We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few small changes could make it perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Booking Bonus!
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A few small changes could make it perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here earlier this year and this was the 4th Sandals we’ve been to. It’s easily the most impressive in terms of the resort itself. We stayed in a South Seas junior hideaway suite and loved it. The room was close to everything yet also very quiet and peaceful once the sun went down.
The restaurants here are great. As others have said, Butch’s is a must, so good we went twice! A special mention also to Soy, the sushi there is outstanding.
There are a few reasons I’ve given this 4 stars rather than 5. Firstly the lack of beach towels- I would expect these to be readily available at all times but this was never the case. I often had to hang on to a dirty towel from the previous day. Secondly, the cleaning of the communal areas was poor. Our room was cleaned immaculately but the toilets around the restaurants and pools were always rather dirty. Additionally, for a 5 star resort, it was disappointing to have only 2 choices of white or red wine. Both of the white wines were pretty grim, one of which was a chardonnay which is very outdated. And finally, the staff are all very polite but we got a little tired of the scripted dinner introduction every night introducing themselves and the drinks waiter etc etc. It felt forced rather than genuine.
That aside, we did have a great week despite the fact it rained very single day. The above points could easily be rectified and then this really would be a true 5 star luxury resort.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    165
    57
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
666
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent our honeymoon at Sandals La Source 12th jan for 1 week and it truly is the most amazing and romantic place to stay for your honeymoon or anniversary.
We stayed in the Pink Gin accommodation room 1316, and it was perfect for 2, amazing picture postcard views of the beach from our balcony and the sound of the waves helping you drift off to sleep was very soothing. The room was kept clean and the soft drinks in our fridge replenished daily.
It was our first time to any Sandals resort and we didn't know quite what to expect but from our arrival the service from the team and the whole experience was phenomenal!!
Where to start from the complimentary bottle of champagne that greeted us in our room to complimentary breakfast in bed to celebrate our honeymoon.
Breakfast, lunch and evening meal all food and service at all restaurants was the finest.
From the pool to the beach every bit of this resort was out of this world just beautiful!
My review cannot give Sandals La Source justice for just how perfect it was, I could go on all day!!
This was our first visit to La Source and it certainly wont be our last, we will be back for our 1 year anniversary!!!

Room Tip: There is quite a few different room options for you to choose, they depend on your style, what view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Sandals is very beautifully landscaped and the buildings pleasant to look at. The people are so nice and friendly. The food is above average compared to other Sandals. Each restaurant offering different cuisines. We were upgraded to an Italian village bi level swim up Butler room. The room was spacious and the bathroom was to die for! However, do not pay more money for these rooms! The pool directly in front of your room is convient, but because it doesn't see the sun until late afternoon in January, it is so freezing cold no one used it the entire ten days we were there. Each day we went to the beach. The beach itself is very small compared to the other Sandals so the chairs are pretty close to each other. There are only a couple of small Palm trees that barely give any shade and the resort does not have enough beach umbrellas. If you didn't have a butler, you were never going to get one. It was a bit disappointing.
However, our butlers Craig Augustine and Kendra Alexander made sure that each day we were set up on the beach with drinks and snacks and dinner reservations each evening. We celebrated my birthday in the most romantic setting thanks to them! We will never forget that wonderful experience.
Hotel manager Kressville Ritchie was out and about throughout our stay and was very accessible if you needed to speak to him. We met up with great people throughout our stay. Unfortunately, not all had the great experience that we did. One couple paid for an upgrade that really didn't look like an upgrade and weren't invited to the welcome back party even though this was their fourth stay.
Overall, it is a lovely place and a beautiful getaway!

