We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The third time is [still] a charm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The third time is [still] a charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Though repeat visits to outstanding places often fail to recapture their prior excellence, the Calabash is a noteworthy exception to this rule. We have been guests at the Calabash on three occasions over a twenty-year period, and its extremely high quality has never diminished. Indeed, it may have even improved. The very worst thing that we can say about the place is that the food is simply too, too good. We would visit again in a heartbeat. This hotel is the epitome of gracious English hospitality, all without being the least bit intrusive or stuffy. We have never felt as well cared for as we have felt at the Calabash.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    37
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
256
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Calabash provides an ideal restful location in a lovely setting. The staff are most charming and welcoming with accomodation and food of the highest standards, be it breakfast served on your veranda or dinner in the restuarant . The staff and managment do everything to make your stay enjoyable and care free as possible.

Room Tip: Have an upstairs room on the east side then you get the sun in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I need to start by telling you why you must not choose the Calabash ,if you are.....
a party animal
a noisy person
if you don't like to get dressed up for dinner
if you have no manners
If however you are like all the wonderful people we met there in April,you will stay at the Calabash for the following reasons:
The beautiful serene gardens (which must take a lot of work to maintain)
The wonderful views from your Villa
The quiet relaxed beach(it is not private as there is not such a thing is Grenada but i might as well have been)
The excellent food,we were All Inclusive and all meals were good
The relaxed but excellent service from all the staff without exception.
So now to the detail:
THE ROOMS
I think any room on this property would be of a high standard,we stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious and very clean with nice bright decor and a high ceiling,the bathroom was huge with a whirlpool bath,walk in shower and his and hers sinks.We were on a top suite so we had a balcony,this is where we were served breakfast by our lovely maids and what a treat that is ,with fresh fruit,eggs and bacon and even pancakes if you wish.
Our suite was like a "home from home" everything you could need and because of the peace and quiet a great nights sleep every night!
THE BEACH
Whilst not the biggest beach around is it certainly one of the most relaxed ,sand is soft and sea is warm,you are never too far from the beach bar and there are plenty of shady spots for the non sun worshipers like me!! (you will however go brown if you want to trust me)
BASH RESTAURANT (for lunch)
Thanks to Mark B for the great food,everything is fresh and cooked to order ,the selection is just right and has a sophisticated feel to it (yes even the burger which is cooked just right).
There is a good selection of Tapas bites (a lighter option) or if you are feeling brave go for the Roti it is a traditional pancake with curry filling and it is huge,as Mark said to us it is truly Man vs Food!!(no i couldn't finish it) but one of the other guest had a really good go,she knows who she is !!).
RHODES RESTUARANT (for dinner)
Again great food and a good selection ,specials every night which is always a good choice and superb seafood.Be aware the portion sizes are not huge but just right especially if you are having a starter and dessert.Sophisticated surroundings and entertainment (very low key)
Imagine going out for a posh evening at home every night and i think you get the idea.
AND NOW AND MOST IMPORTANTLY THE STAFF:
I have been lucky enough to see a lot of the world over many years and it is without doubt the staff that make or break a holiday,The Calabash seem to have just the right balance of staff who are both attentive and relaxed,professional yet always personable,i would love to mention them all!!!
Thanks to George at the Main Bar for always having my drink ready..what a star.
Thanks to Michael and Sherylyn for keeping things running smoothly and their prompt service.
Thanks to Brandon (keep doing a good job!!)
Thanks to Rhondi for always smiling and great personal service
Thanks to Ingrid for her lovely charm and good dance moves
Thanks to all the guys at the Beach Bar for great drinks with good service
Thanks to Mark B for the great food and always taking time out to chat.
Also a special mention for Clive the General Manager for taking time to show me around the hotel and looking after us.
Thanks to everyone at this hotel for making our stay truly relaxing and thanks to Leo and family for their hard work and high standards,when money is tight it is nice to know that it is not wasted if you stay at this lovely property.
I would love this hotel to stay my little secret,but i know that would be selfish,so if you are a little older in years and are looking for a relaxing holiday at a well run hotel then book it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good,but i prefer a top floor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our seventh visit and it really is 'home from home'. Leo, Clive and all the staff are friendly and welcoming. The Rhodes restaurant food and service is excellent. Relax on the beach with a Calabash Corker rum punch watching the yachts in the bay or it's only a few minutes drive into town for a stroll around the market and shops. If you should want a change of dining venue there are several restaurants within a few minutes drive. After a hard days sunbathing relax on the balcony with a sundowner. Breakfast is totally relaxed, served on your balacony and another hard days sunbathing to look forward to. See you next time folks, can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East get a view of the sunset whilst rooms on the West get the cooling breeze, or go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Moved to Calabash from another location - everything was upgraded from rooms to service to ambience. As others have noted service is exceptional from all staff. Both restaurants are excellent and go out of their way to please diners - they cook for you. Breakfast is a civilized treat. Everyone from the desk to the staff at the spa and on site boutique are friendly and go out of their way to satisfy. And say hello to George at the bar- he'll take good care if you as well. A civilized home base for exploring Grenada by land and sea.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks at The Calabash in April 2013.

