We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals LaSource Grenada

Save Saved
You added Sandals LaSource Grenada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals LaSource Grenada
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in St. George's
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“luxury holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have just returned from Sandals LaSource, after a 10 day stay. Hotel was typically Sandals style; very beautiful gardens and lovely furnished rooms. The restaurants were all good, especially Butch's and the french restaurant with the staff being very friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. This hotel is perfect for a chilled out luxurious break.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms had wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    101
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
406
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the Pink Gin Suites (room 1209), and the view of the beach was great. The food was very good. Butch's steakhouse was excellent, as was the french restaurant. All the other restaurants were very good. The staff were wonderful. Everyone greeted you with a warm smile, and a friendly hello. Many of the staff were exceptional. Satar who is the butler manager greeted us at the airport with a warm smile, , and was there to assist us all week even though we did not even have butler service. He is a credit to the Sandals organization. Christine and Rachael at Dino's pizza are so warm, and friendly they made our stay a pleasure. They were like family! Also Chrystal and "AJ" at the pool bar were always attentive, and very personable. Then there is Sharisa at the pool bar area. She took the time to escort my wife to the Nurse one afternoon when my wife hurt her foot. She is a wonderful young lady. There were too many fantastic staff members to name everyone ,but they are all a credit to their beautiful island.. We had a wonderful time, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Sandals Grenada which only opened in December last year. We stayed in the pink gin club beach level rooms (1117), this was perfect as we dive and was just seconds away from the diving school and boat and right on the beach. Food was wonderful, all 5* dining and plenty of choice (gained 7lbs!!!), staff all so lovely and friendly, great cocktails, fab diving (turtles, ells, great wrecks, soft coral etc) with excellent dive masters and team. As previous Sandals guests we went to the returners dinner evening and sat with Peter the GM and Toola the President, what smashing people. My only regrets was I wish I had booked to stay longer. Thank you Peter, Toola and all at Sandals Grenada for a fantastic memorable holiday. Like Arnie says, "I'll be back.

Room Tip: Pink gin club walk out beach level was great and worth the extra cost. Our room was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week in July -
Had a PG club level honeymoon room. Swift check in spacious room and bathroom, lovely big bath on patio with curtains for privacy. Our patio area could only be seen by 1 neighbour in any event and they weren't about that often. Fully stocked fridge and shelf of drinks - all good.
Restaurants - all the breakfast places served an assortment - hot stuff, cereals, fruits, pancakes etc. For a lighter quicker breakfast Cafe De Paris was great.
We lunched at Neptunes a few times, the jerk chicken was great as was the fish. We also had a pizza at the pizza place, just choose your toppings, sit at the bar and its brought to you a few mins later.
Dinner - Spices was delicious, the pea soup was so tasty as was the jerk pork mmm.
Le Jardin was really lovely - we wanted to return but it was closed the 2nd time we tried.
Butches again very good, really decent steak, Kimonos was not bad, the usual bit of show cooking all good fun and the food wasn't bad (desserts were awful though)
The Italian for dinner was horrible, sorry THE breakfast there was nice, but the pasta dish I had was really horrible. I can't even remember what starter I had as it was so horrible. I had read that it was but thought we'd give it a go, but I'd skip it....
The pools were both nice, loads of beds and umbrellas, never a problem getting one no matter time of day. We preferred the quiet pool as much more breeze and no thumping music.
The library was the place in the evening, one evening they did a chocolate buffet there, there were models covered in chocolate a violinist also covered in chocolate and a vast array of truffles, fruit to be dipped in liquid chocolate etc. Another night they had a carnival theme, fire eaters, men on stilts dancers etc, they had a band another night and a steel band another night so they did try and put a few things on in the evenings. We were happy just to sit and have drink after dinner and watch what was going on.
We visited the spa twice, I had a massage and a facial, both really nice.
The staff everywhere were fabulous, all helpful,polite and just so smiley and lovely.
The hotel is literally 3 minutes in the car, you can see the runway as you leave the property so transfer is fantastic! In the whole week we noticed 3 planes so you really don't get any plane
interference.
The beach isn't huge, but having read some of the reviews I nearly changed the booking, its not as bad as some reviewers have said. You can walk up it or a few minutes, it's clean dark sand. The sea is pretty clear and slopes fairly quickly. If you want a long white sand beach then yes you will be disappointed. It was fine for us though.
Lastly a tip for travellers,we didn't want to use the Sandals transfer as it was leaving the property at 2 for a 5pm flight, given the 3 min drive and the fact that most passengers boarded at St Lucia we decided to get a taxi. It cost equivalent of 10 US.We left at 3.20 (we were travelling Upper class so swiftly checked in and taken by golf buggy to Upper class lounge. Having said that if you are travelling economy class the check in was still virtually empty so plenty of time to get through so really no need to take the Sandals transfer, but up to you.

