We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals LaSource Grenada

Save Saved
You added Sandals LaSource Grenada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals LaSource Grenada
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Sandals in Grenada is breathtaking! The entire resort is immaculate and beautiful. The staff are amazing and so friendly. We had a butler suite, and it was so worth it. Tamara and ShirleyAnn were our main butlers, and they were amazing!! We tried not to bother them too much. We did ask them to reserve us chairs by the pool and beach and escort us to our dinner reservations. Peter, who filled in on their off days, took it to another level. On our last day, he set up for us to have a special surprise lunch with jerk chicken, rack of lamb, tempura shrimp, potatoes, salad, chocolate cake and nutmeg ice cream, and wine. It was divine! All of the restaurants were delicious! This was the first time at a Sandals for us, and we don't know how we will ever vacation anywhere else!

We met 3 couples, who were on their anniversary trip together. They met the previous year on their honeymoon and decided to take their anniversary trips together. We were asked to join in on next year's trip, so we all have already booked the new Sandals in Barbados!!

AJ at the swimup bar was awesome! The entertainment group was great! Thanks for all of the competitive and fun pool volleyball!! Alexia is a sneaky little cheater! Haha We had a blast playing against her! She's great!!

The Lover's Sunset cruise is a must! Beautiful and relaxing. The half-day Grenada sampler was perfect. Make sure to go on a Friday or Saturday when the local market is open.

The only suggestion I would make has to do with check-out. Upon check-out, our breakfast was delivered an hour late, which was the exact time we were to be in the lobby to leave for the airport, so we did not get to eat breakfast. We actually passed the man delivering our food on our way to the lobby. There was only one person to check-out about 10-15 couples. We would have liked if the night before departure it was an option to have our butler assist us in checking out that night. Obviously this suggestion would only be for those with butler suites.

We cannot wait to celebrate our anniversary with Sandals!

Anthony (the professional twerker) & Ashley

Room Tip: Club level and butler suites come with free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    101
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
413
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the LaSource Sandals in Grenada for our honeymoon and all we can say is amazing! What made it even better was our Butlers Troy and Neron. They made our stay exceptional and very enjoyable. We couldn't ask for anything more. We stayed in the Italian village and it was well worth it.

The food was remarkable, we would say 5 star type, and we're very picky with good quality food, this exceeded our expectations.

So much more I can say but I am definitely going to be booking through Sandals with our next Caribbean vacation and I wish to have Troy and Neron travel with us! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at Sandals La Source Grenada from July 2thru July 13th. This was our 7th Sandals property celebrating our 10th anniversary. If you like to be spoiled then this is the resort for you. The people in Grenada are great and very friendly. The restaurants are very good (Food and Service) with Butch’s being the best. We met LaToya the first night when we arrived and she got us right in at Butch’s. She is so wonderful and always has a smile.
We went diving a few times and the Dive Team is excellent. Saw about 35 dolphins following the dive boat one day. The corral is very colorful, and we saw a huge octopus, lobsters, crabs and other fish.
You need to have Jeff (the Hulk) take you out on the Hobby Cat sail boat. Very informational and a great guy to visit with.
The swim up bar is a great place to meet new friends. AJ the bartender will take great care of you.
We stayed in the Pink Gin Village. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. House Keeping does a great job.
The beach is small and the ocean is a little rough at times but we had a lot of fun playing in the waves.
We went to town on a Friday (Farmers Market Day) and looked around. Everyone in town was friendly and so nice. I would suggest going on Friday or Saturday when the farmers market is there.
We left the day before the new pub opened (Bummer). We cheered in the pub with a shot with our new friends Daniel and GiGi.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ok lets start with the 4 Minute drive from the airport to the resort. It was seriously 4 minutes! We arrived and were accompanied by out Butler Robert. He was so good to us. So charming and had a great sense of humor. He gave a quick tour because it was late at night and he knew we were weary from out travel.

Wait travel? What travel, Grenada is a 3 hour plane from Philadelphia to Miami and a 3 hour plane from Miami to Grenada. Even that made this trip exceptional.

But wait there's more. We arrive at this beautiful resort at night and there are fire pits in the sand and fire pits in the middle of the pools. Everyone was so pleasant and everyone was so happy. As we walked by other couples we could tell that they were having the time of their lives.

The atmosphere was breathtaking. As we comfortably walked up to our room and Robert opened the door we were taken back by how beautiful the room was. We had a huge bed and tv in each room and there was a freaking bath tub out side on our deck. I forgot to mention the infinity pool that was connecting to our deck. It was so cool. Super Awesome!

