We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best word to describe it is "Charming"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in St. George's
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best word to describe it is "Charming"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A boutique hotel which is as good as it gets.
From stepping out of our Taxi to be greeted by name, to the generousity of attitude which unquestioningly allowed us to retain our room long after check-out, this holiday was the most restful and splendid experience we have ever enjoyed from a long and varied history.
The staff, without exception, were delightful.
Respectful whilst entertaining, never pushy, nothing too much trouble.
The whole set-up was spot-on.
Little thngs count ... A walk-in shower with two great proper big taps, one hot (instantly) and one cold so that you can get the temperature and water force exactly right without having to master those ghastly mixer-control things.
Your own maid/cook to present your breakfast (Whatever you want) on your balcony (Whenever you want)
The "Rhodes" restaurant was excellent, and the chef's own selection was often better.
I could go on for ever, but I think we'll simply go back.
We have visited the Carribean a number of times ... I wish we had found this earler.
Grenada and the people there are everything that Antigua should be but is not.
A charming destination.

Room Tip: Just book! : They are all excellent. We prefer the upper suites as the balcony view is slightly bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    40
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
344
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at this lovely Caribbean Gem. We know the islands very well and very often food and service is poor even in the most expensive hotels and restaurants. Dinner each evening in Rhodes was outstanding. The staff are exceptional, THE BEST we have ever had on any Caribbean holiday. The manager Clive is a delight and always around. Total relaxation, very private and not at all stuffy. Had only booked one week and after visiting La Source and Spice Island Inn decided to stay at Calabash for another week.

Room Tip: We chose to be close to the beach rather than have a better view of the spectacular gardens. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We spent a week ( 18th March) at the Calabash....very enjoyable. Rooms are a good standard, light, clean and quiet. Breakfast on your balcony is great ( although you do have to order to night before).
Hotel facilities a bit tired ( Pool & Gym)...but the veiws and spacious layout of the resort more than makes up for it ...as does the Rhodes Resturant ( probably the best on the Island). Overall very good....credit to all the staff who are very helpful and friendly.
PL

Room Tip: Whirl pool suite with balcony. Great location in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Callabash from 5 March 2012. On arrival we were slightly disappointed at the rather dated appearance of the complex and our room. However, it grew on us as the week went by although we did see how it could be done at La Luna. We were 20 - 30 years younger than most of the guests who were generally in their 70s and the hotel seemed to cater mainly for that age bracket. The staff are the hotel's greatest asset and the food was excellent although the beach bar service could be quite slow. The gardens were fantastic to look out on from our balcony but the calm rather murky waters of Prickly Bay couldn't really compare with the more lively and clearer waters elsewhere on St Georges side of the island. It was much more atmospheric hearing the waves crashing on the beach from La Luna for example. The spa could be fantastic but seemed to cater more for outsiders. It was a shame Yoga/Pilates classes were not offered unless done privately but then perhaps with the hotel only half full there wasn't the demand. It was a shame the owner was not in residence as the manager was mainly invisible apart from on arrival and departure and the weekly drinks party.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Huge room, huge bathroom, clean, regularly serviced, made to order breakfast on the balcony great view of the bay.

The beach is public but feels private. Decent gym for the size and location (helps keep the waistline controlled amidst temptation!). Good free basic watersports

Service overall is unobtrusive, friendly, reliable, at a very high standard.

Food - brilliant, with fantastic use of local produce. The beach bar matches the main restaurant.

A special mention for George in the bar (a very bad man, in a good way). And the lady in the spa who did terrifying but fantastically effective things to my neck and back.

Understated proper luxury is what this place is about.

If you're looking for hip and trendy, this is isn't it, and hurrah for that (too often chic or boutique are euphemisms for cramped, dark and overpriced - the Calabash is laid back, airy, and you are simply very very well looked after).

A week wasn't long enough for us.

We'll be back. Have that rum and coke waiting George.

Room Tip: Don't see how you could get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We're totally hooked on the Calabash, and have been staying there every year for over ten years. We've just returned from another perfect holiday. From the moment we arrive we relax into the quiet luxury and exceptional friendliness of the team.

The Rhodes restaurant is superb and in our view the best on the island by far. The spacious rooms with super views of the gardens and the bay are immaculately maintained, and the large garden and beach provide the space and privacy we like whilst endlessly chilling out.

"We will be back"

Room Tip: We like the pool suites which provide a totally private space with small pool, ideal for a refreshin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Another visit to The Calabash, this time my wife and I and a friend rented The Pool House, so we were able to look after ourselves, denying ourselves the cooked breakfast on our balcony, trying to limit our intake of food and alcohol, visiting the Rhodes Restaurant not every night, in an attempt to keep our figures. Almost total failure! Our bedrooms and bathrooms were simple and stylish, the view and Pool delightful. But perhaps the owners of the villa(not The Calabash) should consider renewing the kitchen equipment, installing some fans in the sitting areas and installing some comfortable chairs. I imagine when the owners are in residence the Pool House is a "party house" to their main villa. Everything that could be done for us by the Staff of the hotel, who clean the villa, maintain the Pool, were as good as though we had stayed in the hotel. Gary Rhodes was visiting during our 3 weeks and we look forward to enjoying his new menu next year.

Room Tip: My ratings refer to The Pool House not the Hotel, however we have stayed on the West side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382 | L'Ance Aux Epines Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. George's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. George's
#1 Spa Hotel in St. George's
#3 Family Hotel in St. George's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. George's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.