We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, a little tired, but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allamanda Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Allamanda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Allamanda Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
Gulfport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific location, a little tired, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights each at front and back end of a Windjammer cruise. The hotel is basic, no frills and clean. Staff were kind and helpful. Just 6 minutes to walk to full grocery store (beer, wine and liquor), same to Carib Sushi- great fresh sushi, Umbrellas- great beach bar with terrific food, and bakery- La Boujanerie(sp?) for breakfast which also does pizza for lunch and dinner. Hotel is right in the center of Grand Anse Beach- wide white sand beach, clear turquoise water. Hotel has a nice large pool and tidy basic landscaping. The restaurant on the property, Ali Baba, apparently is not connected to the hotel, is an oddity. The 2 meals ( strong middle eastern focus) we had were well prepared and tasty, but service was well beyond "island time". For a tasty and fast breakfast head to the bakery (La Boujanierie) directly across the grassy field from the hotel entrance. Allamanda is a basic hotel, so don't expect the amenities and services of a full medium-priced resort. Take the local bus at the round-about into St. Georges for 2.50EC- a panel van that stops at marked bus stops and anywhere in between- a private taxi will run about 35EC and you'll miss the real Grenada. We recommend the Allamanda for a 1-2 night stay, but probably would do a smaller guest house off the beach for a longer stay. But if you're a real die hard beach sun bather this might work for you!

Room Tip: Definitely select ocean view and 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

if the restaurant you have just visited is the same as the immediately previous review. No mosquitos, great simple grilled king fish (no fancy sauces) well presented by efficient and friendly staff. The Hommus, as a started tasted just like the Lebanese Hommus. The restaurant also had a wide range of drinks although we did not look at the wine list.
And to finish the Arabic coffee was the real stuff.
Expensive - no not for an up-market restaurant in high season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is a basic, no frills hotel. Rooms are clean, not fancy. Beds comfortable. TV does have limited channels. But it has a great location - near to supermarket to buy snacks, several restaurants in walking distance by road or beach. We were able to catch St. George Univ bus as we are parents. Never used pool but it looked clean and inviting. Beach is wonderful. Beach towels provided. Front desk staff helpful. We were surprised there was a charge for phone calls. Had to request replacement toiletries and towels one day, housekeeping so so. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place. If you want a clean, basic place to stay between hanging on the beach and sightseeing, this is great.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request 1st floor if mobility problems. You do have to carry your luggage to 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything about this hotel is OK. The reception area was a bit grubby. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room we were in was a decent size, clean, but in need of an upgrade. The grounds of the hotel are also OK, could maybe use a bit more love and attention. Basically the hotel was fine, nothing special though nothing really wrong with it either. Though if you're on a budget and want to be on the beautiful grand anse beach then this is the hotel for you. A very good price compared to the likes of the Coyaba next door. I would stay here again for a few days if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother paying more for a seaview room. The hotel is set back from the beach and I dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everything else was sold out for NYE, and we needed a place to stay last minute. The owner was very nice and very helpful. The rooms are decent, beds ok. AC worked great in my room, but my companion's room never cooled down. The tv had only about 3 stations. The beach was right out our back door- beautiful! The pool was ok. The restaurant was middle-eastern, not too bad. It was closed on New Year's day, but we walked next door to another resort and it was great (Cayuba). The beach bar "Umbrellas" was also outstanding- only a few steps from our hotel.
Overall the hotel is a little run down with few ammenities, but if you need a cheap place to stay on Grenada with a great beach and plenty of great food/drink options within walking distance, it isn't too bad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at this property for 1 night before a cruise that I was taking the following day. Rooms are clean and food is good at the restaurant. Property can use some TLC. Good location overall. Would stay again. A thing to remember is this property is 2 floors but does not have an elevator-so you will have to carry your luggage to the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Allamanda Beach Resort continues to be one of the best values for its location. It is right on Grand Anse Beach. The rooms are clean with a TV, refrigerator and coffee pot. Staff is very welcoming and always ready to be of assistance. Near many restaurants and is an easy bus ride into St. George's.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor Garden Rooms to avoid the tile stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allamanda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Beach Resort

Address: Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#9 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allamanda Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allamanda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Allamanda Beach
Allamanda Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allamanda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.