We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no frills hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allamanda Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Allamanda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allamanda Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, St. George's 00000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
powell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, no frills hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everything else was sold out for NYE, and we needed a place to stay last minute. The owner was very nice and very helpful. The rooms are decent, beds ok. AC worked great in my room, but my companion's room never cooled down. The tv had only about 3 stations. The beach was right out our back door- beautiful! The pool was ok. The restaurant was middle-eastern, not too bad. It was closed on New Year's day, but we walked next door to another resort and it was great (Cayuba). The beach bar "Umbrellas" was also outstanding- only a few steps from our hotel.
Overall the hotel is a little run down with few ammenities, but if you need a cheap place to stay on Grenada with a great beach and plenty of great food/drink options within walking distance, it isn't too bad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avoca
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at this property for 1 night before a cruise that I was taking the following day. Rooms are clean and food is good at the restaurant. Property can use some TLC. Good location overall. Would stay again. A thing to remember is this property is 2 floors but does not have an elevator-so you will have to carry your luggage to the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Allamanda Beach Resort continues to be one of the best values for its location. It is right on Grand Anse Beach. The rooms are clean with a TV, refrigerator and coffee pot. Staff is very welcoming and always ready to be of assistance. Near many restaurants and is an easy bus ride into St. George's.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor Garden Rooms to avoid the tile stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For the price, this is a very nice hotel right in the center of things on Grand Anse beach. Staff is friendly and helpful, near several good and inexpensive restaurants and right across from a nice shopping mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Allamanda is ideally located on the Grand Anse beach, within walking distance to restaurants and a supermarket. It is a quiet relaxing resort, the room was spacious and comfortable, linens looked and smelled clean, staff was pleasant, well maintained grounds - good value for money. We had dinner at the Middle Eastern Ali Baba restaurant on the first night – food was good. We had local dishes for breakfast at Grill Express at the Food Court in the Spiceland Mall and lunch from some local ladies opposite the resort.

Room Tip: Garden View Room may experience noise from public access to Grand Anse beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband, daughter and I checked into the Allamanda and we felt at ease right away. I found the staff and location ideal for us, the beach is right next door. Its not a big fancy resort but its clean, quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I wanted a hotel on Gran Anse beach for a few nights. Allamanda is well located on the central portion of the beach right next to Coyaba at a much cheaper rate. That being said the hotel is in need of an upgrade. The rooms are dated and remind me of a Miami motel.It is not a resort. The rooms were clean enough with all ammenities required including a small fridge. The bathrooms looked like they were upgraded. Staff were pleasant. Don't expect any activities it is very basic and quiet. A full breakfast is included in the room rate at the Ali baba restaurant on site. You have your pick of anything on the menu. It was fine. We had dinner there one night it was OK. A plus is that you are within an easy 10 minute walk to a lot of other restaurants, supermarket, bank, mall etc.. and of course you are on Gran Anse beach.

Room Tip: A first floor room facing the beach would give you a very nice view and some security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allamanda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allamanda Beach Resort

Address: Morne Rouge Grand Anse | P.O.Box 27, St. George's 00000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#9 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allamanda Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Allamanda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allamanda Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Allamanda Beach
Allamanda Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allamanda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.