We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach; average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach; average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Located on grand anse beach which is a lovely 'paradise' beach. Comfortable loungers available which you can drag to beach or you can lounge in the garden with a great view of the beach and sea but without the sand or hawkers.

Local dive centre great although on the pricey side. Dives to dragon and flamingo bay should not be missed.

Rooms are big but basic. Nice products, comfy beds and functioning air con but a dingy bathroom and the maid service poor. Pyjamas left strewn around the room and often insufficient new towels left. No mini bar which would be nice for an AI option.

Service is at best moody. You are made to feel as if everything is an effort. Food is ok but lacks variety with only one restaurant choice open for our stay. If going a la carte don't bother with the items attracting a supplement. They are poorly cooked and flavourless. Not worth the extra.

Pool is tiny but clean. Gardens are lovely. There are massage services but theses are offered in a converted guest room. Not really spa like. Ok but pricey.

The gym is in a shocking state. The stepper and cross trainers don't work, the running machines are rickety and the weights are locked away. Only option is the exercise bike. The tennis courts are good in the evening but they need to get new tennis balls and patch up the court surface.

There is an issue with sand flies. We were badly bitten. Take repellant.

Overall worth a visit for the beach. If the service standards were addressed and the food improved, would get a much better review. As it is, it isn't a place I'd avoid but neither would I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    217
    65
    26
    14
See reviews for
124
370
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Coyaba resort for two weeks in early September. It is a small (86 rooms I think) and peaceful resort in a great location.
The highlights for me are the beach and sea, absolutely stunning. The sea is crystal clear with sand only (i.e. no rocks or seaweed) for the first 20m or so but a little further out and you have some interesting snorkelling.
Room – We were lucky and had what I think was the best room in the resort (243), it is the upstairs room nearest to the beach, stunning views of the sunsets in the evening. I liked the bedroom area, it was light and airy, it would have been great if there were a couple of comfortable chairs to sit on and also a chest of drawers would have been useful. Nice chairs on the balcony though. Everything was nice a clean and the A/C & ceiling fan did their job. The only real problem was the shower, I think the thermostat was on its last legs as temperature control was a bit hit and miss. We didn’t say anything, as we didn’t want to be moved.
The gardens are beautiful, it has been well documented on here, but they really are a nice place to be. As the beach is public, all the sun loungers are within the gardens, which was a bit weird at first but you soon got used to it. You can take the loungers on to the beach if you want to.
Food – during the first couple of days of our stay I was a bit concerned that the menu was going to get a little “samey” by the second week, however on day three or four of our stay they started doing the buffet at lunchtime which was good. I’m not normally a fan of BBQ’s in the Caribbean, but these guys really did a good job (2 nights per week), the ribs were awesome, nothing was bad. The actual buffet area could do with a bit of a refresh as it was quite cramped and a bit dated, I imagine that it would get a bit busy when the resort was full. Breakfast was ok, fresh eggs cooked to your liking and usual buffet items. Fresh fruit was nice but not much choice and levels could get low if you were a late riser.
Food 2 - I must make a special mention of two things, firstly the stuffed tomato (starter) which was quite possibly the smallest stuffed tomato in the world. Which was a shame because it tasted fantastic. Secondly, the strange green/yellow goo stuff used to decorate the plates, what was that? Tasted very strange…
Pool – Didn’t use it much, mainly because the sea was so nice. It is quite small but the swim-up bar was good. A bar nearer to the beach would have been handy, although this might attract more non-residents. Perhaps waiter service is the answer.
Staff were all friendly and helpful and some of the bar staff were good fun, a downside for me was that they were constantly rotated, so each day you would have a different member of staff doing something different. This meant that you didn’t build up as much of a rapport with them.
Entertainment – A bit lacking for me, I’m definitely not looking for a cabaret or anything, but a musician or singer would have made a big difference after dinner. On Saturday evenings there was a steel band who were good, apart from that we had pretty dull music piped through the speakers. This meant that there wasn’t much of an atmosphere in the evenings.
The water sports on offer are provided by a separate business who have an agreement with the resort. You are entitled to an hour a day, but because it is not run by hotel staff, it did feel a bit overly structured. I asked to use the Hobie cat one day which they sorted, but asked me to book at least a day in advance in the future. This doesn’t really work when you need to know there is going to be some wind. I prefer places with a more relaxed “use it when you feel like it” attitude. I didn’t do any diving but the boat was going from right off the beach which is always handy.
Insect bites – A bit of a low for us, we both got bitten pretty badly at first even though we were using plenty of repellent. We even bought some local stuff to see if it was any more effective, but it didn’t make much difference. Housekeeping sprayed the rooms regularly which was great, even the turn-down team would spray on occasion. All other Caribbean resorts that I’ve stayed at previously have “fogged” the grounds a couple of times per week to keep the mosquitos away. Didn’t see them doing it at Coyaba so it might be an idea.