The hotel complex is stunningly beautiful and very peaceful. The staff provide an excellent service which is friendly and relaxed. The food and drinks are of top quality. We couldn't have asked for much more.

We had a very warm welcome on arriving at the hotel. My first glimpse of the gardens took my breath away. We were then taken straight to our suite (no checking in hassle) and cocktails were sent up so we could start relaxing without delay! This set the tone for the holiday: everything was well thought out and quietly efficient.

We stayed in a Westside suite on the first floor (number 5) which is close to the sea and, like all the suites, overlooks the beautiful gardens. It was very clean, well maintained, very light and pleasant.

Breakfasts were served on our balcony which was brilliant as there was no need to rush to get ready to go somewhere for your breakfast; you take it leisurely, in your dressing gown if you like, while gazing out at the gardens and the sea and listening to the birds calling.

The beach feels very safe. There are vendors but they don't hassle you; if you just say 'no thanks' and you'll be left alone. My husband went out diving several times and I was quite happy alone on the beach while he was away.

Lunches are taken at the Bash restaurant on the beach. It's informal and the food is a real treat. There is a good regular selection and also specials. The fish was always very fresh and delicious and the burgers were excellent. As if that wasn't enough Mark B and his staff will endeavour to cook something you like even if it isn't on the menu. Mark B is a very friendly guy who talks to all the diners and his enthusiasm is genuine and really shows in the food.

Dinners are a more formal affair in the Rhodes restaurant. We enjoyed the food there, especially different fish which we'd never had before. The only very minor criticism we had was that occasionally the fish was a little overcooked for our tastes. I had beef and pork dishes too which were cooked perfectly. But overall the food was very good indeed. It was always well presented and there was plenty of it.

We went all inclusive which was the right choice for us, but some of the other guests recommended going out to eat at other places on some evenings just for a change in menu and atmosphere. Also, the entertainment at the Rhodes restaurant is mostly quite sedate so probably wouldn't suit party animals who want to dance and drink the night away. We were quite happy there every night though.

All the waiting staff at Calabash are simply awesome. They go out of their way to ensure you are happy and they are fabulous people too. We got to know some of the staff during our stay and they would chat and joke with us. By the time we left we felt sad to be leaving them as they felt more like friends. Our maid was lovely too.

Our holiday at Calabash was the most wonderfully relaxing break I've ever had. I hope to return someday and do it all again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned for 11 nights in March after quite a long interval since last visit. Very much the same good experience as before, but facilities such as the pool updated nicely. Gardens lovely and all very restful with the beach normally uncrowded. Manager and owner much in evidence as before.

This is a small hotel with very high standards of service; the restaurant staff in particular are brilliant, so efficient and cheery even when under pressure. Food was very good, though choice of puddings rather limited. Wine list reasonable, but house wine the best value choice.

We had a superior room on a half-board basis. Rooms at the end of the row towards the beach are more private. All kept spotless and breakfast on the patio is nice (though we are not keen on being asked to choose dishes 24 hours ahead!).

A lot of repeat guests and deservedly so. Much attention to detail; for example in providing another room for late check-out. Spa good and lovely position.

A couple of niggles. Pool could have been cleaned of leaves more often. And they do need to stop taxis bringing parties from berthed cruise ships through the hotel and using the sun beds - spending no money at the hotel.

Grenada is a lovely island and well worth driving/sailing around for a couple of days as - compared with Barbados or Antigua - it is so much less commercial and money-grabbing and has much more interesting scenery around the coast and in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#1 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Family Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.