The bathroom was huge. It fit a bathtub, shower, personal toilet with a extra door, and a make up area for my bride to get ready with a personal mirror and a built in blow dryer.

The couches in the living room were so comfortable and when we woke up I was like a boy on christmas morning. I didn't' believe just how great the view was going to be. We were on top of the world!!

When I say that I was looking out into blue water and to the right of me was a beautiful built resort straight ahead was the water and sand and the to the left was a mountain of earth it was amazing.

We woke and had excellent room service. Out butler was able to call us on our phone and had told us that His name was Marcus!!! and that he had reserved the best seats on the beach for us and the best seats at the pool for us so that we could decide which one we would like to stay at for the day.

Of course we said the beach and that is where we sat all day, Marcus was wonderful he brought fresh coconuts from his house and had them ready for us when we needed to hydrate from the to warm sun. I said warm sun because the weather was perfect. The air was cool yet the sun stayed out for us all day. As we sat on the beach we were in paradise. I loved being able to see the cliffs at each end of the beaches and paddle boarding was fun as well.

I could go on and on about Marcus and how wonderful he was, like how he would bring us food without us even telling him and the fresh coconut water everyday was truly from his heart. He and Robert had such great attitudes and worked very hard to make out stay perfect.

Robert even set up out beach chairs and coolers on my wife's birthday with balloons and a conch shell that read Happy Birthday. We sang 3 times that day. Cake 3 times a day is always a good day.

The food was great the weather was great and sandals was Super Awesome. I wouldn't of done anything different. I wish I could be there right now.

Thank You guys for doing what you do. Keep up the good work. I will try to write another review in the future to add to this one.

Room Tip: Get the room with the infinite pool it is so nice to go swimming and then take a bath all on the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had the most amazing experience honeymooning at this resort. The resort is only 6 months old so it is new, pristine and modern. The staff provides an unprecedented level of service and our food and room was to die for. Since it was our honeymoon, we splurged and got the Rondoval Butler Suite. My husband and I have been fortunate enough to travel to some pretty nice places and experience some other 5 star properties and this way by far the nicest room I'd ever been in! One of my favorite things was being able to open the french doors and hang my feet into our private plunge pool. I also loved the big bathtub and outdoor shower. Peter and Shanell were our butlers and they were spectacular! They helped us arrange a private car to tour the island, stocked our room with lots of waters because they noticed we would go through them quickly, and even set up a poolside dinner by our private plunge pool on the night that we were too tired to go to dinner. We enjoyed all of the restaurants, except we weren't huge fans of the sushi bar... The rolls tasted a little fishy and were just very different than what we are accustomed to in Southern California. We enjoyed all of our other meals and I really liked the way sandals identified which menu items were "healthier" choices. We became friends with all of the wait staff and were sad to say good-bye but can't wait to plan our next trip back to this resort in Grenada.

Room Tip: The Butler Rondoval Suite was well worth the extra money. One of the nicest rooms I've stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent 6 days at this resort at the end of June and absolutely loved it. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed to the island and resort by our butler, to the bellman who loaded our luggage into the taxi back and asked us to "please come back and see us" it was the best service we have ever experienced at a resort. Everyone at this Sandals (and I mean everyone) goes out of their way to say hello while making eye contact with a big smile. I'm not sure what Kool-Aid they are drinking, but it is working! Their hospitality, pride of the island and resort, feels very genuine!

Shirley Ann, Tamara and Michael our butlers were amazing. Just a sample of the things they did for us included, reserving our favorite spot by the pool/beach everyday set up with towels and a cooler of our favorite drinks. They had surprises each evening in our room (romantic settings including music, lights, candles, treats, specialty after dinner drinks, hot baths all prepared with candles and flowers. They delivered and set up breakfast in our room when we wanted to relax in the morning rather than head to a restaurant. They prepared a fabulous dinner on our balcony one evening from the Le Jardinier restaurant complete with candles, tiki torches, chilled champagne and delivered each course as needed....it was amazing. They also provided us with a cooler of drinks and snacks for the day we rented a car to tour the island (more on that frustrating driving adventure below). Every evening even the clothes we left laying around the room were neatly folded for us. To get pampered, spoiled and for an experience you will never forget...spring for the butler service!