There is a small shopping centre with supermarket across the road from the main entrance, this was very handy for buying some bottles of water etc. for the room (there is a fridge). There are also ice machines dotted around the resort with ice buckets provided in the rooms. Fresh coffee machines in the rooms is also a nice touch.
You can walk to St George’s but it is hard going in the heat, worth doing once just to have a good look at the place, but the buses are great and very cheap. The buses are really people carriers which will give you a beep as they are approaching, if you want them to stop just hold out your hand. All journeys seem to be EC$2.50 (80p).
Checking out - As the resort was pretty quiet they let us keep our room until 3pm, that was really great and enabled us to make the most of the last day, very much appreciated!
I would definitely return to Coyaba, it is a very nice resort, nice staff and beautiful garden, beach and sea. Would recommend for couples who just want to relax, not much for kids to do.
Tip: If traveling independently don’t pay over the top up-front for transfers, you can get a taxi from the airport to Coyaba for about US$15.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just had ten days in the Coyaba and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are two teachers one retired one part time. I put this to put the review in context.
A ten minute taxi ride from the airport is far enough away to hear no aircraft noise at all. Check in was quick and efficient although a welcome drink after a long journey would have been well received.
Our ground floor room 126 was clean with a huge bed. As others have put the bathroom although clean and serviceable is in need of a revamp. Floor tiles are cracked and chipped and the tiling around the bath must have always have been of a poor quality and needs replacing. The washbasin area looks as though it has been upgraded and the daily cleaning is very good. Good quality towels are replaced daily. The beach towel exchange daily is a really nice touch.
The bed as well as being huge is comfortable and initially with only two pillows. The maid was only too willing to get us two extras. All on the small side but very comfy. The bed linen was changed daily. The aircon and ceiling fan kept the warm nicely cool when required.
The gardens are very well maintained, immaculately manicured and the head gardener is only too pleased to take guests own a well informed guided tour.
The position of the Coyaba is right on the beach. What a beach it is. Clean soft white sand is bordered by the Caribbean Ocean, calm warm and inviting. The odd tree offers perfect shade for those with a fair completion. There are no "private" beaches in Grenada so it is shared with the locals. Whilst we were there it was very quiet apart from a public holiday and at the weekend. Then it was a treat to share the beach with local population, rather than other Caribbean Island where it is mini UK. The beach vendors do pester you to buy their wares. Nearly all of them will take a polite no thanks. A ruse we used was to say we would buy shortly before leaving for home and then adding three days to our leaving date! Naughty but effective!
The beach is kept clean daily with workers picking up debris and raking leaves. The beach shelves quite quickly and about five metres from the water edge an adult is chest deep. The sand continues out for about twenty metres. Local ski boats operate from the beach offering a variety of tows. Round the island boats and diving boats leave from the foreshore directly outside the hotel.
If you prefer you can set up your sun lounger inside the Coyaba grounds either on sand or grass. Freshwater showers are available to take off the salt from the ocean.
The meals were excellent. Breakfast is from a buffet with freshly cooked eggs available along side cereals, yogurts, toast, cakes, croissants, bacon, beans, sausage, baked tomatoes etc. tea or coffee is brought to the table.
Lunch is three course. Each day there is a choice of three main meals, with different soups and salads with a choice of fresh fruits or pasties. You can opt to eat from the daily menu or mix and match with the restaurants othe menu. All well cooked and tasty. Water is topped up regularly throughout the meal. A waiter will bring soft or alcoholic from the bar.
Dinner in the main restaurant is an event and "elegant" dress code operates. Four courses this time with an appetiser, soup, main meal and sweet are all of the highest quality. The same menu operates in the second eating area were there is no dress code.
The all inclusive option is a good deal as the itemised prices are quite high. Drinks all day are included but you do need to trek from the beach to get it! All of 50 metres!
Don't expect any entertainment in the evening as onlynonnSaturday was there any, apart from the manages cocktail party.
The steel oil drum band were excellent, it's a pity they all looked so miserable throughout the two hours they performed!
Although we wanted a quiet holiday a couple of other evening could do with some form entertainment. I would imagine that there would be a number of local musician who would be delighted to play live music in the background.
Unlike other Caribbean Islands we have visited the Grenadaians the Eastern Caribbean Dollar is widely used. The USA dollar is also widely used.
Trips out are a feature and we were lucky to see sperm whales whist whale watching. The round the island tour features visits to a rum factory and a nutmeg centre both interesting although the waterfalls and Caribs Leapmare a bit tame. If you enjoy haggling a trip to the Saturday market is a pleasant change.
Free use of the hobby cats, canoes, and one visit to the spa is a nice touch..
We would recommend the Coyaba to anyone wanting a quieter holiday and would be pleased to return but prefer to visit new places every visit..

