We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in St. George's
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our seventh visit and it really is 'home from home'. Leo, Clive and all the staff are friendly and welcoming. The Rhodes restaurant food and service is excellent. Relax on the beach with a Calabash Corker rum punch watching the yachts in the bay or it's only a few minutes drive into town for a stroll around the market and shops. If you should want a change of dining venue there are several restaurants within a few minutes drive. After a hard days sunbathing relax on the balcony with a sundowner. Breakfast is totally relaxed, served on your balacony and another hard days sunbathing to look forward to. See you next time folks, can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East get a view of the sunset whilst rooms on the West get the cooling breeze, or go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    37
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
254
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Moved to Calabash from another location - everything was upgraded from rooms to service to ambience. As others have noted service is exceptional from all staff. Both restaurants are excellent and go out of their way to please diners - they cook for you. Breakfast is a civilized treat. Everyone from the desk to the staff at the spa and on site boutique are friendly and go out of their way to satisfy. And say hello to George at the bar- he'll take good care if you as well. A civilized home base for exploring Grenada by land and sea.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks at The Calabash in April 2013.

The hotel complex is stunningly beautiful and very peaceful. The staff provide an excellent service which is friendly and relaxed. The food and drinks are of top quality. We couldn't have asked for much more.

We had a very warm welcome on arriving at the hotel. My first glimpse of the gardens took my breath away. We were then taken straight to our suite (no checking in hassle) and cocktails were sent up so we could start relaxing without delay! This set the tone for the holiday: everything was well thought out and quietly efficient.

We stayed in a Westside suite on the first floor (number 5) which is close to the sea and, like all the suites, overlooks the beautiful gardens. It was very clean, well maintained, very light and pleasant.

Breakfasts were served on our balcony which was brilliant as there was no need to rush to get ready to go somewhere for your breakfast; you take it leisurely, in your dressing gown if you like, while gazing out at the gardens and the sea and listening to the birds calling.

The beach feels very safe. There are vendors but they don't hassle you; if you just say 'no thanks' and you'll be left alone. My husband went out diving several times and I was quite happy alone on the beach while he was away.

Lunches are taken at the Bash restaurant on the beach. It's informal and the food is a real treat. There is a good regular selection and also specials. The fish was always very fresh and delicious and the burgers were excellent. As if that wasn't enough Mark B and his staff will endeavour to cook something you like even if it isn't on the menu. Mark B is a very friendly guy who talks to all the diners and his enthusiasm is genuine and really shows in the food.

Dinners are a more formal affair in the Rhodes restaurant. We enjoyed the food there, especially different fish which we'd never had before. The only very minor criticism we had was that occasionally the fish was a little overcooked for our tastes. I had beef and pork dishes too which were cooked perfectly. But overall the food was very good indeed. It was always well presented and there was plenty of it.

We went all inclusive which was the right choice for us, but some of the other guests recommended going out to eat at other places on some evenings just for a change in menu and atmosphere. Also, the entertainment at the Rhodes restaurant is mostly quite sedate so probably wouldn't suit party animals who want to dance and drink the night away. We were quite happy there every night though.

All the waiting staff at Calabash are simply awesome. They go out of their way to ensure you are happy and they are fabulous people too. We got to know some of the staff during our stay and they would chat and joke with us. By the time we left we felt sad to be leaving them as they felt more like friends. Our maid was lovely too.

Our holiday at Calabash was the most wonderfully relaxing break I've ever had. I hope to return someday and do it all again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned for 11 nights in March after quite a long interval since last visit. Very much the same good experience as before, but facilities such as the pool updated nicely. Gardens lovely and all very restful with the beach normally uncrowded. Manager and owner much in evidence as before.

This is a small hotel with very high standards of service; the restaurant staff in particular are brilliant, so efficient and cheery even when under pressure. Food was very good, though choice of puddings rather limited. Wine list reasonable, but house wine the best value choice.

We had a superior room on a half-board basis. Rooms at the end of the row towards the beach are more private. All kept spotless and breakfast on the patio is nice (though we are not keen on being asked to choose dishes 24 hours ahead!).

A lot of repeat guests and deservedly so. Much attention to detail; for example in providing another room for late check-out. Spa good and lovely position.

A couple of niggles. Pool could have been cleaned of leaves more often. And they do need to stop taxis bringing parties from berthed cruise ships through the hotel and using the sun beds - spending no money at the hotel.