Room Tip: Pink Gin rooms are right on the beach, but not all have great views and some have no privacy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent 2 weeks here in Pink Gin penthouse room in January 2015.it felt smaller than other Sandals we had been to and we really enjoyed it.
The room was slightly dark but despite having 4 checked bags and 3 hand luggage bags we found plenty of room for all of it to be stored.we loved the ocean view which more than compensated for the smaller balcony than in Italian or Pool blocks.The housekeeping was excellent and room was checked at least 2ce / day and replenished as required.We found it clean and the bed very comfortable.The lift only went to the floor below but good exercise walking up flight of stairs.The beach although not massive was plenty big enough and there were always loungers available and plenty of shade if required .The beach and gardens were well tended and clean.The food was excellent and the buffets felt a lot better than other sandals we had been to since much smaller.There was no buffet in the evening ,apart from beach party night ,which pleased us.We thought Butches,Spices ,Neptunes and Jardiniere ( French) restaurants were all excellent and deep fried ice cream in Soy was to die for.The water sports staff were great and very helpful and keen to please.They were happy to keep taking us out on hobies. We did not have a butler but they were less intrusive than at Le Toc St Lucia in 2013 since we could get into restaurants and get loungers in decent positions.We hired a car and enjoyed seeing the island.The people are gentle,charming and friendly and without exception the staff were superb.
The only downsides were we thought the entertainment was slightly low key and we could only get a taxi through the tour company on the premises and hence were expensive.
Would recommend

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 1317, a Pink Gin Oceanview Penthouse Room from December 21-29. The room might be a little bit smaller and darker than the rooms in the South Seas area but the view of the ocean more than made up for it. It was wonderful to fall asleep, listening to the waves every night. As other people have stated, there are not many drawers in the room. There is one drawer in each nightstand and two small drawers in the shelving unit for the TV/refrigerator/bar. In the closet there are shelves to store your folded clothes. Having read about this before we came to Sandals, I decided to pack some folding baskets I bought at Ikea. They are cloth covered cardboard with a zipper on the bottom allowing them to fold flat. I brought 2 square ones to hold our underwear/socks/bathing suits, a rectangle one to hold chargers, batteries, etc., and a small square to hold sunscreen, deodorant, toothpaste, etc. They were very helpful.

All of the staff were wonderful.
We did not see a single employee who did not smile and greet us. Some of the staff who helped to make our stay special were Satar (manager of the butlers), Jean (the cook at Spices), Cleda who helped us with restaurant reservations, Rachel who invited us to come to Cucina Romana for breakfast, Karima (from Snap Shots). Antonio from the living room bar, and all of the dive staff (especially Elijah, Garry, Chris, Shavon, Troyson, and Ann Marie). Tenisha from housekeeping kept our room clean and tidy. We also enjoyed talking to the girls in Cafe de Paris every day.

When we arrived we were told that the resort was 68% full. By the time we left it was over 90% full and we did not notice any change. The resort never felt full. We could always find a bed by the pool, there were always beach towels available, the restaurants never seemed to be crowded (but we are early eaters). You could always find a quiet place to sit or you could join the fun at the pool bar.

We went scuba diving every day. The diving was very easy and enjoyable. Most days there were at least 12 people diving so they would split us into two groups. I like to take pictures and I never felt rushed to stay with the group. The dive masters kept a good eye on us but did not panic or reprimand us if we fell behind for a few minutes. You do have to carry your regulator, BCD, mask and fins on the boat. The boat is not docked. I was a little bit worried about this but it was no big deal. You have to wade out to the boat (usually just in water up to my knees or less) and climb the ladder on the back of the boat.

On Christmas, they did a few things to make the day special. They held a church service which was nice. In the morning Santa arrived on water skis then was available for photos. They handed out small bottles of spices as a gift. At dinner that night, they had carolers go to the restaurants and sing some Christmas songs. It would have been nice if they had provided a special meal for Christmas. All of the restaurants just served their regular menus.

Okay, this review is getting to be too long. You can message me if you have questions about this resort. Thanks again to all of the employees and guests who helped to make our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This new property is one of the most upscale in room and property design. It is on the Caribbean and yet you can see the port some miles away. Airport is 10 minutes away with The beach is smaller than other Sandals but wide The staff are very well trained as professions The chef knows how to make it a 5 star with 11 eateries A good experience, yet make sure you visit other sandals too as this one is a tad unique to lets say big beach properties at Antigua or St Lucia.

Room Tip: All rooms are very upscale Those on the hill have good views of the property Pink Gin rooms on Car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Property

The Sandals property is located about 5 minutes from the Point Salines airport and super convenient for weary travelers. Once you enter the resort, you immediately notice that everything is well manicured and appointed. The registration process took a little bit longer than I anticipated, but the customer service was seriously 6-star. I was very impressed.

