white fluffy towels and also beach towels. The bathroom also had a range of complimentary toiletries which were refilled when they were used.
The room had air con and very powerful fan so either or both could be used. The safe was easy to use and there was also a security chain on the door to put across for added security should you wish to. Security we never felt was an issue but naturally didn’t take risks. There were security guards walking the grounds at night which added reassurance but we always felt safe.
The room was cleaned every day and was kept spotless by France-lynn, with a turn down every night with a chocolate left behind.
In the room was also leaflets of the resort, island and local area . Also there was a folder with information about the hotel, services and anything else you may need to know. Anything you needed if you just went and asked, it was dealt with without any issue.
The food was superb and encompassed Grenadian dishes which were so tasty and NOT repeated. Every evening was a different menu cooked with fresh foods that were local foods.
Breakfast had a wide range of foods, with eggs being cooked to order by Jessica and others so very well.
Lunch in the pool restaurant took a little longer as you ordered from a menu, although the food was definitely worth waiting for and the quality was very good. In the main restaurant it was 'buffet' style, always a soup, homemade of course, salad bar and also a selection of hot meats, fish, veg etc. All this topped off by a dessert of your choice or if you asked you could have some ice cream which was also homemade.
Evening meal was a sit down, 4 course event and the service was efficient and food well presented, hot and tasty in general.
We found the staff to be very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them. Josephine in the restaurant was very efficient, and this helped with the overall smooth running. Sindy, Riannah, Delores, Tamarra were always smiling, remembering what we drank etc making us feel very relaxed. Lesley-ann was efficient in the bar, making some amazing cocktails and took the time to try to make something we would like.
The key to Coyaba in our eyes was Sheldon one of the senior team, always immaculately presented which showed his attention to detail. You always knew when he was working as his infectious laugh was often heard before seeing him. Anything mentioned to him was dealt with efficiently and quickly. He was helpful with local knowledge and was happy to talk and answer any questions. We felt he was genuinely caring for his guests and we felt he made it a special holiday (for us at least).
As for the waiters, Nigel who mainly served drinks, Dwayne, Stanley are just a few who remembered your drinks and were very attentive.
The gardens were a paradise of beautifully kept plants and flowers. The gardening staff worked so very hard to keep them like this. Bless-lyn, Peter and the team were friendly and chatty and were happy to chat and were informative about the plants that grew.
The beach was clean white sands with lovely clear blue waters. The beach sellers were fine if you chatted with them, be honest as to whether you wanted to buy or not. You have to remember that this is the only income that some of them have. Grenada is a very small island so the opportunity of work is limited. They never really bothered us at all. Security guards on the gates made sure that the sellers did not enter the hotel grounds.
If you don’t want to be bothered by them then stay in the hotel grounds. There were so many sunbeds available there was no need to worry about getting one. You could take them on to the beach should you wish. They were very clean and comfortable with a thick mattress.
Overall I think my holiday was worth the money we spent. What you have to remember is this hotel is family run and not a chain. They therefore want to ensure you have a good time and return in the future. Many of the people we spoke to were returning guests so that in itself tells a story. Many of them had travelled extensively but found this to be an unspoilt, genuine place to relax. However if you want an action packed, with raving nightlife holiday then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Top rooms were more private. All had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really great clean room over looking the sea but the bathroom could do with modernising. Very good food, beach, immaculate gardend and friendly security. The entertainment was also worth going to with the Coyaba band being particularly good.
Downside was the miserable catering staff who served the meals. Really disinterested in talking to guests and the bar service was hit and miss.
Checking out on our last day, the lady on reception really couldnt care less. No one was pleasant or even enquired if we had enjoyed our stay.
No one was particularly bothered it was our honeymoon. We did tell the staff and reception and so was a shame they didnt make any effort to make it special.
Top tip, don't fall for the high tour prices. Get a personal driver to show you around. A brilliant chap called Cateye ( ask for his number at reception or go on his website) in his yellow bus. He is fantastic at $25 an hour. 3 hours should get you a good view of the cenre of the island and look see the monkeys

Room Tip: front block on the right as you look at the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely position fronting a beautiful beach with the rooms in two storey blocks all facing into the grounds. The gardens are beautifully maintained and access to the beach easy and it has a small pool with swim up bar. There are two restaurants to eat at both serving similar fare. Unfortunately no one at the hotel bothered to explain that you needed to book a table, it's not mentioned in the general information available in the room, and as most of the clientele when we were there were elderly, it was very busy early in the evening. The bar near the main restaurant was woefully understaffed early in the evening with only one member of staff available at probably their busiest time. We found a few of the staff there to be lovely & chatty, the rest were bordering on bored, always on their phones, almost surly, especially the front of house at reception. Anything you asked came across as too much bother!! It was such a shame as it could have been so different if the staff actually put into practice some good customer service skills. I did complete a customer questionnaire when we left hoping for some response from the management, but am still waiting!
The dive centre, Eco divers located by the hotel, were excellent especially Christine, Marlon & Adrian, thanks guys for some memorable dives.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. It is in a very good situation on beautiful Grand Anse Beach. The gardens are well maintained and the rooms are satisfactory and well situated within the gardens. Unfortunately the food is well below the standard we expected from a hotel in this price range. It was all a bit like "school dinners" with lack of variety and very poor presentation. In addition both restaurants are open to the outside so had problems with birds and flies accessing the food. The staff varied from very friendly and helpful to totally uninterested and mostly required the guest to initiate any conversation. There were few organised activities with only a weekly garden tour and a weekly yoga class (which did not take place in our first week). Kayaking and sailing were also available and included. Fortunately for us few people seemed to book them when we were there. Without major improvements in this hotel we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Hotel
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#8 Family Hotel in St. George's
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.