We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in St. George's
Kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A holiday in an hotel is often only as good as the staff and the people you meet. Here at the Calabash the staff are fantastic, the management very welcoming and one meets the nicest people.
This was our fourth visit and nothing disappointed. The Westside suites (soon to be renamed) have been refurbished, the dressing room and bathroom have been opened up, the bath removed and a large wet area with rain-head and another shower fitted. I loved it but as my partner loves a bath he was not so sure however six other guests offered to let him use their baths (all women!) He declined (as they used to say in The News of the World!!) Patio doors have also been installed between the bedroom and balcony, there is an insect screen so the door could be left open overnight although it was too hot whilst we were there, thank goodness for air conditioning.
Also new is the lunchtime Bash restaurant run by Mark. Although we only ate there once with three others it was very good. The comments from other guests were also very favorable.
The Rhodes restaurant was as good as ever, my partner had seven fillet steaks on seven nights out of the fourteen times we dined there, I guess you could say he recommended it! Well done to Dexter and his team. Also well done to Michael and his team for the excellent service.
Breakfast on one's own balcony is such a great idea, sitting in the warmth overlooking the sea and the beautiful garden and being served an individual and perfectly cooked breakfast by the room maid is my idea of heaven. Thank you Monica.
The staff in the two bars give great service and are fun to be around. Well done all of you.
Sally and Sue in the spa continue to work their magic on tired bodies and muscles, every guest is offered a complimentary back and shoulders massage - so lovely, so relaxing.
Once again we had a very enjoyable and trouble free holiday at the Calabash. I am sure we will return. Maybe see you there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    37
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
259
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely lunch at this beauty spot. Mark B the new Chef has some great ideas and we found the whole experience just great. We made use of the excellent Taps menu - salt fish fritters and the garlic prawns being our favourites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned after two weeks at the Calabash, "forced" upon us after the closure of La Source.As we pulled up at reception in the stretch limo, sent to pick us up from the airport, it was obvious from the reception that we were not going to take much forcing to stay at this hotel, it was simply wonderful. The rooms, the staff, the situation, the food, oh what food!!! Everything was wonderful.
The only downside is that you have to pay for the Spa treatments and the diving.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent the last week of October in the Calabash. It was a lovely quiet hotel with attentive staff and a great Rhodes restaurant. It has its own small beach which is beautiful in itself with very comfortable loungers available.
We had chosen the B&B option but ate at the Rhodes restaurant 4 times and each time the food was excellent and was accompanied by good wines. Breakfast was served on your balcony in the morning and was fresh and filling. We only ate once at the beach bar, (on our last day) and Mark ensured the food was tasty.
We had chosen a suite with a plunge pool which was clean, tidy and spacious, could have done with a TV in the bedroom as well as one in the lounge as we like to watch telly in bed when on holiday.
The Gym was small but well equipped but I struggled to exercise for more than 30 minutes in the heat, even with the air conditioning on.
We found the Calabash to be just what we wanted, it was smaller with only 30 rooms. This means that the staff can be attentive while not overpowering. If you want to go somewhere to relax and forget about the real world in a smaller, unique resort then the Calabash in Grenada is a great place to go.

Room Tip: We chose a room with its own plunge pool. This was lovely but I would probably not go to that expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed at Calabash in Grenada on my honeymoon. I was completely blown away with the service, the food and especially our room. My husband and I stayed in the Thorney Croft suite which is perfect for couples.
Sally the spa manager is amazing - she really helped me out with a couple of back problems.
The highlight had to be breakfast which was served by our maid every morning on our patio.
We had such an amazing time, I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go for the Thorney Croft suite or Pool suite for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Grenada staying at the Calabash. All went well with our transfers and we were greeted upon arrival at the hotel and shown to our room close to the beach. It looked lovely, and we were soon at the beach bar getting into the holiday spirit.
We had looked at the various lodging options in advance, and decided that B&B would give us the most flexibility. We worked out that we would have to have a full 3 course meal every night, to make the full board option cost in, and that seemed unlikely.
Unfortunately when we returned to our room to get ready for dinner, we found that the shower had no pressure or hot water. The hotel staff were very apologetic and set about trying to fix the problem. Regardless, we had booked to eat at the Rhodes restaurant, so left them to it whilst we had dinner. On this first evening we both had fish, snapper and king fish, expecting it to be excellent as we were in the Caribbean. Sadly not. Both were dry and overcooked, and we were very pleased that we had not gone for full board. It was our first night, and we were tired, so were not inclined to send it back. As we were on the B&B option, we came to sign the bill at the end of the meal, to find that we had been overcharged $20 for the bottle of wine. It wasnt a great start to the holiday !
The following day the shower was fixed mid afternoon, and management apologised with a bottle of wine. Things improved from that point.
We really enjoyed the beach bar at the hotel, and special thanks to Rhondi who looked after us so well, and Mark the chef who offered to cook us whatever we wanted. The hotel was quite busy, so there was a constant flow of other travellers. It was very friendly, and the beach and view is stunning.
The rooms have everything you would need, are cleaned and in good order. The grounds appeared well maintained.
We did eat at the Rhodes restuarant subsequently, and found the food more enjoyable. I think the secret is to go for the meat dishes rather than the fish. I think the Gary Rhodes label is a bit of a red herring (excuse the pun), and raises expectations. We've eaten at many of the best London restaurants, and the cuisine in Grenada is understandably different. One evening we ate with another very nice couple we met, who had been booked all inclusive at LaSource, but moved to Calabash. Most people we spoke to said they enjoyed the food at Calabash.
Breakfast on your balcony was novel, and again we were looked after very well.
Worth mentioning that the Calabash Hotel supports a local childrens home called BelAir. There is a charity called 'pack for a purpose', which suggests that visitors support the local community by bringing with them a small amount of extra luggage to help with local shortages. I had read about it in one of the guide books, and it is mentioned on the hotel website. I thought it was a nice idea, and popped to Tesco before the trip to buy some chalk, paint, crayons etc. Nothing spectacular, but of course these items are not readily available on the island, or are very expensive. Unemployment is running around 45% in Grenada at present, and on our subsequent tour of the island, it was clear to see the poverty. Our school supplies seemed to be well received, so I would recommend taking something if you have any spare luggage space and feel so inclined.
So overall we had a very enjoyable week. The friendliness of the staff was very noticable to us, and thats what we thought was the highlight of the hotel. Other reviews have not necessarily agreed, but we can only talk about our experience. Several of the people we spoke to had been to Grenada several times, and stayed at Calabash previously. We thought we got good value for the price we paid, and that seems a good measure.
We would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendocino, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We were forced to stay here for 1 night after Lasource was closed and we needed temporary lodging to regroup. What a downgrade in service compared to lasource. I guess money can't buy quality. The front desk person was very nice and so was the bellman, that is literally where it ended. We paid $820.00 US for the night and so wished we never did. The restaurant is awful. I'm assuming Chef Rhodes does not frequent his namesake restaurant because he would be ashamed to have his name on it. The food was flavorless and cold. The service was so awful my husband had to go to front desk to get service. We then realized why service was so slow, the manager lady was entertaining a large group of her friends and the staff was not prepared I guess. She seemed to be really aloof and not really care. This place seemed very snobby and I can't seem to figure out why. It seemed very outdated, awful food, and terrible service. Luckily we were able to find a villa rental the next day and get out of there!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#1 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Family Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.