The resort is split into three areas: Pink Gin, Italian Village and South Seas. The Pink Gin area is close to most of the restaurants and the “living room” which is the activity area at night. If you want early quiet evenings, I would suggest South Seas. If you want to be part of the action, then Pink Gin and Italian Village is what you are looking for. Italian Village is much more luxurious than Pink Gin, but both are located near the beach.

Rooms
We stayed in the Pink Gin area and found that the rooms were nicely appointed, clean and modern with an island twist. The room came with complementary macaroons and a stocked fridge (soft drinks and water) upon arrival. The room also had a view of the ocean with a small balcony, a large walk in shower with two showerheads and a large smart tv (basic cable). We had an issue with the AC when we arrived, but the issue was quickly remedied. Again, great service here.

Beach
The beach is a bit disappointing. There is a small area for swimming protected by ocean breakers. Very small area which cannot really be used for typical ocean swimming. However, six anchored rafts are available to float the day away. I thought that was a nice touch. There is a lifeguard for part of the day, but not for the entire day. You really will not need one because the water is not deep and the breakers prevent you from going out too far. However, the water near the shore is full of schools of fish which is cool for amateur snorkelers. You can see them with the naked eye and the fish are harmless. However, what is awesome, is that you can have unlimited beach towels. A plus in my book! The beach loungers also were not that difficult to secure around 9am. Staff continually check on you when you are at the beach and even suggested a drink. My favorite drink was the “BBC” named after a beach in Grenada. It was a banana-coconut frozen creamy drink. DELICIOUS! It does get a bit gusty on the beach. One day a beach umbrella snapped off of the base and hit me very hard across my forehead. I suffered a concussion because of it. However, again, following the incident. The response to the incident by the management team was very responsive.

Pools
The three pools are nice, but a bit small. The pool dwellers near Pink Gin seem to be more reserved and more mature than the pool near Dino’s pizzeria in South Seas. The South Seas pool has a swim-up bar, a nice sized bar and a DJ who plays various genres of music. Near each pool, there were cabanas for first come-first serve and plenty of loungers. However, like any resort, the early bird gets the worm.

Atmosphere
The atmosphere is definitely a lovebird, honeymoon or anniversary haven. I would not suggest this place for a group of friends looking for a good time. Also, like typical resorts, there is no Grenadian influence and even the food or beverages are not local. They don’t use local Grenadian rum, now that is a shame because Grenada has really good rum! There is a late night traditional English pub that serves food until 10pm and drinks until 2am (Tipsy Turtle) but no real disco or mingle spot. The Living Room is supposed to be a mingle spot, but it seems more of an area for couples to meet other couples, not singles to meet other singles.

Spa
The spa was decent, but not on par with other resort spas I’ve visited. The process of preparing for the spa was a bit awkward because you had to walk in a robe in the public in front of the spa. Not exactly a relaxing way to start the spa experience. Also, the spa rooms smelled like cooked food because I assume it shares a space with the Spices restaurant. The actual practitioners were decent.

Food
Finally, the food. Overall, the restaurants were pretty good. You only need reservations for two restaurants: Butch’s Chophouse and Kimonos. The chophouse had really good lobster and steak, while Kimonos was a pretty good teppanyaki grill. Neptune’s (seafood) is the only place that serves fries for lunch, so we often made that our lunch spot. Also, it is the only restaurant on the beach. Spices had a good breakfast buffet and a good pan-Caribbean menu for dinner. Our favorite place for breakfast was Le Jardinier. Great place, not a buffet and great customer service by LaToya especially. The Italian restaurant, Cucina Romana, was our least favorite from a food and service perspective. Our favorite was Butch’s.

Overall, we had a very nice time at this Sandals and definitely would return!

Room Tip: Rooms in the South Seas area are quieter at night, but further away from activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa

Address: Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#6 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandals LaSource Grenada is an exotic, unspoiled hideaway that offers a romantic, authentic Caribbean experience while providing the Luxury Included amenities and exceptional service that have come to be associated with the Sandals Resorts experience. Known as the "Spice Isle," Grenada is a mesmerizing island with some of the most incredible natural wonders in the Caribbean from stunning beaches and waterfalls to lush rainforests and pristine mountain lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasource Grenada Hotel St. George`s
Lasource Grenada St Georges
La Source Grenada
Grenada La Source
Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort And Spa Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.