The restaurants and food throughout the resort are all excellent. The atmosphere, presentation, selection and food quality are some of the best we have had in the Caribbean and equivalent to top restaurants in the US. If you are a "foodie" you will appreciate the emphasis that this resort is placing on their culinary success.

A special "shout out" to Marie Donna (Neptunes by the Beach) who was always very friendly and helpful and Stephone, the Manager of the Italian restaurant (Cucina) who was also very attentive. We could list more employees, but we really just need to list everyone.

The resort is beautiful. With under 300 total rooms, it's easy to navigate from one end to the other. For a resort this size, the amenities and options are second to none....3 restaurant options for breakfast (4 if you include room service). It is only six months old, but the landscaping is already starting to mature and is amazing. We stayed in the South Seas section in a room they call one of the "Millionaire Suites" and we felt like Millionaires staying there! Outside the room we had own infinity pool, hot tub, large balcony/patio with 2 lounge chairs, an outdoor shower (not totally screened from everyone though) and inside we had a separate living room, 2 flat screen TV's, giant soaking tub, walk-in shower, double vanities, plenty of storage for all our clothes in beautiful furnishings.....as our UK friends we met would say...wicked!

They have plenty of activities at this resort...pool and beach volleyball, sailboats, snorkeling, paddleboards, a very nice fitness center, yoga center and 2 lighted tennis courts. One of the pools is considered a quiet pool and the other an "active" pool which features the pool volleyball and large swim-up bar.

The beach is just "okay." They have nice protected areas so you can easily swim in the ocean, but the sand is not as soft as some that you will find and you have to get used to the fact that some of it appears dirty, but it's actually due to the volcanic ash content in the sand. They do have a number of chairs on the beach and a couple of nice piers to walk on over the water that feature "love nests" which are hanging chairs built for 2.

Spa...this is one area that needs some improvement. We had a couples massage and the massage itself was amazing, but the facility is just not what you expect with a 5 Star resort. No true lounging area before or after the massage. No pool, hot tub or hydrotherapy pools to use before or after. You have to walk outside with your robe on to get to the stairs to go up to the treatment rooms. The lighting outside the treatment rooms was too bright and we thought our room could have used more subdued lighting treatments and warmer colors...almost felt like a hospital room.

Finally, some recommendations based on our experience:

We rented a car for the day in an effort to see experience the island. We would not recommend seeing the island this way. They have mostly winding roads that are not well marked (hardly marked at all). You drive on the left and the controls are on the right. We usually rent a car most islands we visit (we've driven in Jamaica a couple of times), but driving on this island was a challenge not only because of the narrow roads, but because nothing is marked. I would highly recommend seeing the island, just take an excursion through the Island Routes desk or get a personal guide for 1/2 day. From the guests we spoke with, the 1/2 day tour of the falls/rain forest and the jeep tour/river tubing seemed to be ones that got great reviews. Those that went on the all day tour liked the tour, but said it made for a long day. One that looked like fun but we didn't try it was the 2 person boat tour/snorkel trip. That tour also takes you to the Underwater Sculpture Park for snorkeling which we did get to see and that was very cool.

Some of our favorite drinks - try the BBC, the Rosemary Slow Gin Fizz and if you can find Charlie the bartender he makes an amazing Frozen Passion Mojita...that was our favorite until they ran out of Creme de mint! The alcohol is top shelf and if you need it stronger, just ask them to add a shot on top.

Some of our favorite meals - We're usually not big Spaghetti and Meatball fans, but they were recommended to us by someone else to try at the Italian restaurant and they were excellent....best we've ever had! They also prepare the Taramisu right at your table. All the Sushi was great. The Seafood sampler at night at Neptunes was really good...especially the Cod. The Fish and Chips at Neptunes for lunch and the Caprese salads there were really good. The filet at Butch's is excellent, but if you ask for it to be done beyond Medium, it will be a butterfly cut...not as tender obviously. The Salmon and Chateaubriand at Le Jardinier were both great.

Rooms - they have 3 different sections at this resort...Pink Gin which are on the beach and part of the original resort, but totally remodeled. The Italian Village which consists of 2 multi-story buildings is in the center of the property and the South Seas which consists of a series of 2 story buildings, the Rondovals and the Millionaire suites is further from the beach. Each has it's own benefits so work with a travel agent to get the one that suits your preferences and budget.

Make sure to catch the sunset from one of the "love nest" chairs on the pier.

