We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & plenty of room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great location & plenty of room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned after 10 days all inclusive at Coyaba , hotel was full but surprisingly the beach ( & boy what a fabulous beach ) was never crowded & there was always plenty of very comfortable beach beds available , in fact they were the most comfortable beach beds we have ever encountered. Staff were always polite & helpful, if only at time a little slow, but it is the Caribbean, food pretty good , never disappointed, particularly after discovering the al la carte menus !!. Room ( or suite as it was referred to ), was fine, beds were great, new fabrics were installed whilst we were there & these really brightened up the rooms, A/C was quiet & effective, room cleanliness was excellent. Definitely not a hotel for the younger customer as there was virtually no entertainment & the beach activities were poor. The only real negative aspect , was the complete lack of any insect control, no evidence of any "fogging" & thus areas such as the bars, reception & WC's were places to get regularly bitten, it was a must to wear insect repellent particularly on the legs whilst in those locations, despite having returned home 2 days ago, my legs still look & feel like a battle ground - ERRRRRR!

Room Tip: Stay in second floor rooms, avoids some of the insect life- make good use of insect reppellants in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    250
    71
    27
    14
See reviews for
137
427
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just back from a very sunny 10 day trip to the coyoba beach.Lots of plus points and a few negatives......
Plus points-excellent location and the island is very lush and scenic,the people are very friendly in the hotel and it feels very safe outside the hotel.Grand Anse beach is a wonderful 2 mile stretch of the carribean and a very enjoyable 75 minute walk end to end.
We enjoyed the hot spring and river tubing trip with our fantastic tour guide who also showed us around the island and was very knowledgeable,stopping and giving us different fruits from around the island.
Negatives-The hotel is fairly quiet both during the day and night,once the resaturants are closed then most people just go to bed and the bar closes at midnight and there is never anybody about after 11pm.The service in the hotel is generally very slow (with the exception of Stanley) and even taking 'carribean time' into account it was still extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Read all of the reviews, and don't be surprised when you arrive. This is a lovely location on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. You spend little to no time in your room. The rooms are very clean and are just fine. They are not 5 star and they are not advertised as 5 star. After reading all of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a sea view room which I would recommend. Food is pretty good. We don't tend to go to all inclusive but we did here because the price was very reasonable. Looking at the menu pricing I highly recommend the all inclusive option. It was reasonable enough that we didn't mind going to restaurants for one of our dinners and lunches. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel and lovely service. location close drive to airport, Shopping center, grocery all walking distance, including banks nearby. Internet in lobby business center. Gardens throughout. comfortable rooms with in suite bathrooms. verandas. The breakfast was quite tasty with a welcome open air dining area. The exercise room needs updating and more equipment. Tennis courts on site with racquets. Beach ...oh my goodness. The best!!! crystal clear blue waters, beach chairs free, on the grande anse beach. It is now our favorite island. We will come back. Traveled in 2006. But just had to tell you about this WONDERFUL HOTEL. They have since made many upgrades and upped their star status. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The prime spot on Grand Anse Beach is really the only reason to stay at Coyaba Beach Resort. The beach is white and sandy and the water is calm and great for wading. It's also easy to snorkel right in front of the resort. The beach in front of Coyaba is one of the best we have been to on all of our travels. The location is also convenient to a grocery store right across the street.

Beyond that, Coyaba Beach Resort doesn't offer anything exceptional. As others have mentioned, the accommodations are sorely in need of refurbishing. Mildewed caulking in the bathroom, cracked tile floors, small televisions and small, double-sized beds are disappointments. Though the resort advertises wifi in the rooms, we were unable to get a reliable signal, having to go to the lobby or pool area to get on the wifi. The food was passable, but unremarkable. There were many upcharges for nicer food and higher quality liquors, so be forewarned. We preferred the more casual restaurant to the "dress code" restaurant, particularly as the menus are the same. Staff were mostly friendly...some exceptionally so and some not at all. The gardens, as mentioned by others, are quite lovely, making the disrepair of the rooms that much more of a contrast.

Numerous "hawkers" wander the beach in front of the resort. I found them to be quite persistent, in spite of firm "no thank yous." After the first day of sitting right down toward the beach, we chose beach chairs further back in the gardens to avoid the harassment. Still only steps from the beach and more peaceful.

This resort is not targeted at young people who are interested in heavy drinking and partying. The bars close at 10:00/11:00 and the resort is quiet. For my husband and me, this was perfect. But for younger people in their 20s it is likely to be quite dull.

Overall, we had an enjoyable holiday, but again, this was almost entirely due to the beach location. Though we would be pleased to return to Grenada, we would not be likely to choose Coyaba again unless it was renovated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely beach, nice gardens but the rooms are worn out and tired.

Very strange behaviour at the front desk, almost fawlty towers like, in that despite providing tea bags and filter coffee in the rooms, you have to decide whether to have a kettle or a coffee maker, you are forbidden to have both! Strange as i drink tea and my wife drinks.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a weeks break in Coyaba and have very fond memories and had a great time. On arrival at the hotel we expected a lovely rum punch and cold flannel but unfortunatley did not recieve this which was a shame. We were taken to our room by a wonderful bel hop called Roderick who was extremely friendly at ALL times, not just on the last day expecting a tip.
Our room was on the older side of the resort and was a bit tired, ie chips in the floor tiles, grouting needing replacing in the bathroom and contrary to a previous review the beds were quite small. We asked for extra pillows as one pillow is not really enough but they were suplied with no problem. Towels were lovely and fluffy and were replaced daily if you wished. Beach towels were replaced daily also but our service was a bit hit a miss and had to ask reception a few times for our towels.
The surroundings as previous reviews are amazing, the gardens are totally beautiful and are kept immaculately by the hard working gardeners. The beach is the best on the island and a lovely walk in the morning before it gets too hot. There are sellers on the beach but they do become a bit of a pest but they are trying to earn a living.
The food and drinks were quite nice, all brand drinks are subject to a supplement but all local drinks were adequate. We tried the daily cocktails which were yummy. The plastic cups at the pool bar were not what you would expect from a four star resort. There must be better alternatives available. The bar staff were friendly and service was typically caribbean but you on on holiday so whats the rush. We found the food to be very nice and glad we opted for AI as meals were quite expensive. We did travel with our daughter so the kids menu had a food choice for her also. Breakfast was good with the egg station and fresh fruit available but would like more choice for fruits.
On our stay there was only entertainment twice a week which could be improved as been to other islands with more on offer. It would create more of a atmosphere after dinner as most people are gone from the bar by 10 pm.
We met some really nice people on holiday and had a relaxing break. We would recommend this resort and would say that day by day it grows on you and by the end of our break we did not want to leave. However I would say this was a 3 star plus, not really a 4 star resort!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#7 Family Hotel in St. George's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.