Room Tip: Only visited one, 126, and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived and were greeted warmly by the staff. They were very friendly and showed us to our rooms. However, the rooms were very basic and not the cleanest. The plumbing is shoddy, sometimes there was no hot water, sometimes there was only hot water and sometimes there was no water at all. On our last day before we were supposed to check out the shower was on the fritz, we called reception and they kept saying they were going to fix the shower and he had to move to another room for the last 20 minutes of our stay just to have a shower before our flight. The toilet had stains in it and the flooring in the bathroom was the result of bad craftsmanship. The AC in one of our rooms was rattly at night but seemed okay in the other room. The daily room clean was very basic as well. The food was mediocre. In the main restaurant the service was average but the food was not very good. The beach, on the other hand, was lovely, however, the locals are always trying to sell you stuff. The pool is not huge but is clean and pleasant to swim in, the pool bar is a nice service. We also made use of the dive centre, Ecodive, most days of our stay. Th staff there were very nice and we got in some good diving Overall, I would not recommend this place for a long period of time but it is adequate for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks and took the All Inclusive option - which proved to be a very good deal. Eating in this hotel or most places in Grenada is very expensive, so I recommend getting the AI even if you don't use it to the max -it's still a good deal. We ate out a couple of times - very nice especially if you eat at a local Grenadian restaurant. The hotel was half empty when we arrived, filled up a bit in the second week but throughout our stay we had prompt and efficient service at all times. Breakfast is fine, we encouraged the chef to put out a bit more salad and fresh food at breakfast which he did, so if you don't see what you want I suggest you ask. Dinners were ok, but some of the food was not brill - but he is a new chef, and unfortunately we left before his new menus came in to use. Rooms and bathrooms are ok, ours was cleaned and nicely kept during our stay. We had a room on the ground floor with a sea view initially but we were moved on the second night as our air con did not work. The move was painless and fast, and we were moved to an upstairs sea view room which actually suited us better (ground floor is a bit public). Yes we have been in much better hotel rooms, but have paid quite a bit more for the pleasure. The pool is a bit small, so we spent most of our leisure time in the absultely lovely gardens (lots of sun beds available) and walked up and down Grand Anse beach every day - lovely. The sea is warm and very calm, nothing much to see in the way of wildlife for snorklers but very inviting for swimming. You are walking distance from 2 or 3 other hotels if you want to visit others, and 2 mins walk from the Spice Island Mall - where there is an excellently stocked supermarket. All things on Grenada are expensive though.