They don't have a ton of flights coming into Grenada so it might take you a little longer to get here depending on your location, but we think you will find it worth it. I don't usually write reviews this long, but this resort deserves it.

Room Tip: Have a travel agent help you with the best room to suit your preferences. Each section has it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at Sandals La Source Grenada from June 27 thru July 5th. This was our 5th Sandals property and our 8th overall stay at Sandals. We were very impressed with this resort.

First, let me say that we have travelled to the Caribbean at least 2 to 3 times per year over the last 15 years. Simply put, the people at this resort, from the landscapers and ground crews to the staff and servers and management were, bar none, the nicest, sweetest, most genuine and sincere people we have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. We were so impressed by how friendly EVERYONE was at the resort.

There are two main pools. A quiet pool closer to the beach and a more lively pool near the swim-up beach bar. We stayed at the more lively pool every day. Overall, the DJ's played good music and the entertainment was fairly decent. One day, the entertainers got bogged down with a Jamaican Trivia game in which the DJ gave all the answers over the course of about an hour and then asked the trivia questions. I thought it would never end. However, that was the only bad day at the pool. Generally, the DJ's play Top 40 pop, country and Jamaican / Reggae music.

We ate at Butch's Chophouse 3 of our 8 nights. The food was incredible. By far, the best steaks and crab cakes! The manager at Butch's, La Toya, is an absolute joy! What an incredible Ambassador for the Sandals brand! I looked forward to seeing her throughout the resort each day, at Spices and elsewhere, with her lovely greetings of: "Hello, my darlings!" We miss her dearly! She and Sydney sang to us at our table one night. It was awesome! Also, Renel, the hostess at Butch's was a "ray of sunshine" each day as well. She also sang us a song as we were leaving her restaurant one night. It was so cool to be serenaded on the front steps of Butch's with people walking by smiling!

As far as the other restaurants, Kimono's was good, Spices had good variety, and Cucina Romana had very good Italian food.

Overall, we were extremely impressed with the food at this resort. Cucina Romana and Spices had excellent breakfast buffets with made-to-order omelets. The pizza for lunch was great and the hot dog cart and the master chef creating his hot dog masterpieces are not to be missed.

We would also like to give recognition to other employees who went above and beyond the call of duty and treated us like royalty, including: Jamie at check-in, Compta at the Living Room bar, Shawna at drink service at the pool and Brendalina at the Soon Come Back desk! (We booked a returning trip to go to Sandals Grande Antigua for next summer before we left Grenada!)

Last, but not least, we have to recognize the lovely Nasasha. She made our vacation so very wonderful as well. She is the new wedding coordinator at Sandals Grenada. She recently moved there from Sandals Antigua. Although we weren't getting married (we were on our 18th wedding anniversary trip), we met Nasasha at the Returning Guest dinner on Wednesday night. What a beautiful and delightful young lady. Not only did we sit at her table at the returning guest dinner and she showed us a fabulous time, we invited her to join us for dinner on our last night at the resort. We had so much fun and laughed so much! When you go to this resort, seek out Nasasha! She is awesome!

The grounds at this resort were beautiful and impeccably maintained. Clean, fresh, neat and being attended to all day, every day! Very impressive.

The one disappointing thing about this resort can't be helped. It is the beach and the ocean. As reported above, we have been all over the Caribbean to the white, white sandy, flour-like beaches and the rich, deep, blue-green water at places like Antigua, Dominican Republic, etc. The beach here is brown with lots of seashells. The water was very rough and dark blue that resembled lake water. If the beach and the ocean color are extremely important to you, this is not your resort. However, if you are looking for a resort with great food, the nicest people on the planet, beautiful grounds, fun pools, great live music at nights, then this resort is top notched. We will definitely return to Grenada to see our new friends.

Scott and Liz
Tulsa, OK

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals LaSource Grenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals LaSource Grenada

Address: Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#4 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#6 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals LaSource Grenada 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandals LaSource Grenada is an exotic, unspoiled hideaway that offers a romantic, authentic Caribbean experience while providing the Luxury Included amenities and exceptional service that have come to be associated with the Sandals Resorts experience. Known as the "Spice Isle," Grenada is a mesmerizing island with some of the most incredible natural wonders in the Caribbean from stunning beaches and waterfalls to lush rainforests and pristine mountain lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Sandals LaSource Grenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasource Grenada Hotel St. George`s
Lasource Grenada St Georges
La Source Grenada
Grenada La Source
Sandals LaSource Grenada Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals LaSource Grenada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.