Grenada is a lovely island and well worth driving/sailing around for a couple of days as - compared with Barbados or Antigua - it is so much less commercial and money-grabbing and has much more interesting scenery around the coast and in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I first visited Calabash in 2000 and except for one year when the hotel was closed following hurricane Ivan, we have been regular guests just about every year since. Having returned yesterday after my latest week's stay, on this particular occasion with my daughter, I thought I had delayed a TripAdvisor review for far too long after so many enjoyable holidays at this delightful hotel.
It just seems to get better every visit with always some enhancements or improvements to make your stay that bit more enjoyable than the last time. Whether to the structure of the hotel, its rooms, grounds, facilities in general, or in the case of this year adding a specialist chef to transform lunchtime dining at the beach bar, a better choice in Grenada for an idyllic holiday would be hard to find.
If you are looking for a small hotel very professionally run but with probably the friendliest staff you're likely to find anywhere in the Caribbean, let alone Grenada, then look no further. Add a beautiful beach front setting, first class food from both the Gary Rhodes restaurant and the newly launched Mark Banthorpe Bash restaurant on the beach and perhaps like me you may find it difficult to find reasons to venture too far from the hotel.
If you want a totally relaxing break, no problem, but for the more energetic the on-site water sports and PADI dive school, tennis courts, snooker room and main swimming pool provide a good few alternatives, not forgetting the shuffleboard.
Whatever your requirements there is a good choice of beautifully furnished room types in one and two storey buildings built in a crescent around the landscaped gardens and beach. Some have their own private plunge pools, with my own favourite being the Thorneycroft Suite with it's full sized pool, open air lounge and dining area, four poster bed and a bathroom most couples would find hard to resist!
If the above comments sound a bit over the top I make no apologies as the proof of the pudding is in the eating. Anyone trying Calabash for the first time won't be disappointed I'm sure and any hotel that keeps my wife and me going back annually after some thirteen years must have something special to offer.
I'm moving on now to write separate reviews on the two restaurants referred to above. Never done any comments on restaurants before, but these two deserve it.

Room Tip: For something that bit special go for Room 7 the Thorneycroft Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After a week on Palm Island and five nights on Young Island, Grenada was a step up in activity. We pre-arranged to rent a car since our flight arrived at 6.30am. We thought that would be a good day to spend some time sight seeing. Good plan. We went to Ft. Frederick, St. Georges, and Laura's Spice Garden. It was a good way to spend the day.
At Calabash we got a garden view room instead of the beach view for a change in scenery. I honestly didn't see a big difference. The room was large and the bath was also large. The a/c was great. Breakfast served in our room was a nice touch and great to be able to just lounge in the room. The Calabash rooms were recently renovated and the furnishings were nice. The room was very clean and convenient to the resort amenities. We had the pool to ourselves nearly everyday. The small bathroom windows are only screened for some reason and your bathroom is very warm. Note to guests-conversations held in the bathrooms can be heard outside.
The food at the beach restaurant, Bash's, was great. A view, drinks, and food. Mark Bash is a treat and loves his food. The main restaurant for evening was very quiet, warm, and too pretentious appearing for us. We went out to dinner every night for some casual times. Another good choice.
The front desk is very friendly and helpful. Use them when you need to do anything.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms. Upper rooms seem to have more private spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

PERFECT from start to finish..... The WELCOME COCKTAIL alone sold me and my husband for next year... Need I mention the warm welcoming greetings from the receptionists, restaurant staff and to my surprise the owners of the hotel, which was very new to us.
We arrived just after 3pm local time, were brought straight down to our gorgeous suite with a bathroom area which can comfortably hold a bed. LOVED THAT. The afternoon tea served at the main bar was delicious!!! What can possibly beat tea, cakes, scones, cookies and sandwiches? The grounds are magnificent. The beach was superb and the sun shone on us our entire trip. BRILLIANT!! At 6pm canapes were brought to our room, I guess to get our taste buds ready for what was to come at dinner which was just simply amazing.
Breakfast served on our patio each morning, made by our housekeeper.... she might as well be a chef!! The entire trip was just so relaxing. We could actually breathe and sleep easy. Definitely coming back to Calabash Hotel. Food, service, staff 100%.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#3 Family Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.