Coyaba has music at night once a week - Saturday - the New Dimensions Steel Band - who are really excellent - don't miss them. If I ran the Coyaba, I'd seriously think about building a second bigger pool and providing a decent supply of pre-dinner snacks. There are a few plantain chips occsaionally but please, a good supply of nuts, crisps, anything with your pre-dinner gin and tonic would really make a difference!

We did a little driving around the island - very lush and green, but otherwise quite simple. We also did the island tour (nutmeg factory, rum factory, waterfalls, etc ) - it was exceptionally good and very enjoyable. The Kuoni rep Westell was charming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two weeks in September and really enjoyed our holiday.
The Grand Anse Beach has got to be one of the best beaches that we have ever been to, such a lovely setting, very clean, plenty of shade, fine sand and calm water.
The gardens of the hotel are so beautiful with the gardeners working constantly to keep up their appearance. There is plenty of natural shade, whether on the sand or grassy areas.
Our request for an upper floor was granted and we were pleasantly surprised with the room and the amount of space. We were able to keep the room at a pleasant temperature with either the ceiling fan or the air conditioner.
The food was excellent and as you have a choice from both menus there was always plenty of choice for us.
We tended to dine for our evening meal at the pool restaurant, as we felt this had a more intimate feel and also allowed my husband to wear a choice of shorts or trousers. The service was always very attentive and pleasant.
Although we enjoyed the breakfast, we did think there would have been more fresh fruit available.
Our only negative coming from the holiday was the amount of bites we both received, even though we used different types of repellent both day and night. One of the places we seemed to get bitten was in the bar or restaurant area, along with the reception area. We wondered if the hotel could do anything to help this situation by spraying the grounds especially in those areas.
We ventured into St Georges on a couple of occasions using the Number 1 bus and this was easy and fun.
We also went on a sunset catamaran cruise which we enjoyed so much the first week, we straight away booked for the next week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days at the Coyaba. Wish it had been much longer. Our room was a 2nd floor garden view, however, we could see the beach. The room was small and, although sparcely furnished, it worked fine for us. The bed was very comfortable and it was easy to control the room temperature. We included breakfasts in our reservation -- good decision as breakfasts were very good. Buffet style with lots of options. Staff were always courteous and helpful. The hotel is on the Grand Anse Beach -- which is lovely. Very clean beach and safe to go barefoot in the water. Since this is the slow season, the beach was never crowded or noisy. Locals do visit the beach and often bring their dogs. (The dogs all look too thin and afraid. All the stray dogs on the beach and in the town are really a downer.) Anyway . . . . the hotel is located in an area in which you can walk to nearby shops and restaurants. I recommend a local restaurant, Umbrellas (which is next door) for lunch or lite dinner. A front desk person was always available and always helpful. Very customer-service oriented. The concierge service was very good. We worked with a woman named Deedee - who gave us a lot of good suggestions and helped get us on a snorkel trip. I highly recommend the Coyaba and would hope to return in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach | PO Box 336, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#7 Family Hotel in St. George's
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#7 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is poised on the 2.5-miles stretch of pristine Grand Anse Beach, renowned world over as one of the Caribbean’s best beaches for natural beauty, on the island of Grenada. Coyaba’s ambiance of intimacy, with full amenities for the classic Caribbean vacation, to remarkable design theme with attributes to exemplify centuries ago Arawak Indian-life, all combine to make this resort a one-of-kind gem. A resort primarily drawing celebrating couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel St. George`s
Coyaba Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish
Hotel Coyaba Beach
Coyaba Grenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.