Room Tip: Pink Gin block is right next to the beach and quiet pool. Much better location than the other 2 bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having been to La Toc in St. Lucia and Grande Riveria in Jamaica we had high expectations for LaSource. We were truly looking forward to our week long vacation. There were some high points, but our experience was not up to the Sandals standard.

Getting there: Beware of American Airlines changing your flight times and leaving too little time to connect in Miami. Our flights were switched twice and we were left with only a 45 min layover. Due to a thunderstorm we missed out connecting flight and had to spend the night in Miami. American does not fly to Grenada on Monday's so we ended up flying to Trinidad for a 5 hr layover before catching a Caribbean Air flight to Grenada. When we arrived in Grenada we were not happy to discover our luggage was not there. At the resort there was a lot of confusion about how our luggage would get to Sandals from the airport. Front desk manager Cherisse told us to relax that they had lost luggage that would show up everyday. Kind of scary that guests arriving daily do so without their luggage. Fortunately we were lucky and both our bags arrived the next evening. We met a honeymooning couple that did not get their luggage until 4 days after they arrived.

Resort Property: Beautiful property 5 minutes from the airport (yet flights are so infrequent the noise is not a problem). Everything at the resort is brand new. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The beach area is a bit small but it is very private and protected. They have a very nice gym and tennis courts that had no crowds. The resort was obviously not overly booked so there were plenty of chairs at the beach pool, and South Seas pool throughout the day. Our favorite pool was the small infinity pool right outside of our South Seas room. It was very quiet and typically we had it all to ourselves. The only real issue with the property is that flies where everywhere. They were at the bars, in the restaurants and around the pools. Flies even kept getting in our room day after day. It seems that housekeeping liked to keep the door ajar as they were servicing the rooms which did not help.

Dining: The food was excellent at Butch's, Kimono's and Soy. Butch's was our favorite. Le Jardinier was very good as well. We did not have a butler and had no problem making dinner reservations for Butch’s or Kimono’s. The repeat guest dinner menu only had a single option for each course with items less appealing than the standard restaurant menus. Therefore we opted to make a reservation at Butch's instead of attending the repeat guest dinner.

Excursions: The catamaran sunset cruise was a fun way to get off the resort property to see a little bit of the island. The bus ride to the beach to load the catamaran was short. The catamaran was well equipped with enough seating for all those on board. They had a full bar and they kept the drinks coming. Sailing at sunset with a cold drink in your hand is hard to beat.

Diving: Was not as advertised. Diving was one of the main reasons I chose LaSource. The reefs are beautiful in Grenada. They are much better than Jamaica plus they have the Marine Statue Park. However the lack of a true dedicated dive boat really limited the ability to enjoy all the surrounding reefs had to offer. The diving boat had a motor problem and was away for repair for over half the time we were there. Diving from the snorkel boat was not ideal. With just the snorkel boat, no two tank dives were offered due to the need to return for the daily 11 am snorkel trip. Having the deeper dive at 9 am and shallow dive at 2 pm is too spread out. The snorkel boat was also extremely slow because the motors were still in the break in period. The snorkel boat speed limited the distance the boat could go to dive/snorkel sites. Although the website shows 20+ dive sites at LaSource there were only 6 or so locations the boat ventured out to during our week stay. Be aware the Marine Park Statue dive cost $80 and requires a 6 person minimum. This was not noted anywhere on Sandals website. It is also only available on Tues and Thurs so if the weather is bad or there are not enough people you are out of luck.

Entertainment: We were disappointed that the Carnival event that was scheduled for Friday was cancelled due to inclement weather. However there was no rain and no gusty wind that evening. Just overcast with clouds. There was a note signed by the GM in all the doors notifying the guests that it had been cancelled. However it would have been nice if they had rescheduled instead of just canceling the event. The evening entertainment in the Living Room was mediocre evenon the best nights. The chef at Kimono's was by far the best evening entertainment out of our entire week's vacation.

Service: Although the food was excellent the service in the restaurants was very slow. Allow 1.5 hrs for lunch and at least 2 hrs for dinner. The bartenders we encountered were good. However we did notice that there was a lot of difference between the same drinks ordered from different bartenders. More consistency would help ensure that when the guest orders their favorite drink from the bar menu it will be just the way they expect it. The evening before our departure we received a letter telling us that airport departure was over 2 hrs before our departure time. Since the airport is only 5 minutes away we felt that this was way too early, especially since breakfast was not available anywhere until 7 am. My husband and I decided we would inquire about booking a taxi to go to the airport. We inquired with Albert at the front desk. He told us that the taxi would be $13 and that we would need to sign a waiver stating that Sandals was not responsible if we missed our flight. We told him we definitely wanted to him to book a taxi for us at 7:15 am. He got us the waiver that we filled out stating that we wanted a taxi for departure at 7:15 am. The next morning at 7:10 am we found out Albert had not arranged for a taxi for us. We told him what we wanted, he got us the paperwork,we filled everything out right in front of him, and then handed the waiver with taxi request to him. Yet the ball got dropped. The next morning the bellmen scrambled to get us a taxi and we departed the resort by 7:30 am. Thankfully we still had plenty of time to catch our flight.

Overall: LaSource has the potential to be the crown jewel of Sandals resorts but it is not there yet. The modern look of the new resort and the food quality was top notch. However the service, entertainment and diving were not up to par. With the prevalence of missing luggage and the very limited availability of flight options I would be reluctant to return to LaSource or recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Not all Pink Gin rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent service, friendly workers who always seemed to remember our names and help in any way to make our vacation the best. We were given great help choosing our restaurants, and welcomed wherever we went. The food was very good, the bar service very good, very helpful with suggestions. Our stay at La Source, Sandals far exceeded our expectations. The only suggestion we have is that you serve coconut water, here in Trinidad it's very popular.
David and Bonnie Bertrand

Room Tip: Garden butler cottages, are to us the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service was excellent, the food was amazing, the resort is clean and beautiful. It never felt too crowded - there was always somewhere to relax and be alone. The steakhouse, sushi, French and Italian restaurants definitely stood out - both in food and service. This a great resort for a couple who is celebrating an occasion. The entertainment was also good however, we didn't always know what was going on. We had to always ask - but if we didn't ask we would have missed it. I think they should advertise a little more what is going on each day - weather it be at the pools or in the evening. Overall, fantastic !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals LaSource Grenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals LaSource Grenada

Address: Pink Gin Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. George's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#4 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
#6 Family Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals LaSource Grenada 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandals LaSource Grenada is an exotic, unspoiled hideaway that offers a romantic, authentic Caribbean experience while providing the Luxury Included amenities and exceptional service that have come to be associated with the Sandals Resorts experience. Known as the "Spice Isle," Grenada is a mesmerizing island with some of the most incredible natural wonders in the Caribbean from stunning beaches and waterfalls to lush rainforests and pristine mountain lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Venere, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandals LaSource Grenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasource Grenada Hotel St. George`s
Lasource Grenada St Georges
La Source Grenada
Grenada La Source
Sandals LaSource Grenada Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals LaSource Grenada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.