We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I have set ourselves a target to visit as many of the Caribbean Islands as we can. However, when you find somewhere as special as the Calabash it is very difficult to move on anywhere else! I arrived with crutches (much to my dismay!) and was treated with such tenderness and care by each and every member of staff. Thank you all so much. This hotel suits people wanting a quiet, comfortable and totally indulgent holiday. I doubt it would suit people who like large hotel chains. We loved our Junior Suite and the gorgeous food and fresh tropical fruit. We enjoyed our chats with other guests and our balcony neighbours' Emma and Andy who were kind enough to do our gym workout for us every other morning!!
Congratulations to Leo and Clive for creating something so very special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    37
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
256
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this little oasis of tranquillity. From the warm welcome on arrival by Clive and Leo to the time of our departure, everything from the attentiveness of the staff to the excellent food and surroundings was just perfect, and exactly what myself and my partner were looking for. We can't rate this hotel highly enough and although everyone deserves a mention we would specifically like to thank Michael, Sherlyn, Ingrid, Gabriel, Brandon and Dexter - thank you for my lovely birthday cake :-), for making our time at the Calabash extra special. We also shared some lovely evenings with Anne & Ron - thank you for your company, hopefully we will visit!

I won't detail anything further as other reviews capture our experiences to a T, but I will mention the mossies where I was recommended something called ODOMOS - looks like a tube of toothpaste and can be bought from any chemist - absolutely does the trick!

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did and we hope to return one day :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Go Go Go!!! It was relaxing peaceful and we were always attended to warmly, efficiently and nothing was too much. Highly recommended and hiring a car even for a few days to see some of this lovely island is a great idea

Room Tip: Service was exceptional and the breakfast hearty and fulfilling. We had a smaller unit right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is an example to which all hotels should aspire.There's a magical grace to it, and this applies not only to the buildings and grounds, but to the owners, manager and every member of the staff.
Incidentally, I didn't see, hear or feel a single mosquito.

Otway, Tobago

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary - Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the Calabash Hotel, you couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. After a long day of travel, it was indeed surprising to be welcomed so warmly by the owners and staff. The owners cocktail reception was a treat, and were able to meet other guests as well.
Yes, there were mosquitoes, but spraying ourselves and the room with provided repellents was effective precaution.
The rooms were well appointed, pillows and linens comfy and cool, very clean, and housekeeping staff were tremendous. Front desk was always helpful and informative. Service was excellent, we especially enjoyed our terrace breakfast service, and the secluded plunge pool in the late afternoons to cool down. Never wanted to leave the beach restaurant/ or Rhodes restaurant. The food was sensational.
Involved in the hotel industry, we appreciate the approachable, competent staff, and the overall friendly atmosphere!! This was our first trip to the island, we will certainly be back, and certainly to the CALABASH !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after the kitchen had closed for the night, but the staff had prepared a selection of sandwiches and a fruit platter which we enjoyed in our suite with a bottle of wine, after a welcome glass of rum punch. This was the level of service we came to expect during our week at the Calabash. Without exception, the staff were helpful, professional and friendly.
We had come to relax, and found the Calabash an excellent place to do just that. Breakfast on the balcony, with a different exotic fruit juice every day set the tone. As others have written the food at both the beach bar and in Rhodes' restaurant was excellent. Thanks to all the staff for making it a wonderful week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for two weeks from 4-18 Jun and confirm all previous posts are true. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. You must try one of Lesie-Anne's or Herbie's 'passion mojito's from the beach bar.

Mark B the chef at the Beach restaurant delivered some fantastic meals and put yourself in his hands and you will not be disappointed. If you are a golfer the only course it not the best but Mark would appreciate some balls as he lost a few when I played with him (sorry Mark). Likewise Dexter at the Rhodes restaurant never failed to deliver and we will be ordering 'oildown' on our next visit.

If you have any spare luggage space please look at the hotels website and 'pack for purpose' as the local orprphanage could do with anything you could spare.

Yes there are mozzies but Lesly-Anne recommended citronella which we mixed with our after sun lotion and we hardly got bitten after that. The hotel also provide spray for the room which we used every night before supper and again in the morning before we had breakfast on t.he terrace.
DO NOT LET mozzies put you off or you will miss a gem of a hotel.

Ron and Aileen Coleman

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#1